Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster MFC Play Off 1 – Limerick 2-14 Waterford 3-10

April 22, 2015 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Limerick defeated Waterford by 2-14 to 3-10 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Play Off 1 on Wednesday April 22nd at Newcastlewest.

Munster MFC: Limerick come back to sink Déise


Report from

Limerick came from behind to defeat Waterford by the narrowest of margins in their Munster Minor Football Championship play-off in Newcastlewest on Wednesday night. Jerry O’Sullivan’s side will now face Clare in another play-off next week, with the winner of that game joining Cork, Kerry and Tipperary in the last four.

Waterford were by a distance the better side in the first half, and goals from Michael Culloo and Shane O’Meara helped them into a 3-6 to 0-7 interval lead. Limerick, without a win in the Munster MFC since 2010 before this game, looked to be heading for another defeat, but remarkably they turned around the eight-point deficit to win by a point.

They clawed back a few points early in the second half, and then John Wallace’s goal on 37 minutes left them just three points behind. Limerick dominated the remainder of the half, gradually reducing the Déise lead and eventually overhauling it on 57 minutes when Seán Murphy found the net. Waterford had no response, and Limerick advanced.

Limerick break Waterford hearts

By John Redington for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Last night’s rip-roaring Munster minor football phase-one qualifier in Newcastlewest ended with Seán Murphy’s goal three minutes from time giving Limerick their first championship win in the grade since 2010. The game’s final score capped an extraordinary comeback by the hosts, who had leaked three goals as they were blown out of it in the first half by the majestic presence of Conor Prunty in the Decies midfield.

Down nine points just after the break, Limerick’s winless streak looked like stretching to 13, but an outstanding half-back line led the relentless charge that kept grinding away until Waterford’s lead had vanished. After a slow start, Waterford took over, with Conor Murray’s point and a Michael Culloo goal helping to push them seven ahead. Mikey Morrissey’s reply was followed by O’Meara ploughing up the middle for a barnstorming goal.

However, after Diarmuid Kelly replied and Looby and White swapping frees, Limerick were frustrated as Culloo’s speculative shot was deflected to the Limerick net. Morrissey and Kelly hit back for Limerick and were met by two Looby frees before Morrissey’s free left the half-time score at 3-6 to 0-7.

Murray brought the gap back to seven, but the hosts restarted more positively. Points from Adam Storan and Morrissey showed Limerick’s intent. John Wallace then ended a lightning passing movement to the net. Limerick momentum faltered as Prunty regained his mastery of the middle and Seán White’s free and an O’Meara score broke the sequence until the Shannonsiders found their second wind in the closing minutes.

Two Richard Hayes frees and one from Morrissey cut the margin to two and, while Prunty pointed, the Limerick tide was rolling. Colm McSweeney scored a point and Seán Murphy sent the crowd into rapture by bundling the ball into the net after fellow Newcastlewest man Kelly was blocked. Waterford’s hopes of rescuing their season faded when corner-back Darragh O’Grady earned a second yellow.

SCORERS for LIMERICK: M Morrissey 0-6 (3f), J Wallace, S Murphy 1-0 each, D Kelly, A White (2f), R Hayes (2f) 0-2 each, A Storan, C McSweeney 0-1 each.

Scorers for WATERFORD: S O’Meara 1-2, D Looby 0-4 (3f), M Culloo 1-1, E Sheehy 1-0 (og), C Murray 0-2, C Prunty 0-1.

LIMERICK: A Murphy; D Hanley, L O’Connell, F Murphy; J Wallace, S Ivess, S Murphy; A Kerins, M Whelan; A White, M Morrissey, E Sheehy; D Kelly, Connolly, J Ryan
SUBS: : A Storan for A White (20m), C McSweeney for E Sheehy (ht), R Hayes for M Connolly (43m).

WATERFORD: K Dwane; D O’Grady, S Ryan, C McCarthy; C Barry, J Elstead, N Montgomery; C Prunty, C Looney; M Culloo, C Murray, S O’Meara; M Sweeney, D Looby, D Guiry
SUBS: S White for D Looby (43m), D McGrath for N Montgomery (55m), M Phelan for C Looney (56m), D McGuckian for J Elstead (60m), G Sheehan for M Sweeney (60m).

REFEREE: D Murnane (Cork)

Fixture Details

Limerick v Waterford
Luimneach v Port Láirge
Venue: Newcastlewest 7pm
Referee: David Murnane (Corcaigh)
Extra time if necessary

Team News

Limerick Manager Jerry O’Sullivan has named his starting team for the Munster Minor Football Playoff v Waterford.

The Limerick Captain is Mikey Morrissey from the Rathkeale club.

Limerick Minor Football Team
1. Aaron Murphy Fr. Casey’s
2. David Hanley Ballysteen
3. Luke O’ Connell Mungret
4. Fionn Murphy Killteely-Dromkeen
5. John Wallace Glin
6. Sean Ivess Newcastlewest
7. Sean Murphy Newcastlewest
8. Adam Kerins St.Senan’s
9. Michael Whelan Hospital-Herbertstown
10. Andrew White Rathkeale
11. Mikey Morrissey Rathkeale CAPTAIN
12. Ed Sheehy Granagh Ballingarry
13. Diarmuid Kelly Newcastlewest
14. Mark Connolly Adare
15. James Ryan Athea

Waterford minor football team to play Limerick, tomorrow Wednesday night in Newcastle West.

1. Kevin Dwane – Ballinacourty
2. Darragh O’Grady – Brickey Rangers
3. Stephen Ryan – Nire
4. Conor McCarthy -Ballinacourty
5. Carthach Barry – Brickey Rangers
6. John Elstead – Ballinacourty
7. Neil Montgomery – Ballinacourty
8. Conor Prunty – Ballinacourty
9. Ciarán Looney – Nire
10. Michéal Culloo – Ballinameela
11. Conor Murray – Rathgormack
12. Shane O’Meara – Nire
13. Michael Sweeney – Stradbally
14. David Looby – Ballinacourty
15. Dylan Guiry – Nire – Captain



April 22, 2015
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

GAA Units