Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Minor Football Semi-Final – Cork 1-19 Limerick 0-6

May 12, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cork defeated Limerick by 1-19 to 0-6 in the Semi-Final of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship on Thursday May 12th at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Cork secures place in Munster MFC final

Report from the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork secured comfortable passage to the Munster MFC final courtesy of this emphatic 16-point dismissal of Limerick this evening, writes Eoghan Cormican. The game as a contest was done and dusted by half-time, the home outfit enjoying an unassailable 0-12 to 0-2 lead.

Limerick midfielder Josh Ryan put the visitors in front inside two minutes, but Limerick were dealt a significant blow with the black carding of Captain Diarmaid Kelly after eight minutes for a late tackle. Cork had moved 0-2 to 0-1 in front by this juncture and kicked the next eight scores to effectively kill off the challenge of Jerry O’Sullivan’s youngsters.

Cathal Maguire, Damien Gore (0-2), Mark Buckley (0-2), Colm O’Callaghan (0-2) and Tadhg Corkery were on the mark for Brian Herlihy’s side during this ultra-productive spell and Cork sailed further into distance early in the second period as Sean O’Sullivan, after being set-up Shane O’Driscoll, drilled a low effort into the bottom left corner for the opening goal of the evening.

The fixture fizzled out thereafter, with Cork continuing to heap misery on their opponents through Damien Gore, Cathal O’Mahony and Liam O’Donovan.

Scorers for Cork: D Gore (0-7, 0-5 frees); M Buckley (0-3); C Maguire, C O’Callaghan (0-2 each); S O’Sullivan (1-0); T Corkery, C O’Mahony, S Minihane, S Ryan, L O’Donovan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Limerick: A Barrett, C O’Grady (0-2 each); W O’Meara (0-1 free), J Ryan (0-1 each).

Cork: M White (Clonakilty); L Finn (Mitchelstown), A McCarthy (St Finbarr’s), L O’Donovan (Clonakilty); T Corkery (Cill na Martra), N Walsh (Douglas), R O’Driscoll (Garnish); C Foley (Western Gaels/Kilmichael), S Minihane (Ilen Rovers); S O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown), C O’Callaghan (Eire Og), C Maguire (Castlehaven); D Gore (Kilmacabea), M Buckley (Sam Maguires/Dohenys), S O’Driscoll (Glanmore).
Subs: S Ryan (Ballinascarthy) for Foley, K O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) for Buckley (both 40 mins); C O’Mahony (Mitchelstown) for Maguire (44); A Browne (Trinity Gaels) for McCarthy (44); D Moynihan (Sliabh Luachra) for O’Sullivan (47); G O’Donoghue (Ballincollig) for Minihane (54)

Limerick: A Murphy (Fr Casey’s); G Brennan (Claughaun), F Murphy (Kilteely/Dromkeen), D Enright (Monaleen); S Hurley (Newcastlewest), A Kearns (St Senans), O Collins (Adare); J Ryan (Oola), D Kelly (Newcastlewest); A Storan (Mungret/St Paul’s), C McSweeney (Gerald Griffins), A Barrett (Killmallock); E O’Mahony (Ballylanders), W O’Meara (Ballysteen), J Ryan (Athea)
Subs: D Ranahan (Ballysteen) for Kelly (nine mins, bc); C O’Grady (Hospital-Herbertstown) for O’Mahony (38); L Cardy (Adare) for Storan (44); E Carew (Monaleen) for Hurley (49); D Corrigan (Kildimo Pallaskenry) for Kearns (56); J Kelly (Monaleen) for Brennan (56).

Referee: A Kissane (Waterford).

Fixture Details

MFC Semi-Final:
Date: Thursday 12th May
Teams: Corcaigh v Luimneach
Time: 7.00pm
Extra Time if necessary: 2 x 10 minute periods only
Venue: Páirc Uí Rinn
Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford)

Ticket Information
Adult General Admission: €10.00
Student/OAP: Receive €5 Concession on match day on full price ADULT tickets at the designated stile with valid id
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): Free of Charge

Click to purchase tickets in advance

Team News

The Cork team to play Limerick in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final has been announced as follows

Cork Team
1. Mark White (Clonakilty)
2. Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown)
3. Alan Mc Carthy (St Finbarrs)
4. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty) Vice Captain
5. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)
6. Nathan Walsh (Douglas) Captain
7. Rory O’Driscoll (Garnish)
8. Cathal Foley (WesternGaels/Kilmichael)
9. Sean Minihane (Ilen Rovers)
10. Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown)
11. Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Og)
12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)
13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
14. Mark Buckley (Sam Maguires/Dohenys)
15. Shane O’Driscoll (Glanmire)
16. Kevin Mc Mahon (Kilshannig)
17. Aidan Browne (Trinity Gaels/Newmarket)
18. Dylan Scannell (Ahan Gaels/St. Marys)
19. Jack McCarthy (Carrigaline)
20. Gearoid O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)
21. Sean Ryan (Ballinascarthy)
22. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
23. Cathal O Mahony (Mitchelstown)
24. Darragh Moynihan (Sliabh Luachra/Ballydesmond)

The Limerick minor football manager Jerry O Sullivan and his selectors John Clifford and Gerry Phillips has released their match day team and panel for this Thursday Munster minor football championship Semi Final against Cork in Pairc na Riann at 7pm.

The Limerick minor football team and panel that was released is as follows 1. Aaron Murphy (Fr Casey’s), 2. Gearoid Brennan (Claughaun), 3. Fionn Murphy (Kilteely/Dromkeen), 4. Daniel Enright (Monaleen) 5. Seamus Hurley (Newcastlewest), 6. Adam Kearns (St Senans), 7. Oran Collins (Adare), 8. Josh Ryan (Oola), 9. Diarmaid Kelly (Newcastlewest)(Captain), 10. Jason Kiely (Claughaun), 11. Colm McSweeney (Gearld Griffins), 12. Adam Storan (Mungret/St Pauls), 13. Eoin O Mahoney (Ballylanders), 14. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock), 15. James Ryan (Athea).

16. William O Mahony (Oola), 17. Eoin Carew (Monaleen), 18. James Kelly (Monaleen), 19. Darragh Ranahan (Ballysteen), 20. Luke Cardy (Adare), 21. Sean Ryan (Athea), 22. Conor O Grady (Hospital/Herbertstown), 23. Niall Loughran (Monaleen), 24. William O Meara (Ballysteen).



May 12, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units