Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Minor Football Semi-Final – Kerry 1-13 Clare 1-6

May 11, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Kerry defeated Clare by 1-13 to 1-6 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final on Wednesday May 11th at Miltown-Malbay.

Kerry ease into fifth Munster minor final in a row

Kerry 1-13 Clare 1-6

Report from the Irish Examiner newspaper

Kerry cruised into a fifth consecutive Munster minor football decider following this emphatic seven-point win over Clare this evening, writes Eoghan Cormican. Ahead by four at the break, Kerry slowly killed off the home challenge with a string of second-half points.

Sub David Shaw and David Clifford moved Peter Keane’s side 1-9 to 1-3 in front early in the second period and although a fine Padraig Kelly effort interrupted their momentum, albeit briefly, three on the bounce from Seán O’Shea (0-2) and Mike Breen ended this game a contest turning the bend for home.

Kerry’s Mike Breen and Clare’s Daniel O’Brien in action during the Minor Football Championship semi-final at Milltown Malbay. Picture: Eamon Ward Kerry’s position hadn’t been as comfortable at the interval, their lead having been eroded by a Joseph McGann goal on 25 minutes. A fine Padraig Kelly free in the subsequent action had left the scoreboard reading 1-5 to 1-3, scarcely believable in the context of Kerry’s dominance in the opening period.

The visitors had received the ideal start when Brian Friel capitalised on a mistake by Clare ‘keeper Mark Lillis to fist to the net after just three minutes. A David Clifford free thereafter and Kerry enjoyed a 1-2 to 0-0 cushion. By the 17th minute, their lead stood at 1-5 to 0-1, Clifford and captain Seán O’ Shea causing headache after headache for the Clare rearguard. At the other end, Clare full-forward Joseph McGann looked particularly lively each time he got onto possession, but the decision of the Banner management to employ a sweeper meant he often found himself outnumbered by four green shirts when fed the ball.

Scorers for Kerry: D Clifford (0-4, 0-2 frees); S O’Shea (0-4, 0-1 free); B Friel (1-0); D Shaw (0-2); M Breen, M Ryan, F O’Brien (0-1 each).

Scorers for Clare: P Kelly (0-4, 0-3 frees); J McGann (1-0); C O’Donoghue, D Bohannon (0-1 each).

Kerry: B Courtney (Dr Crokes); M Reidy (Ballymacelligott), N Collins (Listowel Emmets), M Potts (Dr Crokes); D Naughton (Dr Crokes), G O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh na Dromoda) M Foley (Ballydonoghue); M Breen (Beaufort), M Ryan (Rathmore); D Moynihan (Spa), S O’Shea (Kenmare), D O’Connor (Na Gaeil); B Friel (Rathmore), D Clifford (Fossa), F O’Brien (Austin Stacks)
Subs: B Sweeney (Listowel Emmets) for O’Connor (HT); D Shaw (Dr Crokes) for O’Brien (HT); C Teehan (Glenbeigh Glencar) for Naughton (49); T O’Connor (Ballymacelligott) for Ryan (56, inj); D Fitzgerald (Rathmore) for Friel (60); K Dwyer (St Pat’s Blennerville) for Reidy (60).

Clare: M Lillis (Cooraclare); P Collins (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), J Culligan (Ballyvaughan), D O’Loughlin (Corofin); R Danaher (St Breckans Lisdoonvarna), J Hannon (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), A Shannon (Kilmurry Ibrickane); D Bohannon (Shannon Gaels), P Kelly (St Breckans Lisdoonvarna); S Rouine (Ennistymon), D Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane), R O’Doherty (Ennistymon); T Connellan (Éire Óg), J McGann (St Breckans Lisdoonvarna), C O’Donoghue (Cooracalre)
Subs: C Lynch (Clondegad) for O’Doherty (HT); T Hannon (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield) for Shannon (45 mins); D Griffin (Éire Óg) for Rouine (50); G Cooney (Éire Óg) for Coughlan (60, bc); C O’Loughlin (Corofin) for O’Donoghue (60).

Referee: J Ryan (Cork).

Fixture Details

MFC Semi-Final:
Date: Wednesday 11th May
Teams: Ciarraí v An Clár
Time: 7.00pm
Extra Time if necessary: 2 x 10 minute periods only
Venue: Miltown Malbay
Referee: John Ryan (Cork)

Ticket Information
Adult General Admission: €10.00
Student/OAP: Receive €5 Concession on match day on full price ADULT tickets at the designated stile with valid id
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): Free of Charge

Team News

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Clare in the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship Semi Final in Milltown-Malbay on Wednesday next shows two changes in personnel from the side that defeated Waterford in Round 1; Last year’s goalkeeper, Billy Courtney, replaces Seán Ó Lúing in goal and Michael Potts of Dr Crokes starts in the half back line in place of his clubmate David Naughton.

The team, captained by Seán O’Shea of Kenmare is as follows:
1. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
2. Graham O’Sullivan Dromid Pearses
3. Niall Collins Listowel Emmets
4. Micheál Reidy Ballymacelligott
5. Michael Potts Dr. Crokes
6. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
7. Micheal Foley Ballydonoghue
8. Mike Breen Beaufort
9. Mark Ryan Rathmore
10. Dara Moynihan Spa
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Diarmuid O’Connor Na Gaeil
13. Brian Friel Rathmore
14. David Clifford Fossa
15. Ferdia O’Brien Austin Stacks
Fir Ionaid
16. Sean Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
17. David Naughton Dr. Crokes
18. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
19. David Shaw Dr. Crokes
20. Tomás O’Connor Ballymacelligott
21. Kieran Dwyer St. Pats
22. Caolim Teahan Glenbeigh-Glencar
23. Dean Fitzgerald Rathmore
24. Stefan Okunbar Na Gaeil

Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)
Treanalaí: Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy
Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Liaison Officer: Christy Killeen

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
Fionán Mackessy Ardfert
Darren Casey St. Mary’s
Karl Mullins Kerins O’Rahillys
Niall O’Donoghue Firies
Cormac Leane Milltown Castlemaine
Mikey O’Boyle Dingle
Johnny O’Sullivan Beale
Ciaran O’Connor Gneeveguilla

Rehabbing from Injury
Cormac Linnane Beale
Daragh Sugrue Tuosist

The team contains two of the starting fifteen from last year’s All Ireland final win over Tipperary – Billy Courtney and Sean O’Shea. Three subs who played in that final – Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan also make the starting fifteen while Bryan Sweeney who also played in last year’s final, is included among the subs. Five of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning team are included, Daniel O’Brien, Michael Potts, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford.

Clare (MFC v Kerry): Mark Lillis; Peter Collins, Jonah Culligan, Damien O’Loughlin; Jack Hannon, Andrew Shannon, Rowan Danaher; Darragh Bohannon, Padraig Kelly; Ross O’Doherty, Ciaran O’Donoghue, Dermot Coughlan; Sean Rouine, Joseph McGann, Gavin Cooney.



May 11, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units