Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Kilkenny 1-22 Cork 2-17

February 14, 2015 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Kilkenny defeated Cork by 1-22 to 2-17 in Round 1 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on February 14th in Pairc Ui Rinn.

D1A: Kilkenny survive late scare to see off Cork


The All-Ireland champions Kilkenny got their Allianz Hurling League Division IA campaign off to a winning start against Cork in Páirc Uí Rinn tonight, but the path to victory was a circuitous one.

More than once, Brian Cody’s side looked to have done enough to secure the win but Cork goals from Luke O’Farrell and Conor Lehane gave the hosts hope and O’Farrell almost stole victory with an injury-time shot which whistled wide.

Kilkenny were deserving winners, though. They fielded eight of the side which began the All-Ireland final replay win over Tipperary, but interestingly none of the six forwards from that day. Richie Hogan, Hurler of the Year as a midfielder, finished with 11 points and excelled in a corner-forward role while Walter Walsh and Mark Kelly also advanced their claims for regular starting spots. It was Jonjo Farrell’s goal in the ninth minute which put Kilkenny into a 1-2 to 0-3 lead and they wouldn’t trail after that. While an Anthony Nash penalty save from Hogan soon after the goal prevented it being more comfortable for the Cats, with a 1-11 to 0-12 half-time lead, they were set to push on.

After Kieran Joyce and Seamus Harnedy exchanged points on the resumption, Kilkenny clicked into gear and scored seven of the next eight points to open up a 1-19 to 0-14 lead. Cork looked spent, but the free-taking of Patrick Horgan was as reliable as ever and two from him brought them to within six before their first goal.

When Cormac Murphy’s long delivery dropped in the goalmouth, O’Farrell got the vital touch and at the other end Nash kept Kelly out. Even still, points from Kelly and Hogan pushed Kilkenny five clear at the start of injury time only for Lehane to pounce when Kilkenny goalkeeper Eoin Murphy couldn’t cleanly catch another Cormac Murphy delivery. It left just two in it, but the game-winning goal remained elusive for Cork.
Scorers for Kilkenny: R Hogan 0-11 (0-7f, 0-1 65), M Kelly 0-4, W Walsh 0-3, J Farrell 1-0, P Walsh 0-1, M Ruth 0-1, K Joyce 0-1, L Ryan 0-1

Scorers for Cork: P Horgan 0-9 (0-8f), C Lehane 1-2, L O’Farrell 1-0, A Cadogan 0-2, S Harnedy 0-1, D Kearney 0-1, B Cooper 0-1, P O’Sullivan 0-1.

KILKENNY: E Murphy; T Keogh, P Murphy, J Tyrrell; B Kennedy, K Joyce, C Buckley; C Fogarty, L Ryan; P Walsh, W Walsh, M Ruth; M Kelly, J Farrell, R Hogan
Sub: G Brennan for Fogarty (19, injured).

CORK: A Nash; D Cahalane, C Joyce, C O’Sullivan; A Walsh, M Ellis, C Murphy; D Kearney, P Cronin; S Harnedy, B Cooper, C Lehane; A Cadogan, P O’Sullivan, P Cronin
Subs: L McLoughlin for Cronin (45), L O’Farrell for P O’Sullivan, C McCarthy for Cooper (both 49), S O’Neill for Cahalane (57), S Moylan for Cadogan (65).
Referee: J Owens (Wexford).
Report: Denis Hurley for

Fixture Details

Saturday February 14th
Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A 2015
Round 1
Páirc Uí Rinn 19:00
Corcaigh v Cill Chainnigh
Referee: James Owens (Loch Garman)

Cork team v Kilkenny at Páirc Uí Rinn Saturday 14th February. Throw-in 7:00pm.

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Damien Cahalane (St.Finbarr’s)

3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)

4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)

5. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)

7. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfield)

9. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)

10. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)

11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)

14. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)

15. Patrick Cronin (Glen Rovers)


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Tomas Keogh (James Stephens)

3. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)

4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens)

5. Brian Kennedy (St Lachtains)

6. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)

7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)

9. Lester Ryan (Clara)

10. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)

11. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)

12. Matthew Ruth (James Stephens)

13. Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels)

14. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)

15. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)

Match Coverage

This game will be shown live on Setanta Ireland

Advance Ticket Purchase

Advance ticket purchase is the way to go with supporters enjoying €5.00 savings on match day prices. Tickets available from and selected Centra and Supervalue stores at €10.00. U16’s GoFree, and normal student / OAP concessions apply (no discount on concession price).

Ticket only Turnstiles

Cashless turnstiles will operate for the Allianz League home games at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Ticket Vending Booth

On match days patrons can purchase and pay for tickets at the booths and then proceed to the turnstile gaining admission on ticket presentation. Adult tickets €15.00.

List of Cork Centra and SuperValu stores for ticket purchase

Centra Carrigtwohill Cork

SuperValu Hollyhill Cork

SuperValu Blarney Cork

SuperValu Castletownbere Cork

SuperValu Dunmanway Cork

SuperValu Kanturk Cork

SuperValu Millstreet Cork

SuperValu Newmarket Cork

SuperValu Skibbereen Cork

SuperValu Blackrock Cork

SuperValu Glanmire Cork

SuperValu Ballincollig – Quish’s Cork

SuperValu Charleville Cork

SuperValu Youghal Cork

SuperValu Togher Cork

SuperValu Bandon Cork

SuperValu Midleton Cork

SuperValu Carrigaline Cork

SuperValu Fermoy Cork

SuperValu Bantry Cork

SuperValu Mallow Cork

SuperValu Clonakilty Cork

SuperValu Ballincollig – Down’s Cork

SuperValu Merchants Quay Cork

SuperValu Mitchelstown Cork

SuperValu Grange Cork

SuperValu Cobh Cork

Centra Fermoy Cork

Centra Mallow Cork

Centra Bishopstown Cork

Centra Crosshaven Cork

Centra Charleville Cork

Centra Tower Cork

Centra Togher Cork

The Pavilion Cafe Bar Cork

Pluggd Records Cork


February 14, 2015
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,

GAA Units