Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Frewen Cup Football Semi-Final – St Flannans Ennis 1-14 De La Salle Macroom 1-13

February 12, 2016

De La Salle Macroom narrowly defeated in Frewen Cup semi final

St Flannan’s (Ennis) 1-14 De La Salle (Macroom) 1-13

Report by Paddy Ryan

St Flannan’s College Ennis had a close one point win over De La Salle Macroom in the Munster Under 16.5 AFC (Frewen Cup) semi final at Rathkeale on Friday. The game was played in cold but splendid conditions on the new astroturf pitch. Macroom started very well with early points by Dylan Foley, Jack Kelleher and Liam O’Sullivan giving them a 3 point lead after just 7 minutes. St Flannan’s improved greatly getting on top in the vital half backline. They were on level terms by the 11th minute with points by Conor Brennock and Philip Talty (2). Talty edged the Clare side in front with a very good point. Eoin Thynne pointed a free.

De La Salle had a pointed free by Liam O’Sullivan with Darragh O’Shea with a very good point restoring the winners two point lead 0-6 to 0-4. St Flannan’s struck a purple patch and were double scores ahead by the 25th minute 0-10 to 0-5. De La Salle finished the half well with Liam O’Sullivan and Jack Kelleher adding a point each that left just 3 points between them at the break 0-10 to 0-7.

De La Salle did well again on the restart. They had the lead down to a point by the 39th minute. Stephen Talty goaled for St Flannan’s in off the post after a four man attack. Philip Talty added another point 1-12 to 0-10. De La Salle made a great late comeback, they had a goal by Greg Fitton after a 3 man movement. Jack Kelleher pointed a free 1-12 to 1-11. De La Salle missed a good scoring chance from a free and substitute Conor O’Leary finished with a very good point from a tight angle.

Scorers for St. Flannan’s: Philip Talty 0-8(0-2f) Stephen Talty 1-0, Eoin Thynne 0-2(0-1f) Gearoid Cahill 0-2f. Darragh O’Shea 0-1, Conor Brennock 0-1.

De La Salle: Liam O’Sullivan 0-5 (0-2f) Jack Kelleher 0-4(0-3f) Greg Fitton 1-1, Dylan Foley 0-2, Conor O’Leary 0-1.

ST FLANNAN’S ENNIS : Tom O’Brien (Doora-Barefield) Darragh Hickey (The Banner) John Finucane (Kilmihil) Liam McGrath (Corofin) Ikem Ugwuere (Eire Og) Darragh O’Shea (Doora-Barefield) Gearoid Collins (Eire Og) Ronan Cahill (Kilmaley) Ian Molloy (The Banner) Ronan Collins (do) Gearoid Cahill (Corofin) Eoin Thynne (Doora-Barefield) Philip Talty (Eire Og) Niall Galvin (Clarecastle) Conor Brennock (Doora-Barefield)
Subs : Stephen Talty (Eire Og) for Ronan Collins, Kevin Keane (Corofin) for Niall Galvin.

DE LA SALLE MACROOM : Tiernan Quinn (Clondroichead) Cian Twomey (Macroom) Luke O’Leary (Aghinagh) Eddie Duggan (Clondroichead) Sean McMahon (Macroom) Tomas Collins (Kilmurry) Mark Drummey (do) Liam O’Sullivan (do) James O’Mullane (do) Dylan Foley (Eire Og) Alan McCarthy (Kilmichael) Sean Desmond (Clondroichead) Jack Kelleher (Canovee) Josh Pickering (Kilmurry) Greg Fitton (do)
Subs : Josh Delaney (Kilmichael) for Josh Pickering, Leo Healy (Kilmurry) for Mark Drummey, Conor O’Leary (Iveleary) for Dylan Foley.

Referee : Richard Moloney (Bruree)


February 12, 2016

GAA Units