Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship Final – Kerry 3-21 Clare 1-7

June 23, 2018 @ 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Kerry defeated Clare by 3-21 to 1-7 in the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship Final on Saturday June 23rd at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Final

KERRY 3-21 CLARE 1-7

By Denis Hurley for

Kerry’s supremacy was never in doubt as they achieved a sixth straight Electric Ireland Munster MFC title with a win over Clare at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday evening.

The Kingdom began with a pair of early points from Jack O’Connor and man of the match Paul Walsh, but Clare’s response was strong and they took the lead as Thomas Kelly netted from Jack Regan’s pass on 11 minutes.

Unfortunately for the Banner, it was a fleeting and unique experience to hold the upper hand. Dylan Geaney levelled for Kerry and then added a goal when Walsh’s free kick came back off the post. From there, Kerry drove on, nine different players scoring 11 points in a row, and by the time the first half finished, they led by 1-15 to 1-2.

Walsh and Paul O’Shea were full of guile for Kerry while Geaney chipped in impressively too and Darragh Rahilly and Darragh Lyne ensured a midfield dominance.

Clare did have the first score of the second half through sub Tadhg Lillis, but Kerry had a second goal immediately after, Geaney again on hand when a Walsh free broke near the Clare goalmouth.

That made it 2-15 to 1-3 but, to Clare’s credit, they didn’t wilt. Mark McInerney was unlucky to see his goal attempt saved by Marc Kelliher for a 45, which Emmet McMahon put over the bar.

Shane Meehan added another fine point for the Banner and then Chibby Okoye had another goal opportunity, Kelliher again coming to Kerry’s rescue. They saw out the game impressively, with Walsh adding a third goal as he punched home from sub Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaioch’s delivery.

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Walsh 1-7 (4fs), Dylan Geaney 2-3, Jack O’Connor, Darragh Rahilly, Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaioch (1f) 0-2 each, Dan McCarthy, Darragh Lyne, Killian Falvey, Michael Lenihan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Thomas Kelly 1-0, Shane Meehan (1f), Emmet McMahon (1 45) 0-2 each, Mark McInerney (f), Conor Hassett, Tadhg Lillis 0-1 each.

KERRY: Marc Kelliher; Conor Flannery, Owen Fitzgerald, David Mangan; Colm Moriarty, Dan McCarthy; Dan Murphy; Darragh Rahilly, Darragh Lyne; Paul Walsh, Paul O’Shea, Killian Falvey; Dylan Geaney, Jack O’Connor, Michael Lenihan.
Subs: Seán Quilter for O’Shea (41), Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaioch for Lenihan (42), Jack Kennelly for Geaney (48), James McCarthy for Fitzgerald (53), David Dineen for Rahilly (55), Seán Óg Moran for Mangan (58).

CLARE: Michael Garrihy; Jack Reidy, Darragh Connelly, Gavin D’Auria; Cillian Rouine, John Murphy, Aidan O’Connor; Chibby Okoye, Emmet McMahon; Jack Regan, Cian McDonough, Thomas Kelly; Mark McInerney, Shane Meehan, Joey Droney.
Subs: Tadhg Lillis for Regan (half-time), Pádraic O’Donoghue for Droney (half-time), Kevin Keane for McInerney (45), Conor Hassett for D’Auria (54), Ryan Barry for O’Connnor (60), Manus Doherty for Lillis (60, black card).

REFEREE: John Ryan (Cork).

Team News


June 23, 2018
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,

GAA Units