Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Elecric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Final – Kilkenny 2-17 Limerick 0-19

September 7, 2014 @ 1:15 pm - 3:15 pm

Kilkenny defeated Limerick by 2-17 to 0-19 in the Elecric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Final on Sunday September 7th at Croke Park.

Minor Final: Walsh shines as Cats deliver again

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Final: Kilkenny 2-17 Limerick 0-19

Report from

Kilkenny secured their 21st All-Ireland minor title and their first since 2010 with a deserved win over Limerick at Croke Park on Sunday.
John Walsh, who was brought into the side following his match-winning goal in the semi-final against Waterford, hit a remarkable 2-5 from play for the Cats, who completed a remarkable turnaround having lost their Leinster Championship opener against Dublin by 2-8 to 0-3 back in April.
Kilkenny were 0-12 to 0-10 ahead at the break after playing with the strong breeze, and two Walsh goals, in the 40th and 52nd minutes, as well as a superb defensive performance, kept a talented Limerick side seeking a first title in the grade since 1984 at bay in the second half.
Limerick were favourites going into the game, but appeared to struggle with the occasion and were nervous in the first-half in particular. Brian Ryan’s charges also missed two excellent goal chances, while Walsh dispatched the two opportunities that came his way clinically.

Kilkenny played with a strong breeze at their backs in the first half and were 0-6 to 0-3 ahead after 16 minutes, with corner forward Walsh and Ronan Morrissey grabbing a brace apiece from play in that spell. Limerick were nervous early on, but they found their feet and hit three scores without reply to draw level within three minutes, Tom Morrissey, Barry Nash and the excellent Cian Lynch all firing over scores from play.

Alan Murphy’s accurate free-taking was a feature of the first-half and the Glenmore man used the breeze to land a huge effort from well inside his own half to nudge the Cats back into a two-point lead. Morrissey, however, was causing difficulties for the Kilkenny defence and his skill and ingenuity created an opening for Conor Fitzgerald on 25 minutes, but the sub dragged a ground stroke just wide of the post.
Barry Nash pulled Limerick level again and then Ronan Lynch, who was relatively quiet in an attacking role in the first half, had the Shannonsiders ahead with his third score of the half.

Such was the strength of the breeze, Kilkenny needed to go in with some sort of lead at the break, and Walsh stepped up in added time to fire over two more scores, bringing his tally to five in the first half and giving his side a 0-12 to 0-10 lead at the break.
Liam Blanchfield and Alan Murphy added to Kilkenny’s lead immediately after the break before Cian Lynch and Ronan Lynch hit back for Limerick.
Peter Casey then had a superb shot saved by Kilkenny goalkeeper Darren Brennan before the Cats scored the first goal of the game two minutes later, Walsh jinking his way through the Limerick defence and kicking home a fine goal.

Limerick hit back again and appeared to be the stronger side at the start of the final quarter, but Walsh struck once again in the 52nd minute, this time firing a fine shot past Limerick goalkeeper Eoghan McNamara to give his side a 2-17 to 0-17 lead. Limerick went in search of goals in the closing stages, but Kilkenny hung on doggedly and Pat Hoban’s side secured a surprise but well-deserved victory.
Scorers for Kilkenny: John Walsh 2-5, Alan Murphy 0-6 (0-6f), Ronan Corcoran 0-3, Liam Blanchfield 0-2, Luke Scanlon 0-1.

Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 0-9 (0-7f, 0-1 65), Cian Lynch 0-3, Tom Morrissey 0-2, Barry Nash 0-2, Séamus Flanagan 0-2, Barry Murphy 0-1.

KILKENNY: Darren Brennan; Tommy Walsh, Conor Delaney, Cathal McGrath; Pat Lyng, Jason Cleere, Darragh Joyce; Conor Browne, Luke Scanlon; Seán Morrissey, Ross Butler, Ronan Corcoran; Alan Murphy, Liam Blanchfield, John Walsh. Subs: Billy Ryan for Ross Butler (HT), Eoin Kenny for Conor Browne (38), Andrew Gaffney for Ronan Corcoran (59).

LIMERICK: Eoghan McNamara; Seán Finn, Paddy O’Loughlin, Lorcan Lyons; Colin Ryan, Andrew La Touch-Cosgrave, Conor Byrnes; Robbie Hanley, Thomas Grimes; Séamus Flanagan, Barry Nash, Cian Lynch; Peter Casey, Tom Morrissey, Ronan Lynch. Subs: Conor Fitzgerald for Conor Byrnes (16), Ed Doyle for Conor Fitzgerald (HT), Jamie Porter for Lorcan Lyons (HT), Barry Murphy for Thomas Grimes (54).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)
Report: Brian Murphy

Team News

LIMERICK: Eoghan McNamara (Doon); Sean Finn (Bruff), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen); Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Conor Byrnes (Murroe-Boher); Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon); Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh). Subs: Cian Hedderman (Ballybrown), Edward Doyle (Monaleen), Conor Fitzgerald (Claughaun), Jamie Porter (Monaleen), Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen), Barry Murphy (Doon), Brian Ryan (South Liberties), Conor McSweeney (South Liberties), Dylan Dawson (Blackrock),

1. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)
2. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
3. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
4. Cathal McGrath (John Locke’s)
5. Pat Lyng (Rower-Instioge)
6. Jason Cleere (Bennetsbridge)
7. Darragh Joyce (capt, Rower-Instioge)
8. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
9. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)
10. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
11. Ross Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels)
12. Ronan Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
13. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
15. John Walsh (Mullinavat)
16. Shane Murphy (Glenmore)
17. Conor Doheny (Dicksboro)
18. Billy Ryan (Graigue Ballycallan)
19. Donnacha O’Connor (Tullogher Rosbercon)
20. Liam Hennessy (Glenmore)
21. Richie Leahy (O’Loughlin Gaels)
22. Eoin Kenny (Slieverue)
23. Andrew Gaffney (Dicksboro)
24. Robbie Donnelly (Thomastown)

Match Officials

Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor Championship Final
Cill Chainnigh v Luimneach
Páirc an Chrócaigh, 13.15
Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tiobraid Árann)
Stand By: John Keenan (Cill Mhantáin)
Linesman: Eamonn Hassan (Doire)
Sideline: James Clarke (An Cabhán)
Umpires: David Heelan, Alan Horgan, Paul Ryan and John Hadnett


September 7, 2014
1:15 pm - 3:15 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units