Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Tipperary 2-18 Galway 0-20

February 22, 2015 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Galway by 2-18 to 0-20 in Round 2 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on February 22nd in Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Video Highlights

Div IA: Tipp off the mark with win over Galway


Eamon O’Shea’s Tipperary held off a spirited fightback from Galway to collect their first Allianz League points of the season this afternoon. In front of 4,176 spectators, Tipp led by ten points in the second half before the visiting Tribesmen came roaring back into contention.

Galway were three points adrift and chasing an elusive goal before sub Conor Kenny made the game safe for Tipperary with an injury-time point. And Tipp, who lost heavily to Dublin in their opening Allianz League fixture, could finally breathe easily.

Tipp, beaten Allianz League finalists for the past two seasons, led by 0-14 to 0-11 at half-time and cracked on within 20 seconds of the restart. League debutant John McGrath, younger brother of Noel, kicked a pass to All Star John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer and the Killenaule man buried a low shot into the bottom corner. After Séamus Callanan tagged on a free, the Drom & Inch hitman added a cheeky goal, deftly flicking the sliotar past Colm Callanan.

That score sent Tipp ten points clear – 2-15 to 0-10 – and the Premier County looked home and hosed. But Galway, winners over Clare in the opening round, were playing with the aid of a strong breeze blowing towards the Town End and points from Iarla Tannian and Joseph Cooney reduced the deficit to eight.

Jason Forde pushed Tipp nine points clear again but the remainder of the game, the hosts were outscored by 0-2 to 0-7, with Joseph Cooney impressive for Galway. The closest that the Westerners could get to their opponents was three points, however, and Tipp managed to keep the visitors at arm’s length. The first half was dominated for the most part by Tipp, with Kieran Bergin exceptional at midfield in difficult underfoot conditions.
Scorers for Tipperary: S Callanan 1-3 (0-2f), J O’Dwyer 1-1, K Bergin & J Forde 0-3 each, J McGrath 0-2, D Gleeson (f), R Maher, G Ryan, D Maher, B Maher & C Kenny 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: J Flynn 0-4 (3f, 1 sl), J Cooney & C Mannion 0-3 each, A Smith (1f), P Brehony & J Regan 0-2 each, I Tannian, J Glynn, D Higgins & B Molloy 0-1 each

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Barrett, P Curran, C O’Brien; M Breen, P Maher, R Maher; K Bergin, G Ryan; D Maher, J Forde, B Maher; J O’Dwyer, S Callanan, J McGrath
Subs: J Woodlock for Ryan (h.t.), C Kenny for D Maher (inj, 42), N McGrath for J McGrath (54), J Meagher for Bergin (70).

GALWAY: C Callanan; J Coen, J Hanbury, P Mannion; G McInerney, D Collins, I Tannian; J Cooney, A Smith; P Brehony, C Mannion, D Higgins; J Regan, J Flynn, J Glynn
Subs: K Hynes for Brehony (43), G Lally for Higgins (47), B Molloy for Regan (52), A Harte for Flynn (69).

Referee: J Owens (Westmeath)
Report: Jackie Cahill for

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Galway in Semple Stadium on Sunday in the Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A round 2 has just been announced and sees manager Eamon O’Shea hand out a full league debut again this weekend. In comes John McGrath of Loughmore Castleiney, younger brother of Noel, who takes up position at top of the left. And having come on as a replacement in last week’s match in Parnell Park, Michael Breen from Ballina who has made two appearances as a replacement get’s his first League start. With injured duo Joe O’Dwyer and Shane McGrath not considered, Ronan Maher and Conor O’Brien also retain their end of match placings of last week. As a result three of this year’s Under 21 panel start this fixture.

Tipperary (SH v Galway) – Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Cathal Barrett (Holycross Ballycahill), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty), Michael Breen (Ballina), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Jason Forde (Silvermines), Brendan Maher Capt. (Borris Ileigh), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)

Galway (HL Division 1A v Tipperary) – Colm Callanan; Johnny Coen, John Hanbury, AN Other; Gearoid McInerney, David Collins, Iarlaith Tannian; Joseph Cooney, Andrew Smith; Padraig Brehony, Jonathan Glynn, Dean Higgins; Cathal Mannion, Jason Flynn, James Regan

Match Coverage

Deferred coverage of this game will be shown on TG4


February 22, 2015
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units