Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Junior Football Championship Quarter-Final – Cork 2-14 Clare 0-6

May 22, 2011 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Cork go up a gear after sluggish start

Cork 2-14 Clare 0-6

By Brendan Larkin for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Monday, May 23, 2011

AN IMPRESSIVE Cork cruised past Clare in this Munster JFC clash at Páirc Uí Chaoimh yesterday. The hosts, backboned by players with senior, U21 and minor experience, started poorly but finished the game as a contest with a deadly second quarter surge. Aided by the strong wind, Clare raced into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after five minutes with Mark McCarthy claiming all their scores. However, Cork showed their potential with Mark Cronin’s rasping shot after a great passing movement, coming back off a post. Thereafter the Clare challenge collapsed as the hosts, led by the industrious Andrew O’Sullivan at midfield and Kevin O’Driscoll at centre forward, took control.

Such was Cork’s dominance in defence where Owen O’Mahony and Kevin Harrington excelled, Clare went 17 minutes without a score. Cork’s total control was illustrated by a brilliant goal when Kevin O’Driscoll put Cathrach Keane in for an easy finish. Cork landed four points in a row and led 1-7 to 0-4 at the break. Clare introduced three substitutions for the second-half but all to no avail and this excellent Cork side, now playing with the elements, tacked on four more points without reply.

The Banner went in search of a goal but Cork ‘keeper Tom O’Connor denied Mark McCarthy with an excellent save. It was as close as Cork allowed their opponents to get as Cork cruised home with Keane slipping home a second goal just before the final whistle.

Scorers for Cork: C. Keane 2-1; C. O’Driscoll 0-4 (1f); M. Cronin (1f) 0-3; K. O’Driscoll 0-2; D. O’Donovan, S. O’Sullivan, A. O’Sullivan, A. O’Brien 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: M. McCarthy 0-5 (2f); P. McMahon 0-1.

CORK: T. O’Connor; R. Buckley, O. O’Mahony, K. Harrington; S. Kiely, R. O’Sullivan, B. Daly; A. O’Sullivan, S. O’Sullivan; D. O’Donovan, K. O’Driscoll, C. O’Driscoll; M. Cronin, A. O’Brien, C. Keane.

Subs: AJ O’Connor for Daly (45); T. Clancy for S. O’Sullivan (50); M. Dilworth, for O’Donovan (55); P. Gayer for R. O’Sullivan (55); B. Coughlan for A. O’Sullivan (55).

CLARE: T. Burke; C. Marrinan, D. Hickey, Dean Ryan; S. Tierney, P. O’Connor, C. O’Brien; T. Ryan, S. Crotty; E. Lyons, S. Collins, P. Clancy; P. McMahon, David Ryan, M. McCarthy.

Subs: M. O’Loughlin for Merrinan (ht); P. Collins for E. Lyons (ht); G. Lyons for C. O’Brien (ht); m. Malone for D. Ryan (35); A. Considine for S. Crotty (50).

Referee: B. Tyrell (Tipperary)

Team News

Clare Junior Football team to play Cork announced

Peil Sóisear —-Junior Football

1) Tony Burke – Kilrush                            A. De Búrca

2) Conor Marrinan – Cooraclare                  C. Ó Marranáin

3) Darren Hickey – Kilmurray Ilbrickane          D. Ó hIcí

4) Dean Ryan – Eire Og                          D. Ó Riain

5) Thomas Donnellan – Cooraclare                T. Ó Dónalláin

6) Paul O’Connor – Kilmurray Ilbrickane          P. Ó Conchúir

7) Con O’Brien – Kilrush                           C. Ó Briain

8. Timmy Ryan – Kilmihil – CAPTAIN     T. Ó Riain

9) Sean Crotty – Eire Og                         S. Ó Crotaigh

10) Enda Lyons – Doorabarefield                   É Ó Liatháin

11) Sean Collins – Cratloe                        S. Ó Coileán

12) Paddy Clancy – Kilrush                    P.Mac Lannchaidh

13) Podge McMahon – Clondegad                 P. Mac Mathúna

14) David Ryan – Kilmihil                     D. Ó Riain

15) Mark McCarthy – Kilmurray Ilbrickane     M. Mac Cárthaigh

16) Pierce DeLoughrey – Cratloe            P. De Luachra

17) Wesley DeLoughrey – Cratloe            L. De Luachra

18) Padraic Collins – Cratloe              P. Ó Coileán

19) Aaron Considine – Clarecastle          A. Mac Consaidín

20) Stephen Tierney – St Breckans          S. Ó Tiarnaigh

21) Michael Malone – Miltown Malbay        M. Ó Maoileoin

22) Stephen Collins – Doorabarefiled       S. Ó Coileán

23) Keith O’Connor – Kildysart             C. Ó Conchúir

24) Shane Hickey – Kilmurray Ilbrickane    S. Ó hIcí

Management team – Michael Considine, Peter O’Connell, Colm Collins


May 22, 2011
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units