Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1B – Limerick 2-16 Waterford 0-22

February 14, 2015 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Limerick and Waterford finished level – 2-16 to 0-22 in Round 1 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1B on February 14th in Gaelic Grounds, Limerick.

D1B: All square between Limerick and Waterford


Report from

Paudie Prendergast’s late point rescued a draw for Waterford in Saturday evening’s Allianz Hurling League Division IB opener against hosts Limerick.

Prendergast struck in the second minute of stoppage time to claim a share of the spoils for the visitors. It could yet turn out to be a priceless result in the race for promotion as Limerick looked to have won it in the first minute of injury-time when full-back Richie McCarthy drilled over a monstrous long-range score.

But youthful Waterford refused to panic and engineered that late, late leveller for sub Prendergast, who had replaced injured wing-back Philip Mahony in the first half.

It was a seesaw battle on a chilly evening, as 3,502 spectators were richly-entertained. Waterford led by four points on six occasions and stormed back to lead again by three after David Reidy’s 48th minute penalty goal brought Limerick level.

But Limerick had the whip hand in the closing minutes, leading by two points before Austin Gleeson and leading scorer Pauric Mahony hauled Waterford level again. There was time for the sides to trade those late scores and in a competitive Division IB, this was the ideal way to kick off.

At half-time, Waterford were 0-14 to 1-7 clear, having recovered from the concession of a first minute goal, the first of Reidy’s two penalty strikes. Mahony kept Waterford firing from placed balls while Gavin O’Mahony, cleared to play for Limerick by All-Ireland club finalists Kilmallock, was superb for the home side with four of his five points scored in the opening half.

In the second period, it was Paul Browne’s turn to lead the charge for Limerick, as he bagged three of his four points from play after the break.
Scorers for Limerick: D Reidy 2-3 (2-0 pen, 3f), G O’Mahony 0-5, P Browne 0-4, R McCarthy 0-1, T Condon 0-1, C Lynch 0-1, A Breen 0-1

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-11 (9f), J Barron 0-2, A Gleeson 0-2, B O’Halloran 0-2, P Prendergast 0-2, K Moran 0-1, M Walsh 0-1, Shane Bennett 0-1.

LIMERICK: N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, S Hickey; D O’Grady, W McNamara, T Condon; C King, P Browne; N Moran, G O’Mahony, C Lynch; D Reidy, P Begley, A Breen
Subs: T Morrissey for Moran (28), J Ryan for King (h.t.), D Morrissey for Begley (50), J Fitzgibbon for O’Grady (64), S O’Brien for Condon (65).

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; T Bourke, A Gleeson, Philip Mahony; J Barron, T Devine; K Moran, Pauric Mahony, J Dillon; B O’Halloran, M Walsh, M Kearney
Subs: P Prendergast for Philip Mahony (23), Shane Bennett for Kearney (42), Stephen Bennett for Dillon (48), M O’Neill for Devine (57), G O’Brien for Moran (69).

Referee: C Lyons (Cork)

Fixture Details

Saturday February 14th
Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1B 2015 Round 1
Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 19:00
Luimneach v Port Láirge Setanta
Referee: Colm Lyons (Corcaigh)

Match Coverage

This game will be shown live on Setanta 1

Team News

Limerick senior hurling starting fifteen is named for the opening Allianz hurling league game v Waterford: Nickie Quaid (Effin), Stephen Walsh (Glenroe), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher), Donal O’Grady (Capt)(Granagh Ballingarry), Wayne McNamara (Adare), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh), Paul Browne (Bruff), Declan Hannon (Adare), Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), David Reidy (Dromin Athlacce), David Breen (Na Piarsaigh) & Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

Waterford Senior Hurling Team to play Limerick tomorrow Saturday evening in Gaelic Grounds.

1. Stephen O’Keeffe Ballygunner

2. Shane Fives Tourin

3. Barry Coughlan Ballygunner

4. Noel Connors Passage

5. Tadhg Bourke Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

6. Austin Gleeson Mount Sion

7. Philip Mahony Ballygunner

8. Jamie Barron Fourmilewater

9. Tom Devine Modeligo

10. Kevin Moran (Captain) De La Salle

11. Pauric Mahony Ballygunner

12. Jake Dillon De La Salle

13. Brian O’Halloran Clashmore/Kinsalebeg

14. Michael Walsh Stradbally

15. Michael Kearney Ballyduff Upper


February 14, 2015
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units