Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

McGrath Cup Football – Kerry 3-11 Tipperary 1-3

January 8, 2017 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Kerry defeated Tipperary by 3-11 to 1-3 in Round 1 of the McGrath Cup Football competition on Sunday January 8th at Austin Stack Park Tralee.

Kerry youngsters trounce Tipp in McGrath Cup

Kerry 3-11 Tipperary 1-3

The Kerry U21 team trounced Tipperary by 14 points in the McGrath Cup in Tralee, with the visitors managing just a single point from sub Jack Kennedy in the second half, writes Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper.

Tipperary had taken the lead when corner-forward Diarmuid Foley collected a Philip Austin through ball 10 minutes in and drilled a low effort beyond Kerry ‘keeper Shane Ryan.

Kerry, though, were noticeably sharper and replied with three on the bounce from Conor Geaney (free), Barry O’Sullivan and impressive corner-back Tom O’Sullivan to return in front. Centre-forward Sean O’Shea was another to frustrate a sluggish looking Tipperary defence.

Kevin Fahey levelled matters at 1-1 to 0-4, but the Kingdom assumed control thereafter and hit a further 1-4 uninterrupted.

Matthew O’Sullivan was responsible for their opening goal, the towering full-forward drawing the foul from Paddy Codd as Daniel O’Brien’s delivery floated into the Tipperary square. Referee Conor Lane spread his arms wide, with Cathal Bambury dispatching the penalty beyond Evan Comerford.

O’Sullivan turned provider for their two second-half majors, palming the ball on the first instance and then punching Ivan Parker’s delivery to the net two minutes from time.

Scorers for Kerry: M O’Sullivan (2-0); C Bambury (1-1, 1-0 pen); S O’Shea (0-3, 0-1 free 0-1 ’45); C Geaney (0-1 free), T O’Sullivan (0-2 each); B O’Sullivan, M Flaherty, C Coffey (0-1 each).

Scorers for Tipperary: D Foley (1-0); K Fahey (0-2); J Kennedy (0-1),

Kerry: S Ryan; TL O’Sullivan, J Foley, T O’Sullivan; B Ó Beaglaoich, A Barry, D O’Brien; B O’Sullivan, B Ó Seanacháin; B Barrett, S O’Shea, L O’Donoghue; C Geaney, M O’Sullivan, C Bambury
Subs: M Flaherty for L O’Donoghue (HT); B Sugrue for O’Brien (57); L Carey for Geaney (59); L Kearney for B O’Sullivan, I Parker for Bambury (both 64); C Coffey for T O’Sullivan (68)

Tipperary: E Comerford; C O’Shaughnessy, P Codd, R Kiely; E Moloney, J Feehan, K Fahey; L Casey, M Dunne; J Keane, L Treacy, B Fox; J Lonergan, D Foley, L Boland
Subs: P Austin for O’Shaughnessy (seven mins, inj); A Moloney for Dunne (29); J Kennedy for Lonergan, C Sweeney for Treacy (both HT); J Hennessy for Codd (49, inj); C Stapleton for Casey (59).

Referee: C Lane (Cork)

Match Preview

Team News

The Tipperary Senior Football team to play Kerry in Round 1 of the McGrath Cup Football competition on tomorrow Sunday January 8th at 2pm in Austin Stack Park Tralee has been announced by manager Liam Kearns and lines out as follows;

1. Ciarán Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)
2. Joseph Hennessy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
5. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)
6. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
7. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
8. Liam Casey (Cahir)
9. Martin Dunne (Capt.) (Moyle Rovers)
10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
11. Liam Treacy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
13. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)
14. Colm Stapleton (Upperchurch-Drombane)
15. Diarmuid Foley (Moyle Rovers)

16. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
17. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
18. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
19. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
20. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
21. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers)
22. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
23. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
24. David Butler (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams)
25. Cian Hennessy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
26. Aidan McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

Kerry team to play Tipperary

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)
2. Tom Leo O’Sullivan (Dingle)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)
8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
9. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)
10. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Lee O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
13. Conor Geaney (Dingle)
14. Matthew O’Sullivan (St Michaels-Foilmore)
15. Cathal Bambury (Dingle)
16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Brian Sugrue (Renard)
18. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
19. Liam Kearney (Spa)
20. Liam Carey (Beaufort)
21. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys)
22. Ivan Parker (Churchill)
23. Robert Wharton (Renard)
24. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla)
25. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
26. Michael Foley (Spa)


January 8, 2017
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units