Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

McGrath Cup Senior Football Quarter Final – Cork IT 2-16 IT Tralee 2-5

January 15, 2012 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

CIT defeated IT Tralee by 2-16 to 2-5 in the McGrath Cup Senior Football Quarter Final on Sunday in the CIT Sportsgrounds.

Hodnett and Currantear Tralee apart

Cork IT 2-16 IT Tralee 2-5

By Denis Hurley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

CORK IT will meet Cork in the semi-final of the McGrath Cup next Sunday after overcoming IT Tralee without too much trouble at the CIT Sports Stadium yesterday. Only briefly trailing after Gary O’Driscoll’s 10th-minute goal gave Tralee a 1-1 to 0-2 lead, CIT rallied to lead by 0-9 to 1-4 at half-time and added 1-3 before the visitors opened their second-half account in the 55th minute, by which stage the outcome was well decided. Inside forwards Donal Óg Hodnett and Hugh Curran were the scorers-in-chief for CIT, Cork U21 star Hodnett finishing with a haul of 1-6 while Curran had five points to his name, four in the first half.

Further out the field there were excellent performances too. Kerry senior panellist Brian McGuire was impeccable at left half-back, augmenting his display with a fine first-half point, centre-back Steve O’Donoghue was solid alongside him and at midfield Peter Daly made his presence felt too. While Joe Scully impressed at centre-back and O’Driscoll had periods of dominance at midfield, in attack Tralee lacked a cutting edge, with Barry O’Hare their only player to score more than once. Had they built on the O’Driscoll goal, when he rose to win an Alan O’Donoghue delivery before firing home, it might have been more of a game, but CIT responded with three points in-a-row.

Then, with the game poised at 0-6 to 1-3 and 10 minutes left to half-time, Curran hit two points and McGuire also raised a white flag, though Damien Kelly did pull one back to leave two in it. After a Hodnett free and a point from Kevin Hallissey, CIT pulled seven clear as the same two players combined, Hodnett profiting from a Hallissey handpass to finish from close range. Hallissey was denied a goal himself soon after that before O’Hare scored a second for Tralee when he converted the rebound after Rory Deane’s shot hit the crossbar. That cut the deficit to five but a comeback was never a real possibility. Just to make sure, however, CIT closed out the game well, former Cork player Brian O’Regan involved from centre-forward. O’Donoghue, Hodnett and Curran all scored points and Jerry O’Connor rounded off the win when he hooked the loose ball in after Curran’s shot was saved.

Scorers for Cork IT: D Óg Hodnett 1-6 (0-3fs), H Curran 0-5, J O’Connor 1-0, S O’Donoghue, K Hallissey, B McGuire, P Daly, R O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for IT Tralee: B O’Hare 1-2 (1f), G O’Driscoll 1-0, B Poff, D Kelly, A O’Donoghue 0-1 each.

CORK IT (Cork unless stated): B Kelly (Kerry); N Galvin, M Griffin (Kerry), D O’Sullivan (Kerry); J Walsh (Kerry), S O’Donoghue, B McGuire (Kerry); P Daly, R O’Sullivan; J O’Connor, B O’Regan, D Leahy (Tipperary); K Hallissey, D Óg Hodnett, H Curran.

Subs: W O’Mahony for Leahy (57), J Dennis (Kerry) for R O’Sullivan (59), J Dineen for Hallissey (66), D Daly for O’Connor (68), J Cronin for D O’Sullivan (70).

IT TRALEE (Kerry unless stated): P O’Sullivan; E Murray (Meath), S Brosnan, D Larkin (Wexford); K Conway (Kildare), J Scully, AJ O’Connor (Cork); R Deane (Cork), G O’Driscoll; S Carroll, B O’Grady, M Brennan; A O’Donoghue, B O’Hare (Louth), B Poff.

Subs: D Kelly for Poff (26), É Flaherty for Conway (48), C O’Sullivan for Carroll (59), A Hegarty (Cork) for O’Driscoll (61), Poff for O’Donoghue (65).

Referee: R Moloney (Limerick)

For the Record

CIT IT Tralee
2011 McGrath Cup Performance Lost to Clare by 0-10 to 0-9 in the first round at Cooraclare Lost to Kerry by 1-14 to 1-13 in the Preliminary Round at Austin Stack Park Tralee
Number of McGrath Cup Senior Football titles 0 0
Last McGrath Cup Senior Football Title N/A N/A
McGrath Cup Senior Football Record since 2000 Played – 12
Won – 5
Lost – 7
Drawn – 0
Played – 9
Won – 2
Lost – 7
Drawn – 0

McGrath Cup Senior Football 2012

Preliminary Round

Sunday January 8th

@ WIT Sportsgrounds                      IT Tralee 2-14 Waterford 0-14

@ Doonbeg                                       Clare 0-18 University of Limerick 1-8

@ Clonmel Sportsfield                     Tipperary 2-13 Limerick Institute of Technology 3-8

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)

Sunday January 15th

@ CIT Sportsgrounds                       CIT v IT Tralee                                               @ 2:00pm
@ Pairc Ui Rinn                                Cork v Clare                                                  @ 2:00pm
@ Clonmel Sportsfield                     WIT v Tipperary                                             @ 2:00pm
@ Michael Neville Park                    Limerick v UCC                                            @ 2:00pm

Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday January 22nd

CIT or IT Tralee v Cork or Clare                  @ 2:00pm

WIT or Tipperary v Limerick or UCC          @ 2:00pm

Final (Extra time)

Sunday January 29th

McGrath Cup Senior Football – Odds and Ends

Clare have contested 6 Finals since 2000, winning the title in 2000, 2002 and 2008.

Since the Third Level Colleges were allowed to take part in the McGrath Cup competition in 2005, only the Cork Institute of Technology (CIT) and UCC have qualified for the final. CIT lost the 2005 Final to Limerick by 2-10 to 1-3 while UCC lost to Kerry by 1-11 to 0-9 in the 2010 Final.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the McGrath Cup since entering in 2005 (including the 2012 preliminary round) is Won 19, Lost 40. No College team won a game in 2011.

Waterford won the first McGrath Cup title in 1981, captained by Michael Coffey. This is their only McGrath Cup title to date.

From 2000 through 2012 to date, 87 matches were played in the McGrath Cup. Limerick have won the most games in this period, a total of 15 against 9 defeats. Clare also have 15 victories since 2000 while Cork recorded 13 victories during 5 campaigns.

Since 2000, Kerry have taken part in the McGrath Cup on 4 occasions (2005, 2006, 2010 and 2011), losing just twice in 13 matches (to Tipperary in the 2005 Quarter-Final and to Cork in the 2006 Final).

The Waterford Institute of Technology have yet to win a McGrath Cup match in their 7 years taking part in the competition. IT Tralee won their first match in 2005 and lost their next 5 before defeating Waterford in the preliminary round of the 2012 competition.

McGrath Cup Senior Football Roll Of Honour

Clare (10) – 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2008

Limerick (5) – 1985, 1987, 2001, 2004, 2005

Cork (5) – 1998, 1999, 2006, 2007, 2009

Tipperary (3) – 1989, 1993, 2003

Kerry (3) – 1996, 2010, 2011

Waterford (1) – 1981

London (1) – 1988

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete Roll of Honour since the competition began in 1981 –

McGrath Cup

Presented by Joe McGrath on June 21st, 1981 for the promotion of Senior Football in Munster


January 15, 2012
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units