Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz Football League Division 4 – Carlow 0-11 Waterford 0-9

February 28, 2015 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Carlow defeated Waterford by 0-11 to 0-9 in Round 3 of the Allianz Football League Division 4 on February 28th in Fraher Field, Dungarvan.

Carlow claim dramatic win

By Tomás McCarthy for

Carlow 0-11 Waterford 0-9

Carlow maintained their unbeaten run in Division 4 with a dramatic away win over Waterford at Fraher Field. The away side hit six points in a row in the last ten minutes to claim the spoils and stun the hosts