Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Hurling League Final – Clare 4-19 Tipperary 1-18

January 13, 2019 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Clare defeated Tipperary by 4-19 to 1-18 in the 2019 Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League Final on Sunday January 13th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Superior goalscoring helps Clare claim early silverware with win over Tipp

Report By Michael Moynihan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Clare 4-19 – 1-18 Tipperary

Early silverware to Clare, who picked up the Co-Op Superstores Munster SHL trophy yesterday in the Gaelic Grounds before 4,531 spectators. The Banner’s goalscoring ability proved crucial in an entertaining game.

Tipperary started with the breeze, and a sideline cut pointed by Jason Forde, while Clare hit early wides before Colin Guilfoyle tied the game up. A Seamus Callanan 65 was the other score in a low-key opening ten minutes.

Callanan (free), Alan Flynn and Jason Forde pushed Tipp’s lead to 0-4 to 0-1 when Clare struck on 17 minutes – a long delivery spilled to Cathal McInerney near the square, and he buried a goal: 1-1 to 0-5.

The game picked up in intensity. Diarmuid Ryan levelled for Clare and they goaled again, a sweet passing move involving Michael O’Neill and Cathal McInerney ended with Tony Kelly batting to the net. Forde pointed on the puck-out and Callanan added a free: 2-2 to 0-7 on 25 minutes.

Ryan and Niall Deasy (free) pushed Clare three ahead by the half-hour, but Forde, Flynn and Mark Kehoe levelled with three on the spin. There was time for Ryan Taylor and Forde to swap points, leaving it 0-11 to 2-5 at the break.

Clare resumed with a Shane Golden point and a Colin Guilfoyle goal from close range after a good run, with Callanan pointing a free in reply. A Kelly point and it was 3-7 to 0-12 on 40 minutes.

Clare were now on top – a long-range effort from Kelly went all the way to the net on 44 minutes and Ryan, Deasy, Taylor and Guilfoyle points pushed them to 4-13; all Tipperary had in response was a Mark Kehoe point, making it 4-13 to 0-13 at the three quarter stage.

The Banner duly pushed on for the win, despite a late goal by Tipp sub Dan McCormack.

Click to view photos of the game

Scorers for Clare: T. Kelly (2-3)(1 free); C. Guilfoyle (1-3); C. McInerney (1-2); N. Deasy (2 frees), D. Ryan (0-3 each); S. Golden, R. Taylor (0-2 each); M. O’Malley (0-1).

Scorers for Tipperary: S. Callanan (0-8)(6 frees, 1 65); J. Forde (0-5)(1 sideline, 1 free); D. McCormack (1-0); A. Flynn, M. Kehoe (0-2 each); N. McGrath (0-1).

CLARE: D. Tuohy, J. McCarthy, D. McInerney, R. Hayes, A. McCarthy, C. Cleary, C. Malone, S. Golden, T. Kelly (c), D. Ryan, N. Deasy, R. Taylor, C. Guilfoyle, C. McInerney, M. O’Neill.
Subs: P. Collins for O’Neill (53); D. Conroy for Ryan (55); M. O’Malley for A. McCarthy (58); G. Cooney for C. McInerney (65); J. Browne for Hayes (67).

TIPPERARY: B. Hogan, C. Barrett, Padraic Maher, D. Maher, A. Flynn, S. Kennedy, J. O’Dwyer, W. Connors, M. Breen, J. Forde, Patrick Maher, C. English, M. Kehoe, S. Callanan, J. Morris.
Subs: R. Maher for Connors (HT); N. McGrath for Morris (44); D. McCormack for Kehoe (48); K. O’Dwyer for Barrett (57); R. Byrne for Kennedy (inj, 57).

Referee: T. Walsh (Waterford).

Fixture Details

Sunday January 13th
2019 Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League Final
Clare v Tipperary
Venue: Gaelic Grounds Limerick @ 2pm
Referee: TBC
Extra time if necessary (Result on the Day)

Ticket Information

Adult General Admission: €10
U-16’s Free
Students/OAPs will receive €5 concession on full priced tickets with valid id prior to entry.

Click to buy tickets online

Tickets can also be purchased in advance at participating Centra & Supervalu outlets.

Team News

As Tipperary prepare to meet Clare in the 2019 Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League Final in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday next, January 13th, at 2pm, manager Liam Sheedy has announced his side to contest this final and it is as follows;
1 Barry Hogan – Kiladangan
2 Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
3 Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
4 Donagh Maher – Burgess
5 Alan Flynn – Kiladangan
6 Séamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s
7 Joe O’Dwyer – Killenaule
8 Willie Connors – Kiladangan
9 Michael Breen – Ballina
10 Jason Forde – Silvermines
11 Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha
12 Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s
13 Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
14 Seamus Callanan – Drom-Inch
15 Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg
16 Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
17 Robert Byrne – Portroe
18 Cian Darcy – Kilruane MacDonaghs
19 Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
20 Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
21 Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
22 Mark McCarthy – Toomevara
23 Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh
24 Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
25 Killian O’Dwyer – Killenaule
26 David Sweeney – Kiladangan

1. Donal Tuohy

2. Jason McCarthy
3. David McInerney
4. Rory Hayes

5. Aidan McCarthy
6. Conor Cleary
7. Cathal Malone

8. Shane Golden
9. Tony Kelly

10. Diarmuid Ryan
11. Niall Deasy
12. Ryan Taylor

13. Colin Guilfoyle
14. Cathal McInerney
15. Michael O’Neill


16. Keith Hogan
17. Gary Cooney
18. Michael O’Malley
19. Brian Corry
20. Jack Browne
21. Colm Galvin
22. Ian Galvin
23. David Conroy
24. Rian Considine
25. Podge Collins
26. Jamie Shanahan


January 13, 2019
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

GAA Units