Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling Quarter-Final – Ardscoil Rís Limerick 0-14 Doon CBS 1-6

January 16, 2013 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Ardscoil Ris best in Limerick Harty Cup derby

Report from the Limerick Leader newspaper

Published on Wednesday 16 January 2013 16:30

ARDSCOIL RIS are back in the semi-finals of the Dr Harty Cup for the sixth successive year after a 0-14 to 1-6 win over Limerick rivals Doon CBS on Wednesday afternoon. The Limerick City side dominated this all-Limerick quarter-final in Bruff for long periods to advance to a semi-final meeting with Our Ladys College, Templemore. The Limerick derby brought a big crowd and colour to Bruff but as a contest this was never an end to end rip-roaring contest. The east Limerick men needed a flying start but it was Ardscoil Ris that laid down the early markers. Indeed Doon didn’t score from play until the 10th minute of the second half, by which time five different Ardscoil Ris players had found the target. Ardscoil Ris were backed by the wind in the opening half and led by 0-9 to 0-2 at the break.

Eoghan Keogh increased the lead within seconds of the restart but then Doon got a glimmer of hope when Ardscoil Ris were reduced to 14 men. On the return to the field for the second half, referee Fergal Horgan showed corner back Josh O’Halloran a yellow card. Then just two minutes later, his attention was called by an umpire and O’Halloran was shown a second yellow and sent off. O’Donovan pointed the resulting free and the lead was seven points with a numerial advantage, the wind at their back and over 25 minutes to play. Dean Coleman (from play) and Murphy (free) left it 0-10 to 0-5 midway through the half. Ardscoil were now almost 15 minutes without a score before an O’Brien free steadied their ship.

But in truth, Ronan Lynch and Mark Buckley and defensive colleagues were coping with the Doon threat. At the other end, the Ardscoil attackers were beginning to enjoy the extra space and Keogh and Crehan fired over points to leave it 0-14 to 0-6. Doon were searching for goals but when they finally found the net it was in injury-time – wing back Pat Cummins firing to the net in a crowded goalmouth.

SCORERS – Ardscoil Ris: Colin Crehan, Cian O’Brien (three frees) 0-4 each, David Dempsey, Eoghan Keogh 0-2 each, Micheal O’Loughlin, Ronan Lynch (free) 0-1 each. Doon CBS: Barry Murphy 0-3 (all frees), Pat Cummins 1-0, Darragh O’Donovan 0-2 (two frees), Dean Coleman 0-1.

ARDSCOIL RIS – Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh); Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge), Mark Buckley (Na Piarsaigh), Josh O’Halloran (Na Piarsaigh); Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Andrew Carroll (Patrickswell); William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Foley (Na Piarsaigh); Cian O’Brien (Mungret), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh); Colin Crehan (O’Callaghans Mills), Eoghan Keogh (Na Piarsaigh), Micheal O’Loughlin (Clonlara). Subs: Eoghan Costelloe (Adare) for M O’Loughlin (40mins).

DOON CBS – Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Thomas Hayes (Doon), Richie English (Doon), David Lonergan (Cappamore); Pat Cummins (Doon), Stephen Ryan (Doon), Mike Dee (Murroe-Boher); Fiachra O’Grady (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Dean Coleman (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Shane O’Connell (Doon); Barry Murphy (Doon), Raymond Ryan (Doon), Kevin Stapleton (Cappawhite). Subs: David Orr (Cappawhite) for K Stapleton (39mins), Anthony Foley (Cappamore) for O’Grady (52mins), Brian McCarthy (Pallasgreen) for Thomas Hayes (54mins), Adam Coleman (Cappamore) for Lonergan (58mins).

REFEREE – Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

Match Preview

The final tie of the round is an all Limerick affair. Ardscoil Rís have continued their impressive form of recent years in topping an extremely competitive group. Doon CBS have showed mixed form in the group stages but produced the result of the competition to date in beating St Flannans in their final game.

Ardscoil Rís results to date

Ardscoil Rís 2-14 Castletroy Coll. 0-8

Ardscoil Rís w/o Coláistí Chiarraí scr.

Ardscoil Rís Limerick 2-15 St. Colman’s Fermoy 2-12

Ardscoil Rís Limerick 1-10 DLS Waterford 1-9

Ardscoil Rís Limerick 0-7 Clonmel CBS 0-6

Doon CBS results to date

Dungarvan Colleges 3-13 Doon CBS 1-13

Doon CBS 2-18 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire A.G. 3-9

Doon CBS 1-21 St. Caimin’s C.S. Shannon 2-10

Doon CBS 3-19 St. Flannan’s Ennis 0-14

Doon CBS Panel

The Doon CBS panel for the Dr. Harty Cup is as follows –

Pat Ryan (Doon)

Richie English (Doon)

Darragh O’ Donovan (Doon)

Dean Coleman (Doon)

Stephen Ryan (Doon)

Raymond Ryan (Doon)

Pat Cummins (Doon)

Thomas Hayes (Doon)

Shane O’ Connell (Doon)

Barry Murphy (Doon)

Fiachra O’ Grady (Doon)

Cian McNamara (Doon)

Mike Dee (Murroe-Boher)

Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)

Darren Cosgrave (Pallasgreen)

Brian McCarthy (Pallasgreen)

Kevin Stapleton (Cappawhite)

David Orr (Cappawhite)

Eanna Heffernan (Cappawhite)

David Buckley (Cappawhite)

Adam Coleman (Cappamore)

David Lonergan (Cappamore)

Anthony Foley (Cappamore)

Mike Fox (Eire Og, Annacarty)

Shane Stapleton (Sean Treacys)

MENTORS: Diarmuid Carr (Golden), Justin Daly (Pallaskenry), Denis Leonard (Cappamore)

Ardscoil Ris Harty Cup Panel

The Ardscoil Ris CBS panel for the Dr. Harty Cup is as follows –

1) Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh)

2) Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge)

3) Mark Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)

4) Josh O ‘Halloran (Na Piarsaigh)

5) Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

6) Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)

7) Andrew Carroll (Patrickswell)

8 ) William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh – Captain)

9) Michael Foley (Na Piarsaigh)

10) Cian O’Brien (Mungret)

11) Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

12) David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)

13) Colin Crehan (O’ Callaghan’s Mills)

14) Eoin Keogh (Na Piarsaigh)

15) Micheal O’Loughlin (Clonlara)

16) Aaron Guillane (Patrickswell)

17) Paraic O Loughlin (Clonlara)

18) Kevin McGlennon (Parteen)

19) Ian Galvin (Clonlara)

20) Eoghan Costelloe (Adare)

21) Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh)

22) Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)

23) Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh)

24) Jack English (Adare)

25) Cian McCarthy (Parteen)

26) Niall Mulcahy (Mungret)

27) Lee Coughlan (Na Piarsaigh)

28) Eoin Quilty (South Liberties)

29) Killian Hannon (Adare)

30) Evan O’Brien (Na Piarsaigh)

31) Sean Moriarty (Clonlara)

32) Ronan Broderick (O’Callaghan’s Mills)

33) Alex Potter (Mungret)

34) Enda Meaney (South Liberties)

35) Oisin Heffernan (Adare)

36) Michael O”Neill (Crecora)

37) Keith Cawley (Patrickswell)

38) Fionn Larkin (Clonlara)

Coaches: Niall Crowe, Victor Leyden


January 16, 2013
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units