Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Junior Football Championship Quarter Final – Kerry 1-13 Tipperary 0-9

May 16, 2010 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Kerry defeated Tipperary by 1-13 to 0-9 in the Munster Junior Football Championship Quarter Final on Sunday at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Kingdom rally to set up semi-final showdown with Cork

Kerry 1-13 Tipperary 0-9

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Monday, May 17, 2010

KERRY produced a strong second-half performance against Tipperary at Semple Stadium yesterday to book their place in the Munster JFC semi-finals. Inspired by centre forward Michael O’Donoghue and former senior star Aodán MacGearailt, the Kingdom set up a last-four showdown with champions Cork on June 6. Tipperary adopted a different approach to this year’s junior championship with the squad viewed as a development panel for the senior set-up, while all players on the squad were 25 years of age or younger.

But the Premier County must wait at least another year to end a winless streak in this competition which stretches back to 2003. Kerry, who were last crowned provincial champions in 2008, led by 1-5 to 0-6 at half-time before a run of five unanswered points after the break effectively sealed victory. Kerry struck early for their goal, with just eight minutes on the watch, as Michael Murphy fed the marauding O’Donoghue for a neat finish at the Killinan End. Tipp full forward Stephen Hahessy did well for the hosts in the first half, kicking three points from play, and the Carrick Swan forward saw an angled drive well saved by Kerry goalkeeper Seán Óg O Ciardubháin.

Alan O’Sullivan, a member of Kerry’s senior panel earlier this year, chipped in with a brace of scores from play in the opening half before the visitors turned up the heat during the second period. Tipp were outscored 0-8 to 0-3 after half-time and had goalkeeper Kieran Kenrick to thank for superb penalty save from MacGearailt with six minutes remaining. Kenrick, who won a Tipperary cup soccer medal with Clonmel Celtic on Saturday evening, did brilliantly to tip MacGearailt’s 11 metre effort over the crossbar. Kerry did have the benefit of a crossfield breeze in the second half of a scrappy tie which was pockmarked by frees awarded against both teams for misuse of the new hand pass rule, which is sure to cause further problems in the weeks to come.

Scorers for Kerry: M O’Donoghue 1-3 (0-2f), A MacGearailt 0-4 (2 45s), J Buckley & A O’Sullivan 0-2 each, M Murphy and G O’Driscoll 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: S Hahessy 0-3, T Hanly & T Egan (1f) 0-2 each, D Dwyer & L O’Gorman.

KERRY: S Óg O’Ciardubháin; S Enright, A Cahill, B McGuire; F Griffin, A Greaney, E O’Neill; G O’Driscoll, D Murphy; M Murphy, M O’Donoghue, A O’Sullivan; G Sayers, A MacGearailt, J Buckley.
Subs: E Hickson for Cahill (ht.), F Courtney for Sayers (49), B Poff for D Murphy (58), T McGoldrick for Buckley (59).

TIPPERARY: K Kenrick; D Buckley, R Power, D Lynch; D Bourke, D Dwyer, P O’Dwyer; D Heffernan, L O’Gorman; T Hanly, R O’Dwyer, L Coskeran; T Egan, S Hahessy, P McEvoy.
Subs: D Foley for Heffernan (h.t), R Kiely for Power (40), D Lowry for McEvoy (41), D Lynagh for Coskeran (50).

Referee: M Condon (Waterford)

Team News

The Tipperary Junior Football team to play Kerry in the Munster championship at 2pm Sunday at Semple Stadium

1. Kieran Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)
2. David Buckley (Inane Rovers)
3. Richard Power (Moyle Rovers)
4. Donal Lynch (Clonmel Commercials)
5. Derek Bourke (Loughmore Castleiney)
6. Dara Dwyer (Moyle Rovers)
7. Padraig O’Dwyer (Éire Óg Annacarty)
8. Donncha Heffernan (Cappawhite)
9. Liam O’Gorman (Cahir)
10. Thomas Hanly (Aherlow)
11. Ryan O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs)
12. Laurence Coskeran (Aherlow)
13. Tony Egan (Galtee Rovers)
14. Stephen Hahessy (Carrick Swan)
15. Paul McEvoy (Cahir)

The Kerry Junior team to play Tipperary on Sunday is as follows:

1. Seán Óg Ó Ciardubháin – Cordal 2. Shane Enright – Tarbert 3. Aidan Cahill – Spa 4. Brian McGuire – Listowel 5. Fergal Griffin – Glenbeigh/Glencar 6. Adrian Greaney – St. Pats- 7. Eoin O’Neill – Renard 8. Gary O’Driscoll – Skellig Rangers  9. Don Murphy – Gneeveguilla 10. Michael Murphy – Gneeveguilla 11. Michael O’Donoghue – Spa  12. Alan O’Sullivan -Tuosist 13. Gary Sayers – Keel 14. Aodán MacGearailt – An Ghaeltacht 15. John Buckley – Currow
16. Paul O’Sullivan – Churchill  17. Eamon Hickson -Annascaul 18. Francis Courtney – Beaufort 19. Gavin O’Connor – Castlegregory 20. Paul O’Donoghue – John Mitchels  21. Tom McGoldrick – Brosna 22. Daniel Doyle – Churchill- 23. Brendan Poff – St. Pats  24. Mike Coakley – Scartaglin

Bainisteóir: Kerry O’Sullivan Currow
Roghnóirí: Pat Brosnan (Brosna) & Tim Dennehy (Castlegregory)


May 16, 2010
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,

GAA Units