Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster U21 Hurling Semi-Final – Clare 0-23 Waterford 1-18

July 15, 2015 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Clare defeated Waterford by 0-23 to 1-18 in the Bord Gais Energy Munster U21 Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Wednesday July 15th at Cusack Park Ennis in front of an attendance of 6,639.

Bobby Duggan drives Clare to fourth Munster Under-21 hurling final in a row

Clare 0-23 Waterford 1-18

Report from the Irish Times Newspaper

Thirteen Bobby Duggan points helped Clare stun hot favourites Waterford at Cusack Park to reach their fourth Munster Under-21 hurling final in a row.

Ian Galvin weighed in with six points from play, but Austin Gleeson’s late 20-metre free was blocked by the Clare defence to clinch the win and the place in final against the winners of tomorrow’s semi-final between Limerick and Tipperary in two weeks’ time

Operating with a two-man inside forward line, Mikey Kearney had licence to roam out around the middle while DJ Foran proved an excellent target man at the edge of the square for Waterford. And in the early stages they looked like the more experienced team. Despite trailing 0-2 to 0-1 after five minutes thanks to two points from play from Duggan, Waterford hit six of the next eight points to surge three clear by the end of the first quarter. Three of those scores came from Patrick Curran frees, while Austin Gleeson at centre-forward also weighed in with two from play.

But Duggan, one of five senior panellists for Clare, was in inspired form and he hit all of Clare’s first five points to keep them in touch. Much of the Waterford focus at the back centred on Shane O’Donnell and the 2013 All-Ireland final hero hardly had a sniff before the break. The closest he came to a score arrived in the 18th minute when Davy Conroy’s effort rattled the post and the Eire Og man gathered the rebound. But Tadhg De Burca crowded him out immediately and his shot under pressure failed to find the target.

Waterford, who had 10 points to spare against Cork in the last round, frustrated Clare with their tight cover inside, but the points soon rolled from further out the field. Galvin – younger brother of Clare senior Colm – Ryan Taylor and Shane Gleeson all pointed before the interval to leave Waterford leading by 0-11 to 0-10.

Once again after the restart Clare’s intensity, and eagerness to hook and tackle their opponents stood out and that led to the equalising score from Duggan in the 32nd minute. A great move featuring Eoin Quirke, Kevin Hehir sent Galvin on his way for the lead score three minutes later – the first time they led for half an hour – and wing-back Aidan McGuane made it 0-13 to 0-11 a minute later with his first point.

Waterford weren’t helping themselves with three poor wides to start the half but Austin Gleeson settled them with a long range free after 38 minutes. Clare responded with three more points in a row as Donal Moloney’s side looked like pulling clear. But this is a quality Waterford outfit, and in the 43rd minute Patrick Curran followed Colin Dunford’s point with a goal for his side to put them back in front once again. But three on the bounce from Clare – two from Galvin – saw them into the Munster final yet again.

CLARE: K Hogan; S O’Brien, D Fitzgerald, E Quirke (0-1); A McGuane (0-1), C Cleary (capt), B O’Gorman; D Conroy, K Hehir; B Duggan (0-13, seven frees), S Gleeson (0-1), I Galvin (0-6); R Taylor (0-1), S O’Donnell, S Ward
Subs: S Taylor for Gleeson (38 mins), N Deasy for Hehir (58 mins).

WATERFORD: J Henley; C Gleeson, K Bennett, S McNulty; M Harney, T De Burca, T Devine; C Dunford (0-1), R Donnelly; Shane Bennett (0-2, one 65), A Gleeson (0-5, one free, one 65), Stephen Bennett; M Kearney (0-1), DJ Foran (0-1), P Curran (1-7, 0-5 frees)
Subs: D Lyons for Harney (h-t), C Curran (0-1) for Donnelly (40 mins), S Keating for Foran (46 mins).

Referee: J Murphy (Limerick)

Fixture Details

Bord Gáis Energy Munster U/21 Hurling Semi-Final
Date: Wednesday 15/7/2015
Teams: An Clár v Portláirge
Venue: Cusack Park, Ennis
Time: 7.30pm
Extra Time if necessary i.e. 2 x 10 minutes only
Referee: Johnny Murphy (Luimneach)

Ticket Information

Adult: €10
Juvenile (Under 16): Free of Charge
Student/OAPs can buy a full price adult ticket and receive a concession of €5 at designated stiles at the venue with valid I.D.
This is an unreserved fixture

Tickets are available now via Centra, Supervalu and

Click here to buy your ticket online

Team News

1. Keith Hogan (Clooney Quin)
2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)
4. Shane O’Brien (Clonlara)
5. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
7. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)
8. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
9. Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona)
10. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
11. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe)
12. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
14. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
15. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
16: Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)
17: Brian Carey (Sixmilebridge)
18: Liam Corry (Éire Óg)
19: Shane Taylor (Broadford)
20: Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley)
21: Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
22: Diarmuid Moloney (Broadford)
23: Colin Crehan (O’Callaghans Mills)
24: Niall Deasy (Ballyea)

Waterford Under 21 Hurling team to play Clare in Wednesday’s Munster Under 21 Hurling Semi-Final is as below.

1 – Jordan Henley – Tallow
2 – Shane McNulty – De La Salle
3 – Kieran Bennett – Ballysaggart
4 – Conor Gleeson – Fourmilewater
5 – Michéal Harney – Bonmahon
6 – Tadhg de Búrca – Clashmore Kinsalebeg
7 – Shane Bennett – Ballysaggart
8 – Austin Gleeson – Mount Sion
9 – Tom Devine – Modeligo
10 – Colin Dunford – Colligan
11 – Stephen Bennett – Ballysaggart
12 – D.J. Foran – Portlaw
13 – Ryan Donnelly – Dungarvan
14 – Patrick Curran – Dungarvan
15 – Mikey Kearney – Ballyduff Upper

Match Programme



July 15, 2015
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units