Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Minor Hurling Semi-Final – Tipperary 1-15 Clare 1-11

June 25, 2015 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tipperary defeated Clare by 1-15 to 1-11 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Thursday June 25th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Munster MHC: Tipperary honour Doyle memory

Electric Ireland Munster MHC Semi-Final: Tipperary 1-15 Clare 1-11

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium, Thurles for

On the day the late Jimmy Doyle was laid to rest, the minor hurlers of Tipperary honoured his memory with a four-point victory over Clare in this evening’s Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling semi-final.

The Premier County held off a spirited second half fightback from Clare to book a final meeting with Limerick or Cork at Semple Stadium on July 12.

Tipp were ten points clear in the second half but the visitors came roaring back to cut the deficit to just three points late on, Martin Daly’s goal helping them along the way.

But Tipp had enough of a platform built up to squeeze through to a first provincial decider in this grade since 2012. The scoring contributions of goalscorer Tommy Nolan, Lyndon Fairbrother and David Gleeson were crucial on the night for Tipp, who led by 1-8 to 0-4 at half-time.

But Clare, with senior team manager Davy Fitzgerald’s son Colm in their ranks, hit 12 wides on the night, including eight in the first half as they bowed out. Tipp also lost the services of captain and dual star Stephen Quirke to a knee injury, with the Moyle Rovers star stretchered off in the 18th minute.
Scorers for Tipperary: T Nolan 1-1, L Fairbrother 0-5 (4f), D Gleeson 0-4, D Carey 0-2, A Tynan, G Ryan & M Connors 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: A Shanagher 0-5 (4f, 1 65), M Daly 1-0, C Fitzgerald (1f, 1 sl), J Cunningham & A Kennedy 0-2 each.

TIPPERARY: P Hayes; E Heffernan, E Moloney, J Quigley; J Skehan, B McGrath, K Hassett; D Carey, A Tynan; L McCutcheon, S Quirke, G Ryan; T Nolan, D Gleeson, L Fairbrother. Subs: T Lowry for Quirke (inj, 18), S Neville for McCutcheon (half-time), R Mulrooney for Ryan (45), M Connors for Lowry (55), C Darcy for Carey (59).

CLARE: J Loughnane; D Power, S Phelan, R Monahan; D Chaplin, N Fox, C Noonan; C Fitzgerald, J Cunningham; J McCarthy, M O’Shea, A Shanagher; C O’Halloran, M Daly, P O’Loughlin. Subs: A Kennedy for O’Shea (half-time), P Lillis for Monahan (38), D Devanney for Chaplin (51), P McNamara for O’Halloran (58), S Kennedy for Noonan (59).

Referee: J Larkin (Cork)

Fixture Details

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship S/Final
Thursday 25th June 2015 in Semple Stadium, Thurles @ 19:30
Tiobraid Árann v An Clár
Extra Time if Necessary i.e 2 x 10 minute periods only
Referee: Joe Larkin (Corcaigh)

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Clare in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final in Semple Stadium, Thurles, this Thursday, June 25th, at 7.30pm has been announced by manager Liam Cahill. It shows 3 changes in attack from their quarter final win over Waterford back on the 8th of April. In come Garry Ryan, Tommy Nolan and Lyndon Fairbrother as the Tipperary management set out their stall to redress last year’s defeat to the same opposition.

The team lines out as follows – Padraic Hayes (Ballingarry), Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore), Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch), James Quigley (Kildangan), Jack Skehan (Holycross Ballycahill), Brian McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Daragh Peters (Kilruane McDonaghs), Daragh Carey (Templederry Kenyons), Alan Tynan (Roscrea), Liam McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons), Stephen Quirke Capt. ( Moyle Rovers), Garry Ryan (Borrisokane), Tommy Nolan (Drom & Inch), David Gleeson (Ballinahinch), Lyndon Fairbrother (J.K. Brackens)

1: Jason Loughnane (Sixmilebridge)
2: Declan Power (Smith O’Briens)
3: Sean Phelan (Broadford)
4: Ronan Monahan (Tubber)
5: Darren Chaplin (Broadford)
6: Nathan Fox (Parteen)
7: Cathal Noonan (Killanena)
8: Colm Fitzgerald (Sixmilebridge)
9: Jack Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
10: Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
11: Mikey O’Shea (Smith O’Briens)
12: Jason McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona)
13: Páraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara)
14: Martin Daly (Feakle)
15: Conor O’Halloran (Éire Óg).

Match Programme



June 25, 2015
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units