Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster GAA Hurling Minor Championship Round 5 – Limerick 1-21 Clare 2-17

June 17, 2018 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Limerick defeated Clare by 1-21 to 2-17 in Round 5 of the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Hurling Minor Championship on Sunday June 17th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Electric Ireland Munster MHC: Limerick finish strongly


Report By Eoin Brennan for

Limerick spoiled the home party in dramatic style in Cusack Park when producing a last gasp recovery to leapfrog Clare into the Munster Minor Hurling Final in a fortnight’s time.

Backed by a brace of Mark Rodgers goals, the Banner County seemed set to return to a second successive provincial decider as they led for the majority of this final round showdown. However, they simply failed to see out the game and instead were overtaken by a defiant Limerick who finished with four of the last five points to carve out a minimum win.

In front of a packed Cusack Park, Clare were dealt a cruel twist of fate but a persistent Limerick managed to stay in touch throughout, mainly through a superb six point haul by Bob Purcell before striking late through talisman Cathal O’Neill.

And the Banner were also caught napping at the end of the opening half as despite six Kealan Guyler points allied to a Mark Rodgers’ 29th minute goal putting the home side five clear, Limerick responded decisively right on the stroke of half-time when Cormac Ryan billowed the net at 1-8 to 1-6.

Gathering momentum, Limerick would maintain their push on the restart to actually inch ahead for the first time through midfielder Barry O’Connor by the 35th minute. But it would be only a momentary reprieve as Rodgers grabbed his second goal and seventh overall in four matches to give Clare a new lease of life at 2-09 to 1-10.

It would set up a very anxious finale that saw the sides on level terms on three more occasions. But only requiring a draw, Limerick would finish the stronger to wipe out a two point deficit in injury-time as O’Neill inspired a famous victory and a place in the final against neighbours Tipperary.

Scorers for Limerick: Cathal O’Neill 0-7 (1f, 3’65), Bob Purcell 0-6, Cormac Ryan 1-0, Danny O’Leary, Colin Coughlan 0-2 each, Barry O’Connor, Patrick Kirby, Diarmuid Hegarty, Emmet McEvoy 0-1 each

Scorers for Clare: Kealan Guyler 0-9 (3fs, 1’65), Mark Rodgers 2-1, Robin Mounsey 0-3, Conner Hegarty 0-2, William Halpin, Tony Butler, 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Bryan Heavey; Michael Keane, Ben Herlihy, Padraig Harnett; Eoin O’Mahony, Emmet McEvoy, Jack Nicholas; Patrick Kirby, Barry O’Connor; Cormac Ryan, Cathal O’Neill, Bob Purcell; Danny O’Leary, Colin Coughlan, Cian Casey.
Subs: Diarmuid Hegarty for Casey (HT), Bryan Nix for O’Leary (47), Micheal Martin for Coughlan (63).

CLARE: Cillian O’Brien; Mike Gough, Adam Mungovan, Jack Enright; Darragh Healy, Dylan McMahon, Jason Griffin; Aidan Moriarty, Gearoid O’Grady; William Halpin, Robin Mounsey, Kealan Guyler; Mark Rodgers, Shane Meehan, Conner Hegarty.
Subs: Tony Butler for O’Grady (41).

REFEREE: Mark Maher (Cork).


June 17, 2018
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

GAA Units