Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship – Limerick 1-16 Waterford 0-9

April 28, 2022 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Limerick defeated Waterford by 1-16 to 0-9 in Round 3 of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship on Thursday April 28th at Lemybrien.

Early bird Walsh fires Limerick into final

Report by Tomas McCarthy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster MFC Limerick 1-16 Waterford 0-9

A first-minute strike from Luke Walsh helped Limerick into the Phase 1 final of the Munster Minor Football Championship.

The Shannonsiders led from pillar to post in the Leamybrien sunshine as seven different players got on the scoresheet. Walsh led the way with 1-2 while Stephen Young, Diarmuid Hynes, Tommy Ryan and Bobby Smith also did damage up front. Aidan O’Shea was a towering figure at midfield while wing back Calum Boyle darted forward at every opportunity.

Waterford suffered their third loss of the campaign. Midfielder Adam Murray was their standout performer.

The visitors got off to a lightning start as O’Shea burst through the centre from the throw in and Walsh crashed the ball to the net with just 13 seconds on the stopwatch. Young then hit the first of his four first half efforts. Tommy Ryan smashed a shot off the crossbar in the third minute. Five of the six Limerick forwards registered from play by the break as they led 1-10 to 0-5.

Billy Byrne got Waterford’s best score of the half with the outside of his right boot from 40 metres. Jack Power, Cormac McGrath, Kyle Moloney and Adam Murray also raised white flags.

Limerick notched four unanswered points in the third quarter including two from O’Shea. Corner back Shane O’Sullivan saw a ball cleared off the line before he lashed over. Moloney, Murray, Byrne and Cathal Sweeney struck consolation points for the hosts.

Limerick will face Tipperary in the Phase 1 final next Thursday.

Scorers for Limerick: L Walsh 1-2 (1 mark), S Young 0-4 (2fs), D Hynes 0-3, A O’Shea, T Ryan, B Smith 0-2 each, S O’Sullivan 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: A Murray, K Moloney, B Byrne 0-2 each, C McGrath (mark), J Power, C Sweeney (f) 0-1 each.

Limerick: J Foley; E Browne, C Mangan, S O’Sullivan; C Boyle, C Harnett, P Downey; A O’Shea, T Meaney; D Hynes, T Ryan, M Kilbridge; L Walsh, S Young, B Smith.
Subs: B Ryan for Meaney (43), S Walsh for Downey (43), J Young for Smith (48), T Lloyd for S Young (51), A Considine for Ryan (56).

Waterford: S Burns; D O’Neill, S Wall, D Murphy; T Leane, S Power, O Buck; B Lombard, A Murray; K Moloney, B Byrne, C McGrath; K Flynn, C Sweeney, J Power.
Subs: T Gardner for O’Neill (40), B Curran for McGrath (48), D Jacob for Flynn (50), B Boland for Leane (52), S Flavin for Moloney (56).

Referee: J O’Regan (Cork)

Ticket Information

Tickets for this game must be purchased in advance via participating Centra and Supervalu outlets or via Ticketmaster.

Click here to buy tickets

General Admission – €10
Under 16s Free

Where to Buy Tickets

Live Streaming

This game will be live streamed by Munster GAA

Click here to view Live Streaming of the game for 8 euro

Team News

LIMERICK: Jake Foley (Mungret St Pauls); Ethan Browne (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Cathal Mangan (Croom), Shane O’Sullivan (Kildmo-Pallaskenry); Calum Boyle (Fr Caseys), Cian Harnett (Fr Caseys), Paddy Downey (Oola); Aidan O’Shea (Cappagh); Micheal Keating (Adare); Diarmuid Hynes (Mungret St Pauls), Tommy Ryan (Dromcologher-Broadford), Bobby Smith (Ballybrown); Luke Walsh (Mungret St Pauls), Stephen Young (Cappagh), Michael Kilbridge (Fr Caseys)
Subs: Conor Dowling (Castletown-Ballyagran), Tiernan Meaney (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Jamie Young (Cappagh), Senan Walsh (St Senans), John Fitzgerald (Cappagh), Tom Lloyd (Mungret St Pauls), Aaron Considine (Claughaun), Bailey Ryan (Galbally), Evan Curry (Athea).


April 28, 2022
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm



GAA Units