Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster GAA Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter Final – Tipperary 2-20 Limerick 1-11

May 26, 2012 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Premier pound 14-man Limerick

Tipperary 2-20 Limerick 1-11

By James Hayden for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary cruised to victory over a disappointing Limerick side in the Munster IHC quarter-final in MacDonagh Park, Nenagh on Saturday. Tipp went into the encounter red hot favourites and, with the aid of a stiff breeze, blitzed their neighbours with points from Evan Sweeney, Paudie White, Johnny Ryan and a well-taken 18th minute David Butler goal. Further points from Damian O’Brien, Kieran Morris and Sean Carey extended Tipp’s lead as Limerick struggled to reach the pace of the game. A sweet point late in the half from Limerick’s Michael Ryan coupled with a Robert O’Donnell free cut the gap slightly, but the Treatymen still trailed by 1-10 to 0-4 at the break.

Within minutes of the re-start Limerick’s aspirations were dealt a further blow when full-forward, O’Donnell was dismissed for a second off-the-ball incident involving Tipp full-back, Kevin O’Gorman. However, Tipp struggled to utilise the extra man and, although short-handed, the Limerick forwards thrived, a 37th minute Eamonn Gleeson goal added to points from John Fitzgibbon and Eoin Ryan narrowed the deficit to five by midway through the half.

It was the closest Natal O’Grady’s side were to get though, as Tipp upped a gear and surged clear in the closing quarter with a raft of points from Richie Ruth, Kieran Morris, Sean Carey and John Sheedy. An injury-time goal from Sean Carey was the icing on the cake for the impressive Premier men.

Scorers for Tipperary: S Carey 1-3, K Morris 0-5 (3fs), R Ruth 0-4, D Butler 1-1, P White, D O’Brien 0-2 each, E Sweeney, J Ryan, J Sheedy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: J Fitzgibbon 0-3, E Gleeson 1-0, E Ryan, R O’Donnell (2fs), M Ryan 0-2 each, M Deegan, W Griffin 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: J Logue; Gerry Walsh, K O’Gorman, C Coughan; J Gallagher, E Connolly (capt), R Sherlock; M Heffernan, P White; S Carey, D O’Brien, J Ryan; K Morris, E Sweeney, D Butler.

Subs: R Ruth for Sweeney (ht), N Teehan for O’Brien (45), J Sheedy for White (50), D O’Connor for Butler (55), P O’Dwyer for Gallagher (61).

LIMERICK: G Glynn; S O’Reilly, D Morrissey, C Noonan; E Gleeson, K Loftus, A Dempsey; J Hayes, S Herlihy; E Ryan, D Moloney (capt), C Kearney; M Kiely, R O’Donnell, M Ryan.

Subs: J Fitzgibbon for Herlihy (33), J Malone for Kearney (40), T O’Callaghan for Noonan (51), M Deegan for Loftus (52), W Griffin for Kiely (53).

Referee: C Lyons (Cork)

Team News

Limerick Intermediate Team v Tipperary MHC Quarter- Final 26/5/12

Ger Flynn (Croom)

Stevie O’Reilly (Ballybrown)

Dan Morrissey (Ahane)

Conor Noonan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon)

Eamonn Gleeson (Cappamore)

Kyle Loftus (Ballybrown)

Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)

Jason Hayes (Bruff)

Sean Herlihy (Monagea)

Eoin Ryan (Kilmallock)

Damien Moloney (Effin) – Captain

Conor Kearney (Effin)

Mikey Kiely (Ballybrown)

Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen)

Micheal Ryan (Doon)

Seamus Murphy (Templeglantine)

Anthony Harnett (Tournafulla)

John Fitzgibbon (Adare)

John Malone (Mungret)

Mark Deegan (Hospital/Herbertstown)

Sean Browne (Newcastlewest)

Thomas O’Callaghan (Monagea)

Wayne Cronin (St. Patrick’s)

Willie Griffin (Adare)

Extended Panel Members – Denis O’Connor (Granagh/Ballingarry), Mark O’Connell (Glenroe), Jack Ahern (Killeedy), Niall Kennedy (Granagh/Ballingarry), Paudie Ahern (Kilteely/Dromkeen)

Manager – Natal O’Grady (Patrickswell) Maor Foirne – Pat Davoren (Ballybrown) Selectors – Ger Murphy (Templeglantine), Robert O’Dea (KilteelyDromkeen) Liaison Officer – Liam O’Sullivan (Claughaun)

Doctor – Dr. David Boylan

Physio – Sandra Quaid, Sean Rea


May 26, 2012
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units