Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Christy Ring Cup Hurling – Kerry 1-25 Kildare 1-21

April 23, 2011 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Kerry defeated Kildare by 1-25 to 1-21 in Round 1 of the Christy Ring Cup Senior Hurling Championship on Saturday at Newbridge.

Nolan the driving force in Kerry win

Kerry 1-25 Kildare 1-21

By Daragh Ó Conchúir for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Monday, April 25, 2011

SHANE Nolan confirmed his under-age promise by blitzing Kildare’s defence for seven points from play as Kerry got their Christy Ring Cup campaign under way at Newbridge. The Crotta man, allied with the ten points provided by Darragh O’Connell, enabled John Meyler’s men to claim the spoils. The hosts put their recent troubles behind them under recently-appointed manager Willie Sunderland and led by a point until John Egan goaled in the 55th minute. Kerry followed with three points in as many minutes to give John Meyler’s men breathing space. Tony Murphy did get a goal back in the dying minutes but Kerry maintained the upper hand.

Scorers for Kerry: D O’Connell 0-10 (4fs, 2 65s), S Nolan 0-7, J Egan 1-2, J Flaherty 0-2, J Casey, M Conway, L Boyle, D Dineen 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kildare: M Fitzgerald 0-5 (4fs), T Murphy 1-2, L Quinn, D Harney 0-3 each, K Divilly, C Kelly, M Moloney 0-2 each, N Ó Muineacháin, B White 0-1 each.

KERRY: B Rochford; J Godley, T Murnane, C Harris, J Casey, M Conway, P O’Grady; D Dineen, J Egan; M Boyle, G O’Brien, S Nolan; D O’Connell, A Boyle, J Flaherty.

Subs: E Fitzgerald for Harris (inj. 3), A Royle for O’Grady (45), L Boyle for O’Brien (62), P O’Keeffe for Conway (67), B Murphy for Flaherty (70).

KILDARE: R Connolly; J Doran, P Reidy, F Ó Muineacháin; J Byrne, R Hoban, N Ó Muineacháin; K Divilly, B White; C Kelly, M Moloney, L Quinn; T Murphy, D Harney, M Fitzgerald.

Subs: E O’Neill for Byrne (54); T Byrne for White (58); K Waltzer for Murphy (69).

Referee: E Hasson (Derry)

Team News


Thursday, 21 April 2011 20:41 | from

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team Vs Kildare, Christy Ring Cup, Round 1, in Newbridge 2.30pm, Saturday 23rd of April, 2011 is as follows:

1 Bernard Rochford Killeagh, Co Cork

2 James Godley Kilmoyley 3 Tom Murnane Kilmoyley 4 Colin Harris Ballincollig, Co Cork

5 Jason Casey Ballyheigue 6 Mike Conway Lixnaw 7 Padraigh O’Grady Ballyduff

8 Darren Dinneen Ardfert 9 John Egan Ardfert

10 Michael Boyle, Captain Ballyduff 11 Gary O’Brien Ballyduff 12 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills

13 Darragh O Connell Abbeydorney 14 Aidan Boyle Ballyduff 15 James Flaherty Lixnaw

Subs as follows: 16 John Brendan O’Halloran Kilmoyley

17 Brendan Brosnan Lixnaw 18 David Fitzelle Kilmoyley 19 Liam Boyle Ballyduff

20 Patrick O Keefe Glenfesk 21 Adrian Royle Kilmoyley 22 Paud Costelloe Ballyduff

23 Brian Murphy Causeway 24 Eamonn Fitzgerald Causeway 25 John Fitzgerald Causeway

26 Darren Delaney Ardfert 27 Padraigh Monson Glen Rovers, Co Cork. 28 Ronan Kenny Ballyheigue

29 Anthony Fealy Causeway 30 Darren Wallace Ardfert 31 Niall Young Kilmoyley


April 23, 2011
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

GAA Units