Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

McGrath Cup Senior Football Quarter Final – Tipperary 4-16 Waterford IT 0-6

January 15, 2012 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Tipperary defeated WIT by 4-16 to 0-6 in the McGrath Cup Senior Football Quarter Final on Sunday in Clonmel Sportsfield.

Grogan on song as Tipp wallop Waterford IT

Tipperary 4-16 Waterford IT 0-6

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Examiner newspaper

ACE forward Barry Grogan helped himself to 3-3 at the Clonmel Sportsfield yesterday as Tipperary demolished Waterford IT by 22 points to book their place in the semi-finals of the McGrath Cup. Grogan’s introduction a week previously proved crucial as Tipp eventually saw off the challenge of Limerick IT and the Aherlow ace, who started at full-forward, took his tally to 3-7 from two outings with an impressive showing. Tipp were impressive and much more cohesivebut Waterford IT’s challenge was extremely poor and the students managed just two points from play in the entire game. Corner-forward Philip Austin helped himself to five points from play for Tipp, including four in the opening half, while Conor Sweeney bagged 0-3 as the Premier County’s starting inside line finished with a combined haul of 3-11.

Having made his senior inter-county debut a week previously, 2011 All-Ireland minor winner Michael Quinlivan came off the bench to notch 1-1 in the second half while the return of former captain Robbie Costigan was another bonus for manager John Evans. Costigan, back from a year in Australia, was solid at midfield on an afternoon when Jonathan Ryan, Niall O’Meara and David Butler were handed full senior debuts. Tipp, who haven’t won the McGrath Cup since 2003, will meet Sigerson Cup holders and Cork senior county champions UCC in next Sunday’s semi-final in Clonmel. And Evans predicted: “UCC will give us more than a tough challenge and we’ll be glad to have three weeks work underneath us. “We may have looked good at times but I thought that WIT weren’t that competitive.”

Scorers for Tipperary: B Grogan 3-3 (1f), P Austin 0-5, M Quinlivan 1-1, C Sweeney, B Mulvihill 0-3 each, B Fox 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford IT: K O’Grady 0-4f, S Murphy, C McDonnell 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: M O’Donnell; J Ryan, P Codd, A Morrissey; L Egan, T Ryan, N O’Meara; R Costigan, B Jones; B Fox, D Butler, P Acheson; C Sweeney, B Grogan, P Austin.

Subs: E Connolly for T Ryan (ht), M Quinlivan for Austin (44), D Heffernan for Costigan (47), B Mulvihill for Fox (52), J O’Callaghan for Jones (58).

WIT: B Redmond (Wexford); L Thomas (Kildare), E Walsh (Waterford), S Murphy (Laois); B Rogers (Louth), M Molloy (Wexford), J McGrath (Waterford); S Culleton (Wexford), S Prendergast (Waterford); B McGarr (Wicklow), G Ward (Waterford), C McDonnell (Kildare); K O’Grady (Wexford), S Burke (Laois), L McGrath (Tipperary).

Subs: B Thornton (Kildare) for Burke (ht), S Dalton (Meath) for Ward (44), D Doyle-Murphy (Wexford) for Thomas (58), Peter O’Hagan (Waterford) for McDonnell (69).

Referee: M Collins (Cork)

For the Record

Tipperary Waterford Institute of Technology
2011 McGrath Cup Performance Defeated UL in the Preliminary Round before losing to Waterford in the Quarter-Final Lost to Cork by 0-18 to 0-5 in the Preliminary Round at Pairc Ui Rinn
Number of McGrath Cup Senior Football titles 3 0
Last McGrath Cup Senior Football Title 2003 N/A
McGrath Cup Senior Football Record since 2000 Played – 20
Won – 9
Lost – 11
Drawn – 0
Played – 7
Won – 0
Lost – 7
Drawn – 0

McGrath Cup Senior Football 2012

Preliminary Round

Sunday January 8th

@ WIT Sportsgrounds                      IT Tralee 2-14 Waterford 0-14

@ Doonbeg                                       Clare 0-18 University of Limerick 1-8

@ Clonmel Sportsfield                     Tipperary 2-13 Limerick Institute of Technology 3-8

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)

Sunday January 15th

@ CIT Sportsgrounds                       CIT v IT Tralee                                               @ 2:00pm
@ Pairc Ui Rinn                                Cork v Clare                                                  @ 2:00pm
@ Clonmel Sportsfield                     WIT v Tipperary                                             @ 2:00pm
@ Michael Neville Park                    Limerick v UCC                                            @ 2:00pm

Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday January 22nd

CIT or IT Tralee v Cork or Clare                  @ 2:00pm

WIT or Tipperary v Limerick or UCC          @ 2:00pm

Final (Extra time)

Sunday January 29th

McGrath Cup Senior Football – Odds and Ends

Clare have contested 6 Finals since 2000, winning the title in 2000, 2002 and 2008.

Since the Third Level Colleges were allowed to take part in the McGrath Cup competition in 2005, only the Cork Institute of Technology (CIT) and UCC have qualified for the final. CIT lost the 2005 Final to Limerick by 2-10 to 1-3 while UCC lost to Kerry by 1-11 to 0-9 in the 2010 Final.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the McGrath Cup since entering in 2005 (including the 2012 preliminary round) is Won 19, Lost 40. No College team won a game in 2011.

Waterford won the first McGrath Cup title in 1981, captained by Michael Coffey. This is their only McGrath Cup title to date.

From 2000 through 2012 to date, 87 matches were played in the McGrath Cup. Limerick have won the most games in this period, a total of 15 against 9 defeats. Clare also have 15 victories since 2000 while Cork recorded 13 victories during 5 campaigns.

Since 2000, Kerry have taken part in the McGrath Cup on 4 occasions (2005, 2006, 2010 and 2011), losing just twice in 13 matches (to Tipperary in the 2005 Quarter-Final and to Cork in the 2006 Final).

The Waterford Institute of Technology have yet to win a McGrath Cup match in their 7 years taking part in the competition. IT Tralee won their first match in 2005 and lost their next 5 before defeating Waterford in the preliminary round of the 2012 competition.

McGrath Cup Senior Football Roll Of Honour

Clare (10) – 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2008

Limerick (5) – 1985, 1987, 2001, 2004, 2005

Cork (5) – 1998, 1999, 2006, 2007, 2009

Tipperary (3) – 1989, 1993, 2003

Kerry (3) – 1996, 2010, 2011

Waterford (1) – 1981

London (1) – 1988

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete Roll of Honour since the competition began in 1981 –

McGrath Cup

Presented by Joe McGrath on June 21st, 1981 for the promotion of Senior Football in Munster


January 15, 2012
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units