Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Dr. Harty Cup Final – Ard Scoil Ris 2-13 STN Doon 0-4

February 22, 2014 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Ard Scoil Ris defeated Scoil Na Troinoide Doon by 2-13 to 0-4 in the Dr. Harty Cup Final on Saturday February 22nd at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Ardscoil Rís claim Dr Harty Cup title for the third time in five years

Report from

Ardscoil Rís 2-13 Scoil Na Trionoide Naofa (Doon) 0-4

RONAN Lynch inspired Ardscoil Rís to Dr Harty Cup glory against Scoil na Tríonóide Naofa Doon at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick this afternoon. The 2013 Munster GAA minor player of the year scored 0-6, including five in the second half, as Ardscoil claimed a third Harty Cup title in five seasons. In the first all-Limerick decider, Ardscoil came good after half-time to add another Munster senior colleges A title to their 2010 and 2011 successes.

Ardscoil led by just two points at half-time, 0-4 to 0-2, in front of 3514 spectators but they produced a powerful second half performance to win by 15 points. Doon managed just a point from play during the entire game, scored by substitute Mark Coleman, as Ardscoil proved resolute in defence, with corner back Eoghan Costelloe particularly good. Further up the field, Ardscoil had proven matchwinners in Ronan Lynch, Cian Lynch and Ian Galvin (brother of Clare senior star Colm). And when Colin Crehan netted Ardscoil’s first goal midway through the second half, the tie was over as a contest.

That score handed the winners a 1-8 to 0-2 lead and with the breeze at their backs, they went on to inflict further pain on Doon. Galvin cracked home a second goal with nine minutes remaining and Doon’s afternoon was summed up when Barry Murphy saw his ground shot cannon to safety off the post in the 53rd minute. Ardscoil are safely through to the semi-finals of the All-Ireland series (Croke Cup) and Doon now attempt to regroup for a crack at the Connacht champions in the quarter-finals.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: Ronan Lynch 0-6 (0-3f), Ian Galvin 1-2, Colin Crehan 1-0, Alex Morey 0-2, Cian Lynch, Micheal O’Loughlin & Thomas Grimes 0-1 each.

Scorers for Doon: Colin Ryan 0-3 (0-3f), Mark Coleman 0-1.

ARDSCOIL RÍS: Paraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara); Eoghan Costelloe (Adare), Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge), Josh O’Halloran (Na Piarsaigh); Jack English (Adare), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Gordon Browne (Na Piarsaigh); Cian O’Brien (Mungret), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh); Ian Galvin (Clonlara), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Charlie McCarthy (Adare); Micheal O’Loughlin (Clonlara), Alex Morey (Sixmilebridge), Colin Crehan (O’Callaghans Mills)
Subs: Conor Fitzgerald (Claughaun) for O’Loughlin (43), Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh) for English (55), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell) for McCarthy (55), Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh) for Crehan (57), Eoghan Mulcahy (Mungret) for O’Halloran (57).

DOON: Shane Stapleton (Sean Treacys); Brian McPartland (Doon), Thomas Hayes (Doon), Darren Roche (Pallasgreen); Jack Cummins (Doon), Stephen Ryan (Doon), Brian McCarthy (Pallasgreen); Mike Dee (Murroe-Boher), Patrick Cummins (Doon); Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), David Buckley (Cappawhite), Shane O’Connell (Doon); Barry Murphy (Doon), Dean Coleman (Doon), Joe Lonergan (Cappamore)
Subs: Mark Coleman for Lonergan (39), Anthony Foley (Cappamore) for P Cummins (48), Fiachra O’Grady (Doon) for Buckley (52).

Referee: John O’Brien (Tipperary).

John O’Brien (Arravale Rovers and Tipperary) will be the referee for the Harty Cup Final and he will be joined all Tipperary officials – linesmen Fergal Horgan and John McCormack (both Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams) and umpires James O’Brien, Roger O’Connor, Brian Glasheen and Darren Lowry (all Arravale Rovers).

ARDSCOIL RIS PANEL – Michael Andrews (Na Piarsaigh), Gordon Browne (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Peadar Collins (Na Piarsaigh), Eoghan Costelloe (Adare), Colin Crehan (O’Callaghan Mills), Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh), Jack English (Adare), Conor Fitzgerald (Claughaun), Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge), John Flynn (Patrickswell), Nathan Fox (Parteen), Ian Galvin (Clonlara), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), Sean Hogan (Adare), Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh), Fionn Larkin (Clonlara), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Mackey (Adare), Charlie McCarthy (Adare), Alex Morey (Sixmilebridge), Eoghan Mulcahy (Mungret), Niall Mulcahy (Mungret), Cian O’Brien (Mungret), Evan O’Brien (Na Piarsaigh), Josh O’Halloran (Na Piarsaigh), Micheal O’Loughlin (Clonlara), Paraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara), Sean Phelan (Broadford), Eoin Quilty (South Liberties), Eoin Ryan (Adare).

DOON PANEL- Shane Stapleton (Sean Treacys), Brian McPartland (Doon), Jack Cummins (Doon), Darren Roche (Pallasgreen), Brian McCarthy (Pallasgreen), Stephen Ryan (Doon), Shane O’Connell (Doon), Mike Dee (Murroe-Boher), Patrick Cummins (Doon), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Fiachra O’Grady (Doon), Dean Coleman (Doon), Joe Lonergan (Cappamore), David Buckley (Cappawhite), Barry Murphy (Doon), Shane Murphy (Pallasgreen), Adam Coleman (Cappamore), Matt Feehan (Sean Treacys), Anthony Foley (Cappamore), Thomas Hayes (Doon), Tadhg Whelan (Doon), Robbie Quirke (Cappawhite), Mark Coleman (Doon), Mikey Leahy (Cappawhite), Bernard Kennedy (Caherline), Dylan O’Dwyer (Doon), Darragh Clancy (Cappawhite), David Lonergan (Cappamore), Alan Cosgrave (Pallasgreen).


February 22, 2014
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,

GAA Units