Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Junior Football Final – Cork 1-18 Waterford 0-9

July 11, 2013 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cork defeated Waterford by 1-18 to 0-9 in the Munster Junior Football Championship Final on Thursday July 11th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Dominant Rebels are Munster kingpins again

Cork 1-18 Waterford 0-9

By Denis Hurley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

In the end, it was very straightforward for Cork as they claimed a fifth Munster junior title in nine years — and remained on course to add to their record of 16 All-Irelands — as they accounted for Waterford at Fraher Field last night. Twelve points separated the sides by the finish, and while it could have been greater but for looser Cork shooting, the early indications were that the hosts might prove sticky opponents for their fancied visitors.

A pair of Gavin Crotty points had them off to a good start inside three minutes, but they would not score again in the first half while Cork found their feet and had nine points on the board by the interval. Cork had 11 different scorers, with Cathal Vaughan’s place-kicking perfect. Micheál Ó Laoire ruled the skies at midfield alongside captain Ruairí Deane and Colm O’Driscoll was a livewire at wing-forward while Seán Kiely got forward well too. Once Cork got in front through points from Colm O’Driscoll and Vaughan (two), they looked far sharper.

A fine Vaughan free from the right in the 25th minute put Cork 0-7 to 0-2 ahead, and while that seemed to invite a licence to attempt Hollywood points, an excellent individual effort from AJ O’Connor ensured the scoreboard ticked over. Just before half-time, Lynch added another when he was unlucky not to find the net, and Cork led by nine before Brian Phelan ended Waterford’s scoring drought. A full-blown comeback was never in prospect, however, and Deane could have put things to bed only to fire over.

The goal did come with 11 minutes left, centre-back Rory O’Sullivan rounding off a move involving brothers Colm and Kevin O’Driscoll to make it 1-16 to 0-5. David Power, Stephen Prendergast and John Wall had late Waterford points and Phelan hit the crossbar after a scramble, but it was always Cork’s night. Cork play the Great Britain representatives early next month in the last four.

Scorers for Cork: C Vaughan 0-6 (five frees), F Lynch 0-4, Rory O’Sullivan 1-0, M Ó Laoire, C O’Driscoll, AJ O’Connor, R Deane, D Harrington, K O’Driscoll, M Vaughan, M Sugrue 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: J Wall (frees), G Crotty, D Power 0-2 each, B Phelan, S Prendergast, D Grey 0-1 each.

CORK: D Hanrahan; AJ O’Connor, E O’Mahony, K Harrington; Richard O’Sullivan, Rory O’Sullivan, S Kiely; R Deane, M Ó Laoire; C Vaughan, K O’Driscoll, C O’Driscoll; E Buckley, F Lynch, D Harrington.

Subs: M Vaughan for Buckley (half-time), P Daly for O’Mahony, M Sugrue for Harrington (both 53), S Hickey for C Vaughan, J Cronin for O’Connor (both 55).

WATERFORD: T Wall; P Crowley, B Prendergast, S Lannon; J O’Mahony, E Rockett, R Hennessy; B Phelan, S Prendergast; D Guiry, B McGarr, D Grey; J Wall, G Crotty, D Power.

Subs: S Bourke for O’Mahony (24), R Ó Ceallaigh for Prendergast (half-time), C Guiry for McGarr (40), C O’Shea for Power, M Curry for D Guiry (both 51).

Referee: S Joy (Kerry)


When – Thursday July 11th at 7:30pm

Where – Fraher Field Dungarvan

Referee – Sean Joy (Kerry)
Stand-by Referee – Eddie Walsh (Kerry)
Linesman – James O’Sullivan (Kerry)
Sideline Official – Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry)
Umpires – Michael O’Shea, Michael Foley, Greg O’Connor and John Michael Fitzgerald (all Kerry)

Extra time – (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 60 minutes

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ed Donnelly at for more information

Team News

The Cork Junior Football team to play Waterford in the Munster Final on Thursday night at 7.30pm in Dungarvan will line out as follows:

CORK (JF v Waterford): D Hanrahan (Douglas); AJ O’Connor (Kiskeam), E O’Mahony (Macroom), K Harrington (Bantry Blues); Richard O’Sullivan (Kinsale), Rory O’Sullivan (Argideen Rgrs), S Kiely (Macroom); R Deane (Bantry Blues – Captain), M Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán); C Vaughan (Iveleary), A O’Brien (Kildorrery), C O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh); E Buckley (St Michael’s), F Lynch (Valley Rovers), D Harrington (Adrigole)

WATERFORD (JF v Cork): T Wall (Nire); P Crowley (St Saviours); B Prendergast (Kilrossanty); S Lannon (Stradbally); C Buckley(Bonmahon); E Rockett (Stradbally); J O’Mahony (Ballinacourty); B Phelan (Ballinameela); S Prendergast (Kilrossanty); D Guiry (Nire); B McGarr (Kilrossanty); D Grey (Stradbally); J Wall (Colligan); G Crotty (Dungarvan); D Power (Kilrossanty).

For the Record

Waterford Cork
2012 Championship Performance Defeated Limerick by 2-13 to 1-10 in the Quarter-Final before losing to Clare by 0-13 to 0-6 in the Semi-Final. Lost to Kerry by 0-13 to 1-8 in the Munster Semi-Final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.
Number of Munster Junior Football titles 3 28
Last Munster Junior Football Title 2004 2011
Munster Junior Football Championship Record since 2000 Played – 17
Won – 5
Lost – 12
Drawn – 0
Played – 30
Won – 22
Lost – 8
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Munster Junior Football Championship June 5th 2011 (Munster Semi-Final) – Cork 3-16 Waterford 1-8
at Pairc Ui Chaoimh – Click for more details

Munster GAA FOOTBALL Junior Championship 2013


Saturday May 25th

@ Pairc na nGael                            Cork 5-17 Limerick 2-8

Sunday May 26th

@ Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney    Tipperary 1-15 Kerry 0-11

Saturday June 1st

@ Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney    Waterford 1-13 Tipperary 0-15 (after extra time)

Sunday June 16th

@ Cusack Park Ennis                    Cork 0-18 Clare 0-9


Thursday July 11th
@ Fraher Field Dungarvan                        Waterford v Cork @ 7:45pm

Useful Information

The last Munster Junior Football Final between Waterford and Cork took place on July 1st 2004 when Waterford defeated Cork by 1-7 to 0-9 at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Munster GAA FOOTBALL Junior Championship Roll Of Honour

Kerry (40) – 1913, 1914, 1915, 1924, 1926, 1927, 1928, 1930, 1931, 1934, 1936, 1938, 1941, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1954, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1983, 1985, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012

Cork (28) – 1911, 1932, 1933, 1940, 1951, 1953, 1955, 1957, 1962, 1964, 1966, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1996, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011

Tipperary (7) – 1910, 1912, 1923, 1935, 1937, 1952, 1998

Limerick (4) – 1916, 1929, 1939, 1950

Waterford (3) – 1948, 1999, 2004

Clare (1) – 1925

Munster GAA FOOTBALL Junior Championship – List of Winning Teams

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete list of each winning team since the competition began in 1910 –

Munster Junior

No Name – Presented by Munster Council in 1957

All Ireland GAA FOOTBALL Junior Championship

35 of the 81 All-Ireland titles contested in this grade have been won by 4 Munster counties. In the Junior Football All Ireland Roll of Honour, Cork and Kerry lead the way with 16 and 15 titles respectively. Tipperary have won 3 All-Ireland’s while Waterford’s 2 titles came in 1999 and 2004.  23 counties in total have won an All-Ireland Junior Football title.


July 11, 2013
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units