Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster MFC – Cork 1-14 Tipperary 1-11

April 13, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cork defeated Tipperary by 1-14 to 1-11 in the first round of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship on Wednesday April 13th at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Cork minors finally throw off Tipp curse to advance to semi-finals

Cork 1-14 Tipperary 1-11

Report from the Irish Times newspaper

Cork advanced to the Munster Minor Football Championship semi-final by defeating Tipperary for the first time in four attempts at Pairc Ui Rinn on Wednesday evening.

The sides were level at 1-11 apiece with 10 minutes to go, but Cork’s dynamic inside line conjured up with three points to run out worthy winners. In the first-half Cork started brightly and were 1-4 to 0-1 in front before Tipperary finally settled. They were boosted by a fifth minute goal from centre-forward Colm O’Callaghan who found himself in space and finished impressively with a low, hard shot to the corner of the net.

Right corner-forward Damien Gore formed part of a dangerous inside line and kicked three points, two from frees, with Mark Buckley in the other corner also getting on the mark. Tipp midfielders Ben Hyland and Conor Cashman broke Cork’s early dominance as the visitors kicked four points without response to be well in the contest approaching the interval.

Hyland’s influence was reflected in his three points with Daire Egan finding the range, too, as Cork went 15 minutes without a score until full-forward Kevin O’Donovan obliged, the home side 1-6 to 0-6 ahead at the break. Cork increased their lead to seven points on the resumption before Conor Cashman palmed in Tipp’s goal after 37 minutes to start the fight back only for Cork to finish strongly.

Cork: M White; D Scannell, A McCarthy, L O’Donovan; T Corkery, N Walsh, captain, J McCarthy; J Ryan, C Foley; B O’Gorman, C O’Callaghan (1-0), C Maguire; D Gore (0-8, five frees), K O’Donovan (0-1), M Buckley (0-5)
Subs: S Minihane for McCarthy injured 24 mins, G O’Donoghue for Ryan 42 mins, S Ryan for Foley 45 mins, S O’Sullivan for O’Gorman 49 mins, S O’Driscoll for Maguire 55 mins.

Tipperary: J Dolan; J Harney, P Feehan (0-1), J Flannery; C English (0-1), D Brennan, S Nolan; C Cashman (1-0), B Hyland (0-5, three frees, one ‘45); R Lambe, C Boland, D Egan (0-1); J Lyons (0-1), M Barlow (0-1 free), A English
Subs: S Ryan (0-1 free) for Barlow 35 mins, S Quinlan for A English 50 mins, C Murphy for Egan 54 mins, C Kennedy for Hyland 59 mins.

Referee: B Kelly (Clare)

Ticket Information
Adult: €10.00
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): Free of Charge
Concessions: a rebate of €5 is available on full-price Adult tickets on match day at designated stiles with valid ID

All tickets for this fixture are UNRESERVED

Click to buy tickets in advance

Audio – Cork minor football manager Brian Herlihy on Cork v Tipperary in the
Munster Minor Football Championshio

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Cork in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Quarter-Final on this Wednesday night, April 13th in Pairc Uí Rinn at 7pm has been announced by manager Mike O’Sullivan and lines out as follows;

1. Jack Dolan – Fethard
2. Jack Harney – Moyle Rovers
3. Paudie Feehan – Killenaule
4. Jake Flannery – Galtee Rovers
5. Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s
6. Daire Brennan – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
7. Stephen Nolan – Drom & Inch
8. Conor Cashman – Cahir
9. Ben Hyland – Fr. Sheehy’s
10. Ryan Lambe – Clonmel Commercials
11. Calvin Bolan – Clonmel Commercials
12. Daire Egan – Galtee Rovers
13. John Lyons – Grangemockler-Ballyneale
14. Michael Barlow – Ardfinnan
15. Adrian English – Ballyporeen

Cork Team
1. Mark White (Clonakilty)
2. Dylan Scannell (Ahan Gaels/St. Marys)
3. Alan Mc Carthy (St Finbarrs)
4. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty) Vice Captain
5. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)
6. Nathan Walsh (Douglas) Captain
7. Jack McCarthy (Carrigaline)
8. Jack Ryan (Sliabh Rua/Ballymartle)
9. Cathal Foley (WesternGaels/Kilmichael)
10. Blake O’Gorman (Macroom)
11. Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Og)
12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)
13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
14. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
15. Mark Buckley (Sam Maguires/Dohenys)
16. Kevin Mc Mahon (Kilshannig)
17. Rory O’Driscoll (Garnish)
18. Gearoid O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)
19. Sean Ryan (Ballinascarthy)
20. Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown)
21. Shane O’Driscoll (Glanmire)
22. Sean Minihane (Ilen Rovers)
23. Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown)
24. Sean Dennehy (St Finbarrs)

Extended Panel Members
Cian Denn (St Michael’s)
Jason Twomey (Éire Óg)
Michael Oakes (Bishopstown)

Not Considered due to Injury
Ed Leahy (Aghada)
Ryan Fowley (Buttevant)
Aidan Browne (Trinity Gaels/Newmarket)
Chris Og Jones (Western Gaels/Iveleary)

Brian Herlihy – Manager (Dohenys)
Bernie Collins – Coach (Castlehaven)
Mick Comyns (St Finbarrs)
Donal McCarthy (Valley Rovers)
Noel O Leary (Cill na Martra)

Backroom Staff:
Goalkeeping – Coach (Alan Quirke)
Strengthing & Conditioning Coach (Colm Crowley)
Medic Dr Colm Murphy
Physio: Colin Lane, Ciaran O’Shaughnessy



April 13, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,

GAA Units