Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Minor Football Quarter Final – Cork 3-13 Limerick 0-6

April 14, 2012 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Rebels soar with Horgan

Cork 3-13 Limerick 0-06

By Fintan O’Toole for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Conor Horgan was the hat-trick hero as Cork moved effortlessly into the Munster MFC semi-finals with this comprehensive first round success over Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night. The Nemo Rangers player caught the eye in finding the net twice from play in the first half to help Cork into a 2-8 to 0-1 lead at the interval and then converted a penalty in the 42nd minute after substitute Aidan Moynihan had been fouled.

Horgan’s contribution underpinned Cork’s victory on a comfortable night for Ephie Fitzgerald’s managerial bow as Rebel minor boss. “It was over as a contest after a quarter of an hour,” admitted Fitzgerald. “We did rack up a good score and we had the extra touch of class up front. “I thought at times we gave away possession easily but maybe that’s just being hyper-critical.”

Aside from Horgan, Cork had other attacking stars in captain Brian O’Driscoll, Cathal Vaughan and Sean T O’Sullivan, who all kicked quality points as they built up a commanding first-half lead. With Thomas O’Rourke and Jamie Davis strong in defence, and Alan O’Donovan in control at midfield, Cork were full value for their substantial interval advantage. Limerick made a valiant effort to come back into contention in the second half with midfielder Robbie Burke landing some superb points.

However, Cork were always too strong and substitutes Ian Maguire and Moynihan both made fine impacts when introduced. While this was a routine assignment for Cork, they will face a greater challenge at the semi-final stage against a Tipperary side packed with All-Ireland winners. “We’ll be well prepared and well ready for it. Hopefully we’ll put it up to Tipperary,” said Fitzgerald.

Scorers for Cork: C Horgan 3-0 (1-0 pen), B O’Driscoll 0-4 (2f), S T O’Sullivan 0-3, A O’Donovan, C Vaughan 0-2 each, P Fitzgerald, I Maguire 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: R Burke 0-3 (1f), D O’Donovan, S Barrett, J Breen (1f) 0-1 each.

CORK: M Martin; S O’Leary, T O’Rourke, S Cronin; K Crowley, C Hyde, J Davis; P Fitzgerald, A O’Donovan; S T O’Sullivan, C Vaughan, B O’Driscoll; K McIntyre, K O’Connor, C Horgan.

Subs: I Maguire for McIntyre (half-time), A Moynihan for O’Connor (half-time), E Dennehy for Crowley (36), A Murphy for O’Leary (53), P Kelleher for Fitzgerald (58).

LIMERICK: J O’Meara; D Greaney, M O’Connor, K Meade; P White, S Cahill, S Barrett; D Condron, R Burke; S O’Dea, D Daly, R McKenna; J Frawley, D O’Donovan, E O’Donnell.

Subs: T McCarthy for McKenna (28), C O’Shea for O’Dea (28), J Breen for Frawley (35), G Bateman for O’Donnell (50), C Sheehan for O’Donovan (53).

Referee: Edmund Walsh (Kerry)


Munster MFC: Horgan hat-trick sinks Limerick

Report from the Hogan Stand web site

Cork proved much too strong for Limerick in last night’s Munster MFC first round encounter at the Gaelic Grounds.

Cork 3-13 Limerick 0-6

Managed by former Nemo Rangers boss Ephie Fitzgerald, the visitors dominated from start to finish and were already out of sight by half-time when a brace of Conor Horgan goals had them perched on a 2-8 to 0-1 lead at the break. Limerick’s solitary first half point was scored by Sean Barrett. When the Rebels were awarded a penalty 13 minutes into the second half, Horgan stepped forward to complete his hat-trick. Cork will now face All-Ireland champions Tipperary for a place in the Munster final on May 16.

