Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Junior Football Championship Semi Final – Waterford 1-13 Tipperary 0-15

June 1, 2013 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Waterford defeated Tipperary by 1-13 to 0-15 in the Semi Final of the Munster Junior Football Championship on Saturday at Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney.

Click to view photos from this game on Munster GAA Facebook

Supersub O’Shea seals the deal

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Waterford 1-13, Tipperary 0-15

Substitute Conor O’Shea was the Waterford hero in Killarney, but Tipperary will be kicking themselves for throwing this game away, having led by a point going into the last minute of normal time after playing with an extra man for the closing five minutes. Waterford made an explosive start, with David Power getting a goal within 12 seconds of the throw-in. The sides were level on a 1-4 to 0-7 scoreline at half-time and, during a well contested second half, there was never more than a point between the sides. With Tipperary leading 0-11 to 1-7, Waterford’s cause took a blow when wing-back Ciaran Buckley received a second yellow in the 55th minute.

However, this seemed to only revitalise the Deise and after John Wall levelled from a free, it looked as if their ‘keeper Thomas Wall had stolen the win in injury-time when he converted a ’45’. But in one final attack, Tipperary won a free on the 65-metre line and Benny Hickey kicked a sensational equaliser to force extra-time. The sides were level on three occasions in extra-time, but with two minutes remaining, O’Shea set up the final showdown with Cork or Clare.

Scorers – Waterford: J Wall 0-6 (4fs), D Power 1-0, J O’Mahony 0-2, T Wall (’45’), S Prendergast, B McGarr, B Phelan, C O’Shea 0-1 each.

Tipperary: B Hickey 0-8 (7fs), P Dalton 0-2, B Hewitt, TJ Ryan, L Coskeran, G Ryan, B Quinn 0-1 each .

Tipperary – J English; C Higgins, A Kelly, K Butler; P Dalton, C Morrissey, T Ryan; C McGrath, A Rockett; A Walsh, T Hanley, B Hickey; L Coskeran, G Ryan, B Quinn. Subs: B Hewitt for B Quinn (h-t), T J Ryan for A Rockett (43), D Heffernan for A Walsh (53), F Hayes for L Coskeran (58), L Coskeran for F Hayes (e-t) , A Walsh for T J Ryan (e-t), D O’Brien for B Hewitt (e-t)

Waterford – T Wall; C Bourke, M Prendergast, S Lannon; C Buckley, P Crowley, J O Mahony; S Prendergast, C Guiry; D Grey, B McGarr, B Phelan; J Wall, B Wall, D Power. Subs: M Curry for C Guiry (40), D Tuohy for D Power ( 52), C O’Shea for B Phelan ( 57), B Phelan for J O’Mahony ( 57), K Boland for C Buckley ( e-t), D Mulhearne for T Wall ( e-t).

Ref – E Walsh (Kerry)

Team News

The Tipperary junior football team to play Waterford in the Munster semi-final in Killarney on Saturday evening at 5pm shows 1 change from the team which defeated Kerry last Sunday. Kevin Butler comes into the team in place of Ger Mulhaire. The team is –

1. Jack English (Ballyporeen)

2. Kevin Butler (Drom and Inch)

3. Aaron Kelly (Moyle Rovers)

4. Christopher Higgins (Galtee Rovers)

5. Paddy Dalton (Arravale Rovers)

6. Colin Morrissey (Galtee Rovers)

7. Tommy Ryan (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

8. Ciarán McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)

9. Eoin Ryan (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

10. Adrian Walsh (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

11. Thomas Hanley (Aherlow)

12. Benny Hickey (Cahir) CAPTAIN

13. Laurence Coskeran (Aherlow)

14. Gavin Ryan (Rockwell Rovers)

15. Brian Quinn (Burgess)


Waterford Junior Football Team to play Tipperary announced –

Tom Wall Nire (Captain)

Ciaran Bourke Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

Mark Prendergast Kilrossanty

Shane Lannon Stradbally

Ciaran Buckley Bonmahon

Peter Crowley St. Saviours

James O’Mahony Ballinacourty

Stephen Prendergast Kilrossanty

Craig Guiry Nire

David Grey Stradbally

Brendan McGarr Kilrossanty

Brian Phelan Ballinameela

John Wall Colligan

Brian Wall Nire

David Power Kilrossanty



June 1, 2013
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

GAA Units