Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Waterford 0-20 Cork 1-14

February 20, 2016 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Waterford defeated Cork by 0-20 to 1-14 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on Saturday February 20th at Pairc Ui Rinn.

D1A: Waterford too good once again for Rebels


By Alan O’Connell for

Pat Horgan goaled a late free but Cork slumped to their second defeat of the campaign as reigning champions Waterford marched on at Páirc Uí Rinn. It was Waterford’s second win in less than a week, after they great effort against Kilkenny last Sunday, and they were led to victory by their All-Ireland minor winning contingent from 2013.

Austin Gleeson was a star in the half-back line again, and his late point ensured victory – that came directly after Maurice Shanahan was given a straight red for an off-the-ball incident. Cork’s Alan Cadogan was also sent-off in a feisty ending to the match but despite Horgan’s goal Waterford held on. Waterford played into a slight breeze in the first-half, but still held a 0-11 to 0-7 lead at the break.

Horgan got Cork’s account up and running after seven minutes – Kevin Moran had earlier angled over an effort from the touchline. Waterford hit three in a row, with Shanahan finding his range, Darragh Fives advanced from the half-back line to add his name to the scoreline and Gleeson’s effort from distance was a fantastic score.

Horgan and Shanahan exchanged frees before Daniel Kearney and Brian Lawton slotted as they reduced the arrears to the minimum, 0-5 to 0-4 after 16 minutes. Jamie Barron got a deserved point, and further efforts from Shanahan and Patrick Curran (both two) and a smart point from Jake Dillon ensured Waterford were in the ascendency at the break. But Horgan kept Cork in it with four first-half points. He hit their first of the second-half, five minutes in but Shanahan and Colin Dunford added to Waterford’s tally. Waterford shot three in a row with Barron’s second giving them a 0-16 to 0-8 lead. But Cork didn’t drop their heads.

Horgan and Brian Lawton notched efforts before a tremendous Aidan Walsh sideline brought the home-faithful to their feet. Dunford’s disputed point just before the hour re-established Waterford’s seven-point lead but Conor Lehane hit two in a row. Shanahan got his marching orders in the 66th minute, and after Gleeson pointed a free, Cadogan was also sent-off. Horgan goaled but Waterford had enough.


Scorers for Cork: P Horgan 1-6 (1-4f), C Lehane 0-3, B Lawton 0-2, A Walsh 0-1 (1 sl), D Kearney 0-1, A Cadogan 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: M Shanahan 0-6 (5f, 0-1 ’65), A Gleeson 0-3 (1f), P Curran 0-3, J Barron 0-2, C Dunford 0-2, K Moran 0-1, D Fives 0-1, J Dillon 0-1, S Bennett 0-1.

CORK:A Nash; S O’Neill, C Joyce, S McDonnell; D Cahalane, W Egan, C Spillane; D Kearney, A Walsh; B Lawton, B Cooper, L McLoughlin; C Lehane, W Leahy, P Horgan
Subs: A Cadogan for Leahy (HT), S Moylan for Kearney (HT), M Ellis for Egan (46), C Murphy for Spillane (46), P O’Sullivan for McLoughlin (64).

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; A Gleeson, D Fives, P Mahony; J Barron, M Shanahan; K Moran, S Bennett, M Walsh; P Curran, J Dillon, C Dunford
Subs: B O’Halloran for Bennett (59 mins), T Devine for Curran (61), M Kearney for Dunford (69).

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

Team News

CORK (HL v Waterford): A Nash (Kanturk); Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers); D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), W Egan (Kilbrin), C Spillane (Castlelyons); D Kearney (Sarsfields), A Walsh (Kanturk); B Lawton (Castlemartyr), B Cooper (Youghal), L McLoughlin (Kanturk); C Lehane (Midleton), W Leahy (Aghada), P Horgan (Glen Rovers). Subs: P Collins (Ballinhassig), S Murphy (Blackrock), M Ellis (Millstreet), P Cronin (Bishopstown), A Cadogan (Douglas), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), C McCarthy (Sarsfields), S Moylan (Douglas), C Murphy (Mallow), L O’Farrell (Midleton), K Burke (Midleton).

The Waterford Senior Hurling Team to face Cork in round two of the Allianz National Hurling League Pairc Uí Rinn on Saturday 20th Feb at 7pm have being named –

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
5. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
6. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle) – Captain
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)


February 20, 2016
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units