Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Senior Camogie Final – Tipperary 2-14 Clare 3-7

May 8, 2010 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Grogan stars as Tipp hold nerve to claim glory

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Monday May 10 2010

TIPPERARY claimed their first title since 2004 as 2-7 from Claire Grogan helped them past Clare at Toomevara on Saturday night. Despite being the better side for the majority of the game, Tipp almost contrived to let this game slip through their fingers and allow Clare a first victory since 1946. As the game moved into injury-time, Tipp led by 2-12 to 1-7, but goals from Fiona Lafferty and Shonagh Enright cut the lead to just two points before Tipp regained their composure.

Frees from Clare’s Deirdre Murphy bookended a first half where Tipp scored 1-7, Grogan with the goal in the 17th minute after good work by Cora Hennessy. When Murphy had a penalty saved early in the second period, it looked as if Tipp would win easily but, to their credit, Clare had the deficit down to four points by the 47th minute trailing 1-10 to 1-6, Ruth Kaiser with the goal. Grogan’s second goal seemed to signal the end of Clare’s hopes, but their late show almost reaped dividends.

Scorers — Tipperary: C Grogan 2-7 (0-4f, 0-1 ’45), C Hennessy 0-3, M Lutrell 0-2, J Horan, C Devane 0-1 each. Clare: D Murphy 0-5 (0-3f), F Lafferty, S Enright 1-1 each, R Kaiser 1-0.

TIPPERARY — R Kennelly; G Stapleton, S Ryan, J Kirwan; M Ryan, S Larkin, J McGrath; J Horan, M Shortt; C Hennessy, M Lutrell, N Flannagan; C Devane, C Grogan, N Walsh. Subs: M Kirwan for M Ryan, M Tynan for McGrath (both 60).

CLARE — S Vaughan; A Hannon, S Lafferty, C Kaiser; E Considine, K Lynch, A O’Shea; F Lafferty, K McLean; R McMahon, S McMahon, D Murphy; M Scanlon, N Murphy, D Sheedy. Subs: R Kaiser for S Lafferty (15), N Carroll for McLean (22), S Enright for Scanlon (h-t), AM McMahon for Sheedy (39), S Sherlock for Murphy (54).

Ref — P Whelan (Waterford)


May 8, 2010
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units