Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship – Tipperary 1-15 Limerick 1-8

April 14, 2022 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Limerick by 1-15 to 1-8 in Round 1 of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship on Thursday April 14th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Fionn Fitzgerald goal seals win for Tipp over Limerick

Report by Michael Dundon for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster Minor Football Championship

Tipperary 1-15 Limerick 1-8

A 57th minute goal by sub Fionn Fitzgerald set the seal on a deserved win for Tipperary over Limerick in the opening round of the Munster minor football championship at Semple Stadium, Thurles, last evening.

A lively opening period saw the sides level after 20 minutes (0-4 each) but Tipperary finished the half strongly. Points from Conall Grogan, Joe Higgins, Eanna Ormond and Paddy O Keeffe pushed them three clear of Limerick at the interval (0-8 to 0-5), Limerick having a point from Stephen Young.

A Bobby Smith goal for Limerick after 39 minutes followed by a Diarmuid Hynes point levelled the game going into the last quarter (1-7 to 0-10) but Tipperary quickly reasserted themselves with three points before Fitzgerald pounced for a Tipperary goal in the 57th minute after Limerick lost possession in their own half.

There was no way back for Limerick who next face Clare in a must-win game to keep their championship hopes alive. Tipperary travel to Waterford next week hoping for a win that will secure their place in the knock-out stages of the competition.

Tipp’s top performers were Daithi Hogan, Charlie King, Ciaran Byrne, Paddy O Keeffe and sub Fionn Fitzgerald. For Limerick, Aidan O Shea, Bailey Ryan, Paddy Downey and Cian Harnett did well.

Tipperary scorers: C Grogan(0-8,8fs), F Fitzgerald(1-0), P O Keeffe(0-2), E Ormond, D Hogan, J Higgins, B Carey, T O Connor(0-1 each).

Limerick scorers: B Smith(1-1), S Young(0-4,3fs), D Hynes(0-2,1f), M Kilbridge(0-1).

Tipperary: R McGrath; A McSherry, C Byrne, J Bergin; E O Connell, C King, T Charles; J Higgins, P O Keeffe; T O Connor, E Ormond, B Carey; C Grogan, D Hogan, D Fogarty.
Subs: F Fitzgerald for Fogarty (h/t), C English for Ormond (48mins), D Landers for O Connor (56mins), O Shelley for O Keeffe (59mins) C Grace for Carey (62mins).

Limerick: J Foley; S O Sullivan, C Mangan, E Browne; P Downey, C Harnett, C Boyle; A O Shea, M Keating; B Ryan, T Ryan, B Smith; D Hynes, S Young, M Kilbridge.
Subs: L Walsh for B Ryan (37mins), S Walsh for Boyle (49mins), J Young for Keating (52mins), T Lloyd for Smith (54mins).

Referee: E Morrissey (Waterford).

Ticket Information

General Admission – €10
Under 16s Free

Click here to buy tickets

Live Streaming

This game will be live streamed by Munster GAA.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for Tipperary v Limerick for 8 euro

Match Programme

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the match programme for 2 euro.


April 14, 2022
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles