Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster S.H.C. – Waterford 2-22 Tipperary 2-22

June 3, 2018 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Waterford and Tipperary finished level at 2-22 apiece in Round 3 of the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship on Sunday June 3rd at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Tipp snatch draw after incredible comeback


By Daragh Small for

Tipperary came back from the dead for the second match in a row to snatch a draw with Waterford that keeps their Championship hopes alive.

Waterford were 2-20 to 0-15 in front with just 16 minutes remaining but then Tipperary fought back and goals from Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher and Jason Forde ensured the game finished all square.

Tipperary suffered a 1-23 to 2-14 at the hands of Limerick when they last visited this ground in the opening round, but last weekend’s stunning comeback and draw with Cork put Michael Ryan’s side back on track.

Waterford also lost their opener to Clare, but that 2-27 to 2-18 defeat in Ennis meant they had to make amends straight away.

Jason Forde scored the first point from a free inside the opening minute but Tom Devine and Jamie Barron combined to put Waterford in front.

Forde drew the sides level but despite their lack of squad depth the Waterford attack still looked lethal and Pauric Mahony, who came in late for Colin Dunford, pointed a free before Devine gave Waterford a 0-4 to 0-2 lead in the fifth minute.

Mahony and Devine had a big say in the first half and Waterford hit 1-4 to 0-1 between the eighth and 13th minutes. Devine scored the first goal in the ninth minute after an Austin Gleeson free bounded around the Tipperary goalmouth and the Modeligo clubman connected with his one-handed swing.

When Pauric Mahony scored in the 13th minute Waterford held a 1-8 to 0-4 advantage. But points from Ronan Maher and Callanan settled Tipperary. Callanan’s effort could have been a goal but for Stephen O’Keeffe’s brilliant save from John O’Dwyer.

From the 18th minute Tipperary scored five points in a row with Forde (three), Noel McGrath and Ronan Maher on target. That reduced the arrears to 1-9 to 0-11.

But Padraic Maher flicked O’Keeffe’s booming clearance into the path of Pauric Mahony who blasted to the net for Waterford’s second goal. Philip Mahony and DJ Foran added further scores for Waterford before half-time, and Michael Cahill was sent-off in the 38th minute.

He got a second yellow for a chop on Foran, prior to the final point of the half, and Waterford took a 2-12 to 0-12 lead into the break.

Waterford hit the first four points of the second half and Curran’s second point gave them a big 2-17 to 0-13 advantage.

Incredibly the lead was whittled right down and it all turned when the Tipperary substitutes were introduced. Cathal Barrett pointed after his introduction and ‘Bonner’ Maher scored his goal in the 58th minute.

That goal brought it back to 2-20 to 1-17 but there was more drama when a Forde free dropped short and Austin Gleeson fumbled it before the line. After consultation with his umpires, referee Alan Kelly gave a goal.

And then it was Forde’s 12th free that secured the draw at the death.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 1-14 (1-12 frees), Patrick Maher 1-0, Ronan Maher 0-3, Seamus Callanan 0-2, Billy McCarthy 0-1, Noel McGrath 0-1, Cathal Barrett 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 1-8 (0-5 frees), Tom Devine 1-2, Jamie Barron 0-3, DJ Foran 0-3, Patrick Curran 0-2, Philip Mahony 0-1, Stephen Bennett 0-1, Tommy Ryan 0-1, Jake Dillon 0-1.

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan; Seán O’Brien, Séamus Kennedy, Michael Cahill; Joe O’Dwyer, Pádraic Maher, Brendan Maher; Ronan Maher, Billy McCarthy; Dan McCormack, Jason Forde, Noel McGrath; John O’Dwyer, Séamus Callanan, John McGrath
Subs: Patrick Maher for John O’Dwyer (46), Cathal Barrett for N McGrath (55), Jake Morris for J McGrath (59), Sean Curran for McCormack 60, Willie Connors for McCarthy (68).

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe; Conor Gleeson, Shane Fives, Noel Connors; Philip Mahony, Austin Gleeson, Michael Walsh; Jamie Barron, Stephen Roche; Mikey Kearney, Pauric Mahony, DJ Foran; Stephen Bennett, Tom Devine, Patrick Curran
Subs: Tommy Ryan for Kearney (46), Brian O’Halloran for Curran (54), Jake Dillon for Foran (59), Colin Dunford for Roche (63), Shane McNulty for Connors (66).

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway).

Munster Magic – Waterford’s Eoin Murphy

Ticket Prices – Senior and Minor Hurling Round-Robin Championship Matches

Adult: Stand €20, Terrace €15
Under 16s: €5 all areas
Student/OAP: Concession of €5 with valid ID prior to entry at the designated stile.

The above prices are pre purchase prices, applicable until midnight of the night before the game. All adult ticket prices increase by €5 on the day

Tickets are available for purchase via
and participating Centra and Supervalu Outlets (Ticketing Store Locator)

Juvenile Group Package

Juvenile Group tickets can be availed of at €5 per juvenile with 1 adult free with every 10 juveniles for Munster Senior Hurling Championship matches (with the exception of games in Cusack Park Ennis). Additional adults will pay the Pre-Purchase Stand Price of €20. Payment must be made in advance via Credit/Debit Card or EFT ONLY. A member of Munster GAA will contact your club to arrange payment.

Orders must be submitted via the online form below by the Thursday week prior to each game.

Tickets are for collection on the day with details sent to the email submitted on the form.

Juvenile Group Package Form


June 3, 2018
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units