Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling Quarter-Final – Dungarvan Colleges 0-14 Blackwater C.S. 0-10

January 16, 2013 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Curran opens the door

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Dungarvan Colleges 0-14 Blackwater CS 0-10

DUNGARVAN remain on course to retain their Harty Cup crown as a third-quarter purple patch shook off local rivals Blackwater Community School at Fraher Field. The sides were level on four occasions in an untidy opening half, with the score 0-7 to 0-6 in favour of the holders at the break. Darragh Lyons doubled Dungarvan’s advantage early in the second half but Kieran Bennett responded with a fine solo effort. The Dungarvan half-back line began to dictate in the third quarter and they struck for five unanswered points. Patrick Curran scored three of those with Colin Dunford and the lively Lyons also on target to put them 0-13 to 0-7 in front. Blackwater clawed their way back into contention with three points in a row but their comeback hopes were dashed when David Geary received a straight red card with a minute left.

SCORERS – Dungarvan Colleges: P Curran 0-8 (5f), D Lyons 0-3, C Curran, C Dunford, T Bourke (’65’) 0-1 each; Blackwater CS: D Geary 0-7 (5f, 2 ’65’), K Bennett 0-2, C Leamy 0-1.

DUNGARVAN COLLEGES – L Power; M Cronin, B Looby, K Looby; T Bourke, K Daly, T Devine; M Harney, C Curran; C Breathnach, P Curran, E Crotty; C Dunford, S Keating, D Lyons. Sub: D Gartland for Crotty (42).

BLACKWATER CS – S Barry; J Ring, C Roche, P Hennessy; C Murray, S O’Brien, N Fives; C Leamy, P Coleman; S Bennett, D Geary, A Crawford; M Kearney, D Meagher, K Bennett. Sub: A O’Sullivan for Fives (51).

REF – N Cosgrove (Tipperary)


Match Preview
This promises to be the tie of the round with the West Waterford rivals meeting in what should be a fantastic game of hurling. The Lismore outfit had a straight-forward qualification for the knock out stage; however their loss to Templemore came as a surprise. It must be noted that qualification had been secured prior to this game and the absence of key players did not help their cause. The amalgamated Dungarvan Colleges outfit that consists of players from Dungarvan CBS and St. Augustines are seen by many as favourites to lift the Harty cup again this year. Their passage through the group stages was never in doubt, despite a loss to St Flannans.

Blackwater C.S. results to date

Blackwater C.S. 3-20 Charleville CBS 0-8

Blackwater C.S. 1-13 Abbey CBS Tipperary 0-7

Blackwater C.S. 2-15 West Limerick Schools 0-14

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-19 Blackwater C.S. 1-18

Dungarvan Colleges results

Dungarvan Colleges 3-13 Doon CBS 1-13

St. Flannan’s Ennis 0-16 Dungarvan Colleges 2-9

Dungarvan Colleges 3-12 St. Caimin’s Shannon 0-11

Dungarvan Colleges 5-18 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire A.G. 2-8

Blackwater C.S. Panel

Sean Barry Lismore – Captain

John Ring Fermoy

Shane Bennett Ballysaggart

Cian Leamy Ballyduff

David Geary  Fermoy

Colm Roche   Shamrocks

Michael Kearney  Ballyduff

Conor Murray Cappoquin

Paudi Coleman  Lismore

Shane O’Brien St Catherines

Robert Sullivan Tallow

Darren Meagher  Ballysaggart

Niall Fives  Tourin

Pat Hennessy  Lismore

Kieran Bennett  Ballysaggart

Bobby Ryan  Ballysaggart

Aidan Dwyer  St Olivers

Aaron O’Sullivan  Cappoquin

Jack Prendergast  Lismore

Andrew Molumby Cappoquin

Adam Crawford  Shamrocks

David Prendergast  Lismore

John McGrath  Modeligo

Jordan Henley Tallow

Jordan Shanahan  Lismore

Jake Beecher Tallow

Paul O’Mahony Tallow

Shane Kenney Geraldines

Jack Tobin Tallow

Shane Murray Cappoquin

Adam Flynn Lismore

Stephen O’Keeffe Tallow

Dungarvan Colleges Panel

Laurence Power – Abbeyside

Kealan Looby – St Olivers/Ballinameela

Brian Looby – Abbeyside

Jack Mullanney – Stradbally

Tagdh Bourke – Clashmore

Kevin Daly – Dungarvan

Tom Devine – Modeligo (Captain)

Cormac Curran – Brickey Rangers

Colin Dunford – Colligan Emmets

Ryan Donnelly – Dungarvan

Michael Harney – Ballydurn

Eamon Crotty – Abbeyside

Darragh Lyons – Dungarvan

Seamus Keating – Ardmore

Patrick Curran – Dungarvan

Gavin Power – Dungarvan

Christy Breathnach – An Rinn

David Gartland – Ardmore

Michael Cronin – Ardmore

Sean Daly – Abbeyside

Kieran Barron – St Marys Touraneena

Aaron Donnelly – Dungarvan

Jack O’Donnell – Brickey Rangers

Michael Shine – St Olivers/Ballinameela

Conor Prunty – Abbeyside

Cian Culloo – St Olivers/ Ballinameela

Carthach Barry – Brickey Rangers

Cormac O’Grady – Brickey Rangers

Conor Tobin – St Marys Touraneena

Ross Browne – Colligan Emmets

Jack Morrissey – Dungarvan


January 16, 2013
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units