Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster MFC – Kerry 2-21 Waterford 1-2

April 13, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Kerry defeated Waterford by 2-21 to 1-2 in the first round of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship on Wednesday April 13th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Kerry cruise by Waterford in terribly one-sided minor clash

By Eoghan Cormican, Fraher Field for

Kerry 2-21 Waterford 1-2

Kerry cruised to a 22-point victory over Waterford in this terribly one-sided Munster MFC quarter-final. The reigning All-Ireland champions had victory sewn up by half-time, the scoreboard reading 1-13 to 0-1 in their favour.

The home outfit required a decent start if they were to have any chance of springing an upset, or, indeed, of simply making a game of it. Instead, they found themselves 0-11 to 0-0 in arrears after just 13 minutes of action. It could have been worse. Waterford ‘keeper Aaron Beresford produced a fine save to tip over the bar Sean O’Shea’s shot on 13 minutes.

By this juncture, six Kerry players – Mike Breen, Dara Moynihan, Sean O’Shea, Diarmuid O’Connor, David Clifford and Ferdia O’Brien – had etched their names onto the scoresheet. Corner-forward O’Brien, set-up by Clifford, registered the Kerry goal on 23 minutes; the visitors providing a swift response to Waterford’s opening score from Shane O’Meara a minute earlier.

Kerry had a second goal within 30 seconds of the restart, Ferdia O’Brien capitalising on a defensive error to slot his second. The game as a contest petered out, thereafter. Cathal Curran kicked a Waterford goal on 43 minutes, but it did little in adding respectability to the final scoreline.

Teams and Scorers

Scorers for Kerry: F O’Brien (2-1); D Clifford (0-5, 0-2 frees); S O’Shea (0-4, 0-2 frees); D Moynihan (0-3); B Friel, D O’Connor (0-2 each); M Breen, M Potts, T O’Connor, D Casey (0-1 each).

Scorers for Waterford: C Curran (1-0); S O’Meara (0-1 free), C Walsh (0-1).

Kerry: S Ó Luing (An Ghaeltacht); G O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromoda), N Collins (Listowel Ennetts), M Reidy (Ballymacelligott); D Naughton (Dr Crokes), D O’Brien (Glenflesk), M Foley (Ballydonoghue); M Breen (Beaufort), M Ryan (Rathmore); D O’Connor (Na Gaeil), S O’Shea (Kenmare), D Moynihan (Spa); F O’Brien (Austin Stacks), D Clifford (Fossa), B Friel (Rathmore).
Subs: M Potts (Dr Crokes) for Naughton (27 mins, inj), B Sweeney (Listowel Emmetts) for Ryan (HT), D Shaw (Dr Crokes) for O’Connor (37), T O’Connor (Ballymacelligott) for Moynihan (47), D Casey (St Mary’s) for O’Brien (52), C Teehan (Glenbeigh Glencar) for Foley (55)

Waterford: A Beresford (Ballinacourty); A O’Sullivan (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), J Skehan (Sliabh gCua), J Mulcahy (The Nire); C Ó Cuirrín (An Rinn), M Daly (Brickey Rangers), C Curran (Brickey Rangers); D Guiry (The Nire), J Beresford (Ballinacourty); B Power (Rathgormack), S Martin (Tramore), T Barron (The Nire); C Kirwan (Kill), S O’Meara (The Nire), P Prendergast (Clashmore/ Kinsalebeg).
Subs: T Collins (Ballinacourty) for O’Sullivan (28 mins), C Walsh (The Nire) for Ó Cuirrín (48), C Gough (Stradbally) for Power (51), L Connolly (Rathgormack) for Daly (54), R O’Neill (Brickey Rangers) for Barron (57), C Kennedy (Kill) for J Beresford (59).

Referee: D Grogan (Tipperary)

Ticket Information

Adult: €10.00
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): Free of Charge
Concessions: a rebate of €5 is available on full-price Adult tickets on match day at designated stiles with valid ID

All tickets for this fixture are UNRESERVED

Click here to buy tickets in advance

Team News

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Waterford in the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Football Minor Championship in Dungarvan on Wednesday next contains just one of the starting fifteen from last year’s All Ireland final win over Tipperary – Sean O’Shea of Kenmare. Three subs who played in that final – Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan also make the starting fifteen while Billy Courtney and Bryan Sweeney who played in last year’s final are included among the subs. Four of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning team are included, Daniel O’Brien, David Naughton, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford.

The team, captained by Seán Ó Lúing of An Ghaeltacht is as follows:
1. Sean Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
2. Graham O’Sullivan Dromid Pearses
3. Niall Collins Listowel Emmets
4. Micheál Reidy Ballymacelligott
5. David Naughton Dr. Crokes
6. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
7. Micheal Foley Ballydonoghue
8. Mike Breen Beaufort
9. Mark Ryan Rathmore
10. Dara Moynihan Spa
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Diarmuid O’Connor Na Gaeil
13. Brian Friel Rathmore
14. David Clifford Fossa
15. Ferdia O’Brien Austin Stacks
Fir Ionaid
16. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
17. Michael Potts Dr. Crokes
18. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
19. David Shaw Dr. Crokes
20. Tomás O’Connor Ballymacelligott
21. Kieran Dwyer St. Pats
22. Caolim Teahan Glenbeigh-Glencar
23. Darren Casey St. Mary’s
24. Fionán Mackessy Ardfert

Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)
Treanalaí: Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy
Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Liaison Officer: Christy Killeen

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
Dean Fitzgerald Rathmore
Stefan Okunbar Na Gaeil
Mikey O’Boyle Dingle
Johnny O’Sullivan Beale
Niall O’Donoghue Firies

Rehabbing from Injury
Cormac Linnane Beale
Karl Mullins Kerins O’Rahillys
Daragh Sugrue Tuosist
Cormac Leane Milltown Castlemaine
Ciaran O’Connor Gneeveguilla

The Waterford Minor Football Team to face Kerry on Wednesday in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship in Fraher Field at 7pm is named!

1. Aaron Beresford (Ballinacourty)

2. Adam O’Sullivan (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)

3. Jack Skehan (Sliabh gCua)

4. Jake Mulcahy (The Nire)

5. Conor Ó Cuirrín (An Rinn)

6. Dylan Guiry (The Nire)

7. Cathal Curran (Brickey Rangers)

8. Maurice Daly (Brickey Rangers)

9. James Beresford (Ballinacourty)

10. Billy Power (Rathgormack)

11. Sean Martin (Tramore)

12. Tom Barron (The Nire)

13. Cíarán Kirwan (Kill)

14. Shane O’Meara (The Nire)

15. Paddy Prendergast (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)



April 13, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units