Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter Final – Clare 2-21 Waterford 0-16

June 2, 2013 @ 1:45 pm - 3:45 pm

Lynch and Guilfoyle torment Deise

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Clare 2-21, Waterford 0-16

GARY GUILFOYLE and Aidan Lynch contributed 2-9 between them as Clare hammered Waterford at Semple Stadium to set up a semi-final meeting with Cork on June 23. Lynch’s goal separated the sides at half-time, as Clare led by 1-9 to 0-9. Lynch, scorer of 1-2 before the break, appeared as if he was going to pull first time on Jarlath Colleran’s bouncing pass but after getting the ball into his hand, he unleashed a stunning finish.

Waterford had four of their six starting forwards on target in the opening half but the Deise never looked like raising a green flag. Clare were never troubled during the second half as they outscored the Deise by 1-12 to 0-7. The points flowed freely and Guilfoyle scored Clare’s second goal five minutes from time with a glorious ground-stroke into the top corner of the netting. “It was a lot easier than we expected,” said Clare selector Donal Moloney. “In the first 10 minutes, there was a real intent about Waterford but our guys worked phenomenally hard and wanted it a bit more on the day.”

Scorers – Clare: G Guilfoyle 1-5 (0-4fs), A Lynch 1-4, C Malone 0-5, P Sheehan 0-3, M O’Neill 0-2, N Arthur, C O’Connell 0-1 each. Waterford: K Fitzgerald 0-8 (0-7fs), S Roche 0-3, C Heffernan 0-2, E Murphy, S Ryan, J Lyons 0-1 each.

CLARE – K Hogan; K Ryan, D Corry, J Browne; E Boyce, C Cleary, C Chaplin; P Sheehan, J Colleran; G Guilfoyle, M O’Neill, C Malone; N Arthur, A Lynch, D Reidy. Subs: C O’Connell for N Arthur (41), K Lynch for Boyce (50), J Guilfoyle for Colleran (52), G O’Connell for Sheehan (56), G Arthur for G Guilfoyle (58).

WATERFORD – D Duggan; C Walsh, S O’Keeffe, Shane Roche; J Roche, K Power, S Kearney; E Murphy, Shane Ryan; C Heffernan, J Lyons, J Power; K Fitzgerald, Stephen Roche, R Donnelly. Subs: C Curran for J Power (21), R Power for Donnelly (33), Sean Ryan for Shane Ryan (36), K Casey for Lyons (57), T Curran for J Roche (59).

Ref – J O’Brien (Tipperary)

Team News

Clare Intermediate Hurling team to play Waterford is as follows – Keith Hogan; Jack Browne, Darragh Corry, Killian Ryan; Enda Boyce, Conor Cleary, Cathal Chaplin; Pa Sheehan, Jarlath Colleran; Garry Guilfoyle, Mikey O’Neill, Cathal Malone; Niall Arthur, Adrian Lynch, David Reidy

The Waterford Intermediate Hurling team to play on Sunday in Semple Stadium was announced tonight after training.

1. Darren Duggan Dungarvan

2. Colin Walsh Ballinameela

3 Stephen O’Keeffe Ballygunner

4. Shane Roche Shamrocks

5. Jason Roche Passage

6. Kieran Power Clonea

7. Shane Kearney Dungarvan

8. Eamonn Murphy Dunhill

9. Shane Ryan Fourmilewater

10. Cormac Heffernan Ferrybank CAPTAIN

11. Jack Lyons Ballyduff Lower

12. Jim Power Butlerstown

13. Killian Fitzgerald Passage

14. Stephen Roche Mount Sion

15. Ryan Donnelly Dungarvan


June 2, 2013
1:45 pm - 3:45 pm

GAA Units