Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Corn Sheáin Uí Mhurchú (18.5 C Football) Semi-Final – Mitchelstown CBS 0-13 MICC Lisdoonvarna 2-5

February 13, 2016

Mitchelstown CBS through to Munster Senior FC final

Mitchelstown CBS 0-13 MICC Lisdoonvarna 2-5

Report by Paddy Ryan

Mitchelstown CBS with an outstanding second half overcame MICC Lisdoonvarna in the Munster Senior C FC semi final at Rathkeale on Saturday. The game was played in wintry conditions. The North Clare side started very well. Paraic Kelly opened with a pointed free. They had a goal from a penalty in the 4th minute by Ronan Danaher. CBS lost sterling defender Dylan Kent a minute later through injury. Further pressure led to a long range point by Jonah Culligan. CBS regrouped and a movement by Colin English and Sean O’ Sullivan led to a point by Cathal O’Mahony. O’Mahony followed with a pointed free following a foul on Sean Walsh. Lisdoonvarna replied when Jonah Culligan and Conor Shannon combined well for Ronan Danaher who made it 1-3 to 0-2.

Cathal O’Mahony had a very good point for CBS with Paraic Kelly replying from a free in the 18th minute 1-4 to 0-3. CBS replied with two points. First Cathal O’Mahony and Mark Keane worked well for Colin English who pointed with Mark Keane adding a great point after good play by Colin English 1-4 to 0-5. Just when CBS seemed to be back in the hunt they were dealt a major blow when the Clare side had a great goal by Joseph McCann that put them double scores ahead 2-4 to 0-5. In the closing moments CBS got points by Cathal O’Mahony and Sean O’Sullivan that left just 3 points between them at the break 2-4 to 0-7.

On the resumption Lisdoonvarna had their only score in the second minute when Paraic Kelly pointed a free. CBS dominated, they gained complete control in the half backline line and their midfielders won the aerial tussles. The CBS attack were in constant supply and six points without reply shows their dominance. First a ’45 by Eoin O’Mahony was kicked over by Mark Keane in the 39th minute. Eoin O’Mahony followed with a free. Mark Keane added another point. CBS created some great movements but were off target from play and frees. They drew level in the 47th minute when George Pendle worked well for Cathal O’Mahony who kicked over.

Adrian English gave CBS the lead with a punched point in the 54th minute. Lisdoonvarna tried very hard to get back on terms. They were unable to break down a very solid CBS defence. In injury time good play by Sean Walsh to the outstanding Lorcan Finn led to the insurance point by Mark Keane. The final whistle followed and CBS were through to the final that they last won in 1991. They will face Milltown (Kerry) in the decider.

Scorers for Mitchelstown CBS : Cathal O’Mahony 0-5 (0-1f) Mark Keane 0-4, Colin English 0-1, Sean O’Sullivan 0-1, Eoin O’Mahony 0-1f, Adrian English 0-1.

MICC Lisdoonvarna : Ronan Danaher 1-1 (1-0 pen) Joseph McCann 1-0, Paraic Kelly 0-3f. Jonah Culligan 0-1

MITCHELSTOWN CBS : Cathal O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown) Daniel Gallahue (Galtee Gaels) Eric O’Donoghue (Glanworth) Killian Roche (Mitchelstown) Dylan Kent (Kildorrery) Jack Coughlan (Glanworth) Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown) Sean Walsh (do) Colin English (Fr. Sheehy’s) Eoin O’Mahony (Ballylanders) Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown) George Pendle (do) Adrian English (Ballyporeen) Mark Keane (Mitchelstown) Cathal O’Mahony (do)
Sub: Ian Butler (Kildorrery) for Dylan Kent (injured)

MICC LISDOONVARNA : Tristan O’Callaghan (St. Breckan’s) Cian Burke (do) Cathal Guerin (do) Crebhan Hughes (do) Jack Sheedy (do) Evan Barrett (do) Aaron O’Brien (do) Jonah Culligan (Ballyvaughan) Paraic Kelly (St. Breckan’s) Conor Shannon (do) Alan Sweeney (do) Aidan McNamara (Michael Cusack’s) Colm O’Brien (St. Breckan’s) Joseph McCann (do) Ronan Danaher (do)
Subs: Liam O’Sullivan (St Breckan’s) for Ronan Danaher (blood) Ronan Danaher for Liam O’Sullivan, Liam O’Sullivan for Evan Barrett (black card)

Referee J P Kiely (Limerick)


February 13, 2016

GAA Units