Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster S.H.C. – Cork 1-23 Waterford 1-20

June 17, 2018 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cork defeated Waterford by 1-23 to 1-20 in Round 5 of the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship on Sunday June 17th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Cork edge out Waterford


Report By Daragh Small for

Bill Cooper starred for in the second half comeback for Cork and the reigning Munster champions ensured safe passage into this year’s final with a win over Waterford.

John Meyler’s side had drawn against Tipperary and Limerick before their break from the round robin, and they bounced back in impressive fashion late on at Semple Stadium in Thurles.

They were 0-15 to 0-11 behind at the interval, but backed by the wind in the second half, the concession of Tommy Ryan’s goal was cancelled out by Seamus Harnedy’s 67th minute strike.

Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh broke Brendan Cummins’ record for championship appearances, with his 74th straight game for Waterford here.

It was also potentially his last for his county but Derek McGrath’s men had nothing other than pride to play for after their 2-26 to 1-16 defeat at the hands of Limerick last weekend.

Despite draws against Tipperary and Limerick Cork had their destiny in their own hands but they were second best for the majority of the first half against the breeze.

Patrick Horgan did open the scoring and the Cork full-forward line all registered points inside the opening 12 minutes, but they missed too many opportunities in front of goal.

As their wide count rose Waterford took their chances up the other end and Tommy Ryan was a particular threat, while Brian O’Halloran was the perfect foil, with Pauric Mahony on target from the placed ball.

The sides were level on four occasions in opening quarter before points from Austin Gleeson and Jake Dillon put Waterford in charge.

The Cork wide count would reach eight by half-time and Waterford goalkeeper Ian O’Regan made a smart save to deny Bill Cooper a goal in the 16th minute.

Conor Lehane and Horgan kept Cork in the game but Waterford held a 0-15 to 0-11 interval lead. Mahony had six points by the break while Ryan and O’Halloran scored a couple of points each.

Cork had the ideal start to the second-half when Cooper pointed from distance inside the opening minute. DJ Foran hit back, but Cork began to close in.

Mark Coleman’s wonderful sideline brought the deficit back to 0-16 to 0-15, and Horgan levelled proceedings in the 53rd minute.

But ‘Brick’ Walsh provided the final pass for Ryan and his rocket of a shot rifled past Nash into the Cork net.

It was the final act for ‘Brick’ who was substituted directly after, and Waterford were three points clear with 15 minutes remaining.

But Cork fought back again and Harnedy crashed home a goal in the 67th minute, before there were seven minutes of injury-time were signalled. That gave time for Cooper to draw Cork level before Horgan pushed them in front and they held on.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-5 (2fs, 165), Seamus Harnedy 1-3, Bill Cooper 0-4, Conor Lehane 0-3, Mark Coleman 0-2 (1 sideline), Shane Kingston 0-2, Daniel Kearney 0-2, Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-1, Christopher Joyce 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-8 (4f, 165), Tommy Ryan 1-3, Brian O’Halloran 0-2, Jake Dillon 0-2, Tom Devine 0-1, Jamie Barron 0-1, Austin Gleeson 0-1, DJ Foran 0-1, Maurice Shanahan 0-1.

CORK: Anthony Nash; Sean O’Donoghue, Damien Cahalane, Colm Spillane; Christopher Joyce, Eoin Cadogan, Mark Coleman; Darragh Fitzgibbon, Bill Cooper; Luke Meade, Conor Lehane, Daniel Kearney; Shane Kingston, Seamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan.
Subs: Conor O’Sullivan for O’Donoghue (45), Michael Cahalane for Meade (61), Jack O’Connor for Fitzgibbon (70+4)

WATERFORD: Ian O’Regan; Ian Kenny, Conor Gleeson, Noel Connors; Michael Walsh, Austin Gleeson, Philip Mahony; Jamie Barron, Pauric Mahony; Kevin Moran, Colin Dunford, Jake Dillon; Brian O’Halloran, Tom Devine, Tommy Ryan.
Subs: Seamus Keating for Connors (24), DJ Foran for Dillon (40), Stephen Roche for O’Halloran (45), Stephen Bennett for Walsh (55), Maurice Shanahan for Bennett (60).

REFEREE: John Keenan (Wicklow).

Ticket Prices – Senior and Minor Hurling Round-Robin Championship Matches

Adult: Stand €20, Terrace €15
Under 16s: €5 all areas
Student/OAP: Concession of €5 with valid ID prior to entry at the designated stile.

The above prices are pre purchase prices, applicable until midnight of the night before the game. All adult ticket prices increase by €5 on the day

Tickets are available for purchase via
and participating Centra and Supervalu Outlets (Ticketing Store Locator)

Team News

Cork: Anthony Nash; Sean O’Donoghue, Damien Cahalane, Colm Spillane; Christopher Joyce, Eoin Cadogan, Mark Coleman; Darragh Fitzgibbon, Bill Cooper; Luke Meade, Conor Lehane, Daniel Kearney; Shane Kingston, Seamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan.


June 17, 2018
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units