Scorers – Cork: C Horgan 3-0 (1 pen), B O’Driscoll 0-4 (2f), ST O’Sullivan 0-3, A O’Donovan, C Vaughan 0-2 each, I Maguire, P Fitzgerald 0-1 each. Limerick: R Burke 0-2 (1f), S Barrett, J Breen, G Bateman, C Sheehan 0-1 each

Referee: E Walsh (Kerry)

Team News

The Limerick team v Cork is as follows –

1. James O’ Meara (Fr. Casey’s)

2. Denis Greaney (Athea)

3. Mark O’Connor (Athea)

4. Kevin Meade (St.Kieran’s)

5. Paul White (St. Mary’s/Sean Finns)

6. Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins)

7. Sean Barrett (KIlmallock)

8. David Condron (Granagh-Ballingarry)

9. Robbie Burke (Adare)

10. Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen)

11. Daniel Daly (Fr. Casey’s) (Captain)

12. Ronan McKenna (Na Piarsaigh)

13. James Frawley (Mungret)

14. Darragh O’Donovan (Oola)

15. Eoin O’Donnell (St. Mary’s/Sean Finns)


The Cork Minor Football team to play Limerick on Saturday at 7pm in the Gaelic Grounds will line out as follows:

1. Michael Martin

2. Seán O’Leary 3. Thomas O‘Rourke 4. Stephen Cronin

5. Kevin Crowley 6. Colm Hyde 7. Jamie Davis

8. Paul Fitzgerald 9. Alan O’Donovan

10. Sean T. O’Sullivan 11. Cathal Vaughan 12. Brian O’Driscoll

13. Killian McIntyre 14. Killian O’Connor 15. Conor Horgan

16. Paul Shanahan Carbery Rangers

17. Aidan Moynihan Canovee

18. Andrew Murphy St. Michael’s

19. Enda Dennehy St. Finbarr’s

20. Ian Maguire St. Finbarr’s

21. Darren Kelly Macroom

22. Peter Kelly Kilmichael

23. Dan O’Connor Eire Óg

24. Conor O’Driscoll Goleen

Captain: Brian O’Driscoll

Five of the starting fifteen played in the defeat by Dublin in last year’s All-Ireland Championship: Jamie Davis, Stephen Cronin, Brian O’Driscoll, Killian McIntyre and Cathal Vaughan.  This game is the first Championship match under the stewardship of manager Ephie Fitzgerald and his selectors.

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ed Donnelly at for more information

For the Record

Limerick Cork
2011 Championship Performance Lost to Tipperary in the first round before losing to Clare by 1-10 to 0-10 in the Semi-Final 2nd playoff at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick. Defeated Clare in both the first round and the semi-final before losing to Tipperary by 3-11 to 1-9 in the Munster Final at Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney.
Number of Munster Minor Football titles 1 29
Last Munster Minor Football Title 1956 2010
Munster Minor Football Championship Record since 2000 Played – 37
Won – 10
Lost – 24
Drawn – 3
Played – 40
Won – 25
Lost – 12
Drawn – 3
Last meeting in the Munster Minor Football Championship April 15th 2009 at Pairc Ui Rinn – (Munster First Round)
Cork 2-12 Limerick 1-6


First Round

Saturday April 14th

@ Gaelic Grounds Limerick            Limerick v Cork @ 7:00pm

@ Austin Stack Park Tralee            Kerry v Tipperary @ 7:00pm

@ Cusack Park Ennis                      Clare v Waterford @ 6:45pm

Semi-Final Play-off 1

Tuesday April 17th

Losers of Kerry v Tipperary vs. Losers of Clare v Waterford

Venue permutations

@ Clare venue                                    Kerry v Clare
(met in 2009 Semi-final at Austin Stack Park Tralee)

@ Waterford venue    Kerry v Waterford
(last meeting in 2011 First Round at Austin Stack Park Tralee)

@ Clare venue            Tipperary v Clare
(last meeting in 2010 Semi-Final 2nd playoff at Semple Stadium Thurles)

@ Waterford venue Tipperary v Waterford
(last meeting in 2009 Semi-Final 2nd playoff at Semple Stadium Thurles)

Semi-Final Play-off 2

Tuesday April 24th

Losers of Limerick v Cork vs. Winners of Semi-Final Play-off 1


Wednesday May 16th

Winners of Limerick v Cork vs. Winners of Kerry v Tipperary

Winners of Clare v Waterford vs. Winners of Semi-Final Play-off 2


Sunday July 8th


April 14, 2012
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units