Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Corn Réamainn Uí hÓgáin (Under 15 B Hurling) Final – St John The Baptist Hospital 3-11 St. Francis College Rochestown 0-10

May 4, 2016 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

John The Baptist Hospital make it a football and hurling double

St John The Baptist Hospital 3-11 St. Francis College Rochestown 0-10

Report by Paddy Ryan

St John The Baptist Hospital proved too good for St Francis Rochestown in the Munster Under 15 B Hurling Championghip final at Fermoy on Wednesday.

Throughout the game the South Limerick side were the better balanced outfit and they led all through. They had three early points by Eoin O Mahony. St Francis opened with a 10th minute point by Piaras O’Halloran (free) The winners had their first goal in the 17th minute by Peter Morrissey. Rochestown improved as the half progressed with Cian McCarthy doing well at centre back. However rapid points by impressive Dean Heffernan and Eoin O’ Mahony (free) made it 1-5 to 0-3 after 20 minutes. The City side finished the half well with 3 points by Alan O’Hare, Sean Andrews and Piaras O’Halloran (free) to come within 2 at the break 1-5 to 0- 6.

Hospital had a goal early in the second half by Aidan O’ Heney. Rochestown struck a good patch and four points in a 10 minutes spell had them right back in the hunt entering the final quarter when trailing 2- 6 to 0- 10. Hospital dominated the last quarter adding a goal and five points without reply to run out easy victors. It marked a very good season for the John The Baptist side as they already were crowned Munster Under 15 B FC kingpins. After the game John Brennan Munster Colleges Administrator presented the winning captain Kieran O’Donnell with the Corn Reamonn Ui hOgain cup

Scorers for St John The Baptist : Eoin O’Mahony 0-9 (0-8f) Dean Heffernan 1-1, Aidan O’ Heney 1-0, Peter Morrissey 1-0, Darragh McNamara 0-1.

St Francis Rochestown : Piaras O’Halloran 0-4f. Sean Andrews 0-2, Nathan O’Connell 0-2, Alan O’Hara 0-1, Cormac O’ Dowd 0-1.

ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST : Jack Franklin (Kilteely) Sean Erasmus (Caherline) Michael Martin (Ballybricken) Jake Kennedy (Caherline), Killian O’Shea (Hospital-Herbertstown) Kieran O’Donnell (Capt) (Pallasgreen) Aidan McNamara (do) Eoin O’Mahony (Garryspillane) David O’Connell (Kilteely) Patrick Byrne (Ballybricken) Dean Heffernan (Emly) Aidan O’Heney (do) Peter Morrissey (Garryspillane) Killian Reale (Hospital-Herbertstown) Darragh McAuley (Emly)
Subs: Darragh McNamara (Caherline) for Patrick Byrne, Pa Reale (Knockainey) for Darragh McAuley

ST FRANCIS ROCHESTOWN : Jack McCarthy (St. Finbarr’s) Craig Ryan (Blackrock) Sean Harrington (Carrigaline) Cillian Quinlan (Passage), Stephen Fenton (Ballygarvan) Cian McCarthy (Blackrock) Peter Leneghan (do) Adam Cantwell (Douglas) Nathan O’Connell (Cobh) Ray O’Halloran (Capt) (Ballygarvan) Piaras O’Halloran (do) Daniel Cunningham (Douglas) Cormac O’Dowd (Ballygarvan) Jack O’Sullivan (Cobh) Alan O’Hare (Douglas)
Subs: Sean Andrews (Shamrocks) for Ray O’Halloran (inj) Callum Finnegan (Douglas) for Jack O’Sullivan, Sean Cantillon (do) for Cillian Quinlan

Referee: Sean Everard (Moyne-Templetuohy)

Photo 2


May 4, 2016
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

GAA Units