Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Corn Thomáis Mhic Choilm (18.5 B Hurling) Semi-Final – Mitchelstown CBS 1-12 Colaiste Chroist Ri 0-14

February 18, 2016 @ 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Mitchelstown CBS through to Munster Senior B HC final

Mitchelstown CBS 1-12 Colaiste Chroist Ri 0-14

Report by Paddy Ryan

Following a dramatic last quarter at Rathkeale on Thursday Mitchelstown CBS came from 0-12 to 0- 6 down to win by the narrowest of margins in the Munster Senior BHC (Corn Tomais Mhic Choilm) semi final. Colaiste Criost Ri had the aid of the wind in the opening half. Michael Cussen was in outstanding form for Capwell side scoring some massive pointed frees many from long range.

Michael Cussen had five pointed frees by the end of the first quarter. CBS had to wait till the 18th minute when Adrian English pointed. The Mitchelstown lads had some wides from play and frees with Criost Ri also off target by David Byrne. In the 22nd minute James Keating pointed a free. Michael Cussen and James Keating swopped a pointed free each with Criost Ri finishing well with Colm Kiely pointing and Michael Cussen struck his 7th pointed free in the 28th minute. In the dying moments George Pendle had a vital point for CBS that cut the lead at the break 0-8 to 0-4.

CBS had the aid of the wind on the resumption. However it was Criost Ri who thundered into the game. Michael Cussen added two early pointed frees. James Keating and Cathal O’Mahony replied for CBS 0-10 to 0- 6. By the 40th minute Michael Cussen added a point from a free and from play that opened up a six point lead. CBS introduced Eric O’Donoghue who played a major role in their recovery. They moved Lorcan Finn to the ’40 with James Conway going to midfield. These changes worked very well. A free by Ian Butler found Eric O’Donoghue who placed Cathal O’Mahony for a goal. O’Mahony followed with a pointed free. In the 49th minute Michael Cussen had another pointed free that kept them 3 clear 0-13 to 1- 7.

CBS gained supremacy in the half backline and midfield sectors. George Pendle pointed and Cathal O’Mahony with a free in the 52nd minute cut the lead to a point 0-13 to 1- 9. O’Mahony levelled from a free soon after. Criost Ri had a sideline cut by Eoin O’Leary that was well cut off by Jack Coughlan who cleared to Cathal O’Mahony who gave his side the lead for the first time. Both sides were reduced to 14 men during the second half. CBS were reduced to 13 players in the closing moments. However the momentum stayed with them. In the 59th minute Michael Cussen struck his 13th point (12th free) to force level at 1-11 to 0- 14. Extra time looked very likely, Mitchelstown’s impressive Lorcan Finn won the puckout and pointed from long range to secure a place in the final against Abbey CBS. Mitchelstown CBS have never contested a Senior B HC final to date.

Scorers for CBS : Cathal O’Mahony 1-5 (0-3f) James Keating 0-3f, George Pendle 0-2, Lorcan Finn 0-1, Adrian English 0-1.

Colaiste Criost Ri : Michael Cussen 0-13 (0-12f) Colm Kiely 0-1.

MITCHELSTOWN CBS : Ian Butler (Kildorrery) Eoin Gallahue (Galtee Gaels) John O’Donoghue (Ballygiblin) Killian Roche (do) Jack Coughlan (Glanworth) Colin English (Fr. Sheehy’s) Michael Lewis (Ballygiblin) Cathal O’Sullivan (do) Lorcan Finn (do) George Pendle (do) Sean O’Sullivan (do) James Keating (Kildorrery) Cathal O’Mahony (Ballygiblin) Mark Keane (do) Adrian English (Skeheenarinky)
Subs James Conway (Fr. Sheehy’s) for Mark Keane (inj) Cathal Harrington (Kildorrery) for James Keating (inj) Eric O’Donoghue (Glanworth) for Cathal O’Sullivan.

COLAISTE CRIOST RI : Shane Hurley (St. Finbarr’s) Darragh Kelly (Douglas) Mark Hitchmough (Shamrocks) Eoin O’Regan (St. Finbarr’s) David Byrne (Tracton) Jack Ryan (Sliabh Rua) Eoin O’Leary (do) Conor Dennehy (St. Finbarr’s) Ian Butler (Sliabh Rua) Michael Cussen (Ballygarvan) Sean Dennehy (St. Finbarr’s) Mark O’Keeffe (Blackrock) Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers) Colm Kiely (do) Jack O’Brien (St., Finbarr’s).


February 18, 2016
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

GAA Units