Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Tipperary 3-20 Cork 1-15

May 22, 2016 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Cork by 3-20 to 1-15 in the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday May 22nd at Semple Stadium Thurles.

McCormack claims 14 points as Tipperary end Cork’s reign in Munster

Munster intermediate hurling championship quarter-final

Tipperary 3-20 Cork 1-15

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium, Thurles for

AIDAN MCCORMACK BAGGED 14 points as rampant Tipperary ended Cork’s reign as Munster intermediate hurling champions this afternoon.
Thurles Sarsfields clubman McCormack, a member of Tipp’s extended senior squad, was in excellent form from placed balls at Semple Stadium, hitting 12 of them over the hour.

There was also a two-goal haul in as many minutes in the second half for full-forward Mark Russell, who’s the son of former intercounty football referee Paddy. Tipp led by 0-11 to 0-7 at half-time before cruising to victory after the break.

An 11-point win sets up a semi-final clash with Limerick on 19 June and managed by 2012 All-Ireland minor winning supremo William Maher, Tipp looked impressive. Goalkeeper Brian Hogan beat his opposite number Declan Dalton with a penalty early in the second half, after target-man Russell was fouled, and that goal opened up a 1-11 to 0-8 lead.

Tipp’s lead stretched to eight before Dalton banged home a penalty himself seven minutes into the second half, a cracking drive past Hogan but the award left many supporters in Thurles scratching their heads. Referee Declan O’Driscoll appeared to have spotted a push off the ball and had no hesitation in awarding Cork the penalty, which was hammered home by Dalton.

Cork did get to within four points, 1-12 to 1-16, but that man Russell scored goals in the 49th and 50th minutes to make the game safe for Tipp, ending hopes of three-in-a-row provincial crowns for the Rebels in this grade.

Scorers for Tipperary: Aidan McCormack 0-14 (12f), Mark Russell 2-0, Brian Hogan 1-0 pen, Billy McCarthy 0-3, Sean Ryan, Liam McGrath & Dylan Fitzell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Noel McNamara 0-5f, Declan Dalton 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), Patrick O’Rourke 0-3, Kevin Kavanagh, Brian Murray, Kevin O’Neill, Dean Brosnan, Eoin O’Sullivan & Eamon Brosnan 0-1 each.

1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)
2. Ger Fennelly (Ballingarry)
3. Jack Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
4. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
5. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg)
6. Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)
7. Sean Ryan (Sean Treacys)
8. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)
9. Jack Shelly (Mullinahone – capt.)
10. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Aidan McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields)
12. Tommy Nolan (Drom & Inch)
13. Willie Connors (Kildangan)
14. Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen)
15. Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh)
20. Dylan Fitzell (Cashel King Cormacs) for Shelly (46)
19. Tadhg Gallagher (Kildangan) for McGrath (47)
23. Conor Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields) for Nolan (57)
24. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers) for Ryan (57)
18. David Sweeney (Kildangan) for Fennelly (58)

1. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neill’s)
2. Diarmuid Lester (Bishopstown)
3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
4. Darren Browne (Kanturk)
5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)
6. Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig)
7. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)
8. Brian Murray (Bishopstown – captain)
9. Kevin O’Neill (Watergrasshill)
10. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
11. Nicky Kelly (Mayfield)
12. Eoin O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)
13. David Drake (Carrigaline)
14. Patrick O’Rourke (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Noel McNamara (Kilworth)
20. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle) for Barry (h.t.)
23. Sean Hayes (Mallow) for Kelly (h.t.)
24. Barry Lawton (Castlemartyr) for O’Sullivan (37)
22. Eamon Brosnan (Meelin) for O’Neill (45)
17. Greg Murphy (Newcestown) for Kavanagh (57)

Referee: Declan O’Driscoll (Limerick)

Team News

The Tipperary Intermediate Hurling manager William Maher has tonight announced his side to face Cork in the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship opening fixture at 2pm tomorrow Sunday, May 22nd in Semple Stadium. There are ten U21 players in the starting fifteen, which is captained by Jack Shelly.

The team lines out as follows –

1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
2. Ger Fennelly – Ballingarry
3. Jack Peters – Kilruane MacDonaghs
4. Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
5. Andrew Coffey – Nenagh Éire Óg
6. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
7. Sean Ryan – Sean Treacys
8. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields
9. Jack Shelly (Capt.) – Mullinahone
10. Liam McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
11. Aiden McCormack – Thurles Sarsfields
12. Tommy Nolan – Drom & Inch
13. Willie Connors – Kiladangan
14. Mark Russell – Lattin Cullen
15. Conor Kenny – Borris-Ileigh

The Cork Intermediate team to play Tipperary next Sunday in the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship has been announced as follows

1. Declan Dalton (Fr O’ Neills)
2. Diarmuid Lester (Bishopstown)
3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
4. Darren Browne (Kanturk)
5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)
6. Donnacha O’ Donovan (Ballinhassig) Vice Capt
7. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)
8. Brian Murray (Bishopstown) Capt
9. Kevin O’ Neill (Watergrasshill)
10. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
11. Nicky Kelly (Mayfield)
12. Eoin O’ Sullivian (Sarsfields)
13. David Drake (Carrigaline)
14. Patrick O’ Rourke (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Noel McNamara (Kilworth)
16. Tommy Wallace (Midleton)
17. Greg Murphy (Newcestown)
18. Ciaran O’ Brien (St Itas)
19. Shane Hegarty (Dungourney)
20. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)
21. Andrew Cagney (Charleville)
22. Eamonn Brosnan (Meelin)
23. Sean Hayes (Mallow)
24. Barry Lawton (Castlemartyr)


May 22, 2016
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units