Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster GAA Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi Final – Clare 1-19 Waterford 3-9

June 17, 2012 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Champions Clare cruise into final

Clare 1-19 Waterford 3-09

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster and All-Ireland champions Clare cruised into a second successive provincial intermediate hurling decider at Semple Stadium yesterday. Clare were 12 points ahead after 50 minutes before late goals from Gavin Crotty and captain Martin O’Neill brought some degree of respectability to the scoreboard for Waterford. Clare were 0-8 to 0-0 ahead after just 17 minutes. Waterford finally got off the mark through a Fionán Murray free in the 18th minute and a Jake Dillon goal three minutes before half-time kept them in touch at the break, trailing 0-10 to 1-3. The issue was put beyond doubt 15 minutes from time when Tony Kelly cracked home a 20m free.

Scorers for Clare: T Kelly 1-3 (1-1f), D O’Halloran 0-6 (1f), C O’Connell 0-4 (2f), C O’Doherty 0-2 (1f, 1 65), C Malone, C Ryan, F Kennedy & M O’Neill 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: G Crotty 1-1, F Murray 0-4 (3f), J Dillon & E Murphy 1-0 each, J Prendergast, S Lawlor, B O’Halloran & R Barry 0-1 each.

CLARE: R Taaffe; P Flanagan, D McInerney, K Ryan; E Boyce, C Duggan, C O’Doherty; P Sheahan, C Ryan; F Kennedy, C O’Connell, C Chaplin; C Malone, T Kelly, D O’Halloran.

Subs: P Duggan for Chaplin (45), B Donnellan for Sheahan (48), M O’Neill for O’Connell (49), H Vaughan for O’Doherty (55), A Lynch for Kennedy (58).

WATERFORD: R Roche; M Kearney, S O’Keeffe, M Wyse; S Hannon, E Madigan, W Henley; J Prendergast, S Lawlor; J Dillon, B O’Halloran, P Nevin; F Murray, G Crotty, E Murphy.

Subs: R Barry for Henley (20), S Roche for Lawlor (h-t.), S Power for Prendergast (44), P Power for Dillon (44), I Galgey for Nevin (53).

Referee: D Copps (Cork)

Team News

The Waterford Intermediate Hurling team to play Clare is as follows –

1. Richie Roche Mount Sion

2. Michael Kearney Ballyduff Upper

3. Stephen O’Keeffe Ballygunner

4. Mark Wyse Passage

5. Seamus Hannon Ballyduff Upper

6. Eoin Madigan De La Salle

7. William Henley Tallow

8. John Prendergast Lismore

9. Seamus Lawlor Fourmilewater

10. Jake Dillon De La Salle

11. Brian O’Halloran Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

12. Paidí Nevin De La Salle

13. Fionán Murray Cappoquin

14. Gavin Crotty Dungarvan

15. Eamonn Murphy (Captain) Dunhill


Bainisteoir Fergal Hartley (Ballygunner)

Roghnorií John Fives (Tourin), Michael Walsh (Ballyduff Upper)


The Clare Intermediate Hurling team to play Waterford is as follows –

1 Ronan Taffe Tubber

2 Paul Flanagan Ballyea

3 David McInerney Tulla

4 Killian Ryan Ruan

5 Enda Boyce Cratloe

6 Cillian Duggan Clooney

7 Ciaran O Doherty Crusheen

8 Pa Sheahan SMB

9 Conor Ryan Cratloe

10 Fergus Kennedy Crusheen

11 Cathal O Connell Clonlara

12 Cathal Chaplin Broadford

13 Mikey O Neill Kilmaley

14 Tony Kelly Ballyea

15 Davy O Halloren Eire Og

16 Niall Woods Newmarket

17 Haulie Vaughan Inagh Kilnamona

18 Cathal Malone Ennistymon

19 Niall Arthur Inagh Kilnamona

20 Gary Guilfoyle Feakle

21 Jarlath Colleran St Josephs

22 Sean O Connor Newmarket

23 Gary Neville O Callaghans Mills

24 Ross Horan Scariff

25 Padraig Taylor Broadford

26 Brian Donnellan Ocallaghans Mills

27 Cathal Dillon Crusheen

28 Peter Duggan Clooney

29 Aidan Lynch Ruan

30 Cillian Fennessy Clonlara


June 17, 2012
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units