Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster MHC Play Off – Limerick 0-18 Waterford 1-10

May 6, 2015 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Limerick defeated Waterford by 0-18 to 1-10 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Play Off on Wednesday May 6th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Munster MHC: Limerick see off Waterford

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Play-Off: Limerick 0-18 Waterford 1-10

Goalkeeper and captain Eoghan McNamara led by example in Thurles this evening as champions Limerick rallied from six points down to see off Waterford in this Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship play-off. It was heartbreak for Na Déise against Limerick in this competition again, as the Shannonsiders won the last two Munster final meetings between the counties.

McNamara hit 0-5 from placed balls and Peter Casey went one point better as the Shannonsiders set up a semi-final clash with Cork on July 1. With home advantage for that one at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick will feel confident of reversing their provincial quarter-final defeat against the Rebels at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Despite some goalkeeping heroics from Billy Nolan, Waterford bow out of the championship but they were 1-7 to 0-4 clear approaching half-time, before Limerick hit the final three scores of the first half. Limerick surged three points clear with six unanswered scores after the resumption before Waterford finally ended a 26-minute barren period on the scoreboard with a 49th minute free from Jack Prendergast.

But Limerick comfortably held out for the win as McNamara denied Eddie Meaney ten minutes from time with a fine save, before Brian Ryan pointed at the other end for the winners seconds later. That pivotal score put Limerick 0-14 to 1-8 clear and on their way to victory in front of 1,267 spectators in Thurles.
Scorers for Limerick: P Casey 0-6 (4f), E McNamara 0-5 (3 65s, 2f), B Ryan 0-2, W O’Meara, K Hayes, S Flanagan, B Murphy & D Carroll 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: A O’Sullivan 1-1, J Prendergast 0-3 (2f), A Molumby 0-2, B Nolan (f) C Lyons, G Waters & P Hogan 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: E McNamara; T Hayes, C McSweeney, J O’Grady; C Byrnes, P O’Loughlin, C Houlihan; T Grimes, W O’Meara; K Hayes, S Flanagan, B Ryan; P Casey, B Murphy, D Carroll. Subs: M Mackey for O’Meara (47), C O’Connor for Houlihan (52), C Boylan for Hayes (56), E Ryan for Grimes (60), P Ahern for O’Grady (60+4).

WATERFORD: B Nolan; D McGrath, C Prunty, D Lynch; C Lyons, J Henley, C Dunphy; A Molumby, D Lyons; G Waters, JP Lucey, E Meaney; A O’Sullivan, J Prendergast, P Hogan. Subs: J Beecher for McGrath (37), M Daykin for Waters (46), J Kennedy for Lucey (49), C Barry for Meaney (60+1)

Referee: P Kelly (Tipperary)
Report: Jackie Cahill for

Fixture Details

Limerick v Waterford
Luimneach v Portláirge
Venue: Semple Stadium, Thurles 7pm
Referee: Philip Kelly (Tiobraid Árann)
Extra time if necessary

Ticket Information

Adults: €10
Students/OAP’s must buy a full price Adult ticket and receive concession at the designated turnstile prior to entry
Juveniles do not require a ticket.

Both stands will be open for this fixture.

Click here to buy tickets online in advance

Team News

The Limerick minor hurling management has announced their team and panel for this Wednesday evening clash with Waterford in Thurles a number of changes were made since their defeat of Cork in the quarter final.

The Limerick minor hurling team and panel is as follows 1,Eoghan McNamama (Captain)(Doon), 2, Thomas Hayes (Doon), 3, Conor McSweeney (South Liberties), 4, Jack O Grady (Knockainey), 5, Conor Byrnes (Murroe Boher), 6, Paddy O Loughlin (Kilmallock), 7, Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh), 8, Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), 9, Willie O Meara (Askeaton), 10, Kyle Hayes (Kildimo Pallaskenry), 11, Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh Castlemahon), 12, Brian Ryan (South Liberties), 13, Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), 14, Barry Murphy (Doon) & 15, Darragh Carroll (Kilteely Dromkeen).
Subs: 16, Adam O Brien (Ahane), 17, Ciaran O Connor (Kilmallock,), 18, Colum Carroll (Ahane), 19, Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 20, Mickey Mackey (Adare), 21, Eoin Ryan (Adare), 22, Paudie Ahern (Kileedy), 23, Michael Bourke (Garryspillane) & 24, Darren Golden (Monaleen)

Waterford Minor Hurling Team to play limerick on Wednesday evening in Thurles.

1. Billy Nolan Roanmore
2. Darragh Lynch Passage
3. Conor Prunty Abbeyside
4. Darragh McGrath Abbeyside
5. Jordan Henley Tallow
6. Darragh Lyons Dungarvan
7. Cormac Dunphy Ballyduff Lower
8. Calum Lyons Ballyduff Lower
9. J.P. Lucey Shamrocks
10. Glenn Waters Dungarvan
11. Andy Molumby Cappoquin
12. Eddie Meaney De La Salle
13. Aaron O’Sullivan Cappquin
14. Jack Prendergast Lismore
15. Peter Hogan Ballygunner



May 6, 2015
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

GAA Units