Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Corn Mhic Chraith U/15 C Football Final – PS Sliabh Luachra 5-15 Hospital C.S. 1-8

December 5, 2012 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

CORN MHIC CRAITH UNDER-15 FC FINAL: Pobal Scoil Sliabh Luachra 5-15, Community School Hospital 1-9

Report from the Corkman newspaper

POBAL Scoil Sliabh Luachra (Rathmore) proved far too good for Community School Hospital in the Corn Mhic Craith Under 15 FC at Mallow on Wednesday.

The winners dominated all through playing an attractive brand of football and their ability to take scores at their ease was the main difference. Dean Fitzgerald and Shane O’Sullivan at centre forward and full forward respectively were commanding figures all through.

Mark Ryan at corner forward was also very threatening Hospital had an outstanding player in wing forward David Hannon while Darragh Carroll and Tadgh Leddin also did well. Three goals in the first quarter by Sean O’Sullivan gave the Rathmore side a vital advantage.

Hospital had an early point by Jamie McCarthy but had to wait till the 28th minute for their second point by David Hannon. In injury time David Hannon put Thomas Breen through for a goal. At the break the winners led 3-5 to 1-2. Four points on the resumption for Sliabh Luachra were followed by a goal by Mark Ryan that opened up a 4-9 to 1-3 lead.

The South Limerick side battled hard but lacked power up front. In the 46th minute Pat Warren goaled for the winners after a four man movement. There was no way back for Hospital but they continued to try to the very end. They had points by David Hannon and Darragh Carroll but their was no denying Sliabh Luachra their first ever victory in this championship.

After the game Tom Collum Colleges Administrator presented the Mhic Craith Cup to the winning captain Dean Fitzgerald.

SLIABH LUACHRA RATHMORE: J Cronin (Gneveguilla) D O’Callaghan (Rathmore) C O’Connor (Gneveguilla) T Fleming (do) R O’Brien (Cullen) K O’Connor (Gneveguilla) P O’Connor (Knocknagree) J J Herlihy 0-1, (Gneveguilla) D Cronin 0-1, (Rathmore) B Friel 0-2, (do) D Fitzgerald 0-2, (01f) (do) P Warren 1-0, (Gneveguilla) J O’Leary 0-2 (0-1f) (do) S O’Sullivan 3-4 (0-1f) (do) M Ryan 1-3, (Rathmore).
Subs: J Brosnan (Gneveguilla) for J O’Leary, S Lucey (Glenflesk) for M Ryan, P Jacob (Glenflesk) for J Cronin.

COMMUNITY SCHOOL HOSPITAL: J Donovan (Galbally) J Bulfin (Bruff) P J Butler (Pallasgreen) T Leddin (Hospital-Herbertstown) F Murphy (Kilteely-Dromkeen) M O’Grady (Knockainey) D O’Shea (Hospital-Herbertstown) D Carroll 0-2, (Newport) M O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen) D Hannon 0-4, (Pallasgreen) R Buckley 0-1, (Knockainey) C O’Grady (Hospital-Herbertstown) J McCarthy 0-1, (Kilteely-Dromkeen) T Breen 1-0, (Hospital-Herbertstown) N Byrne 0-1, (Galbally)

REFEREE: Michael Sheehan (Liscarroll)


December 5, 2012
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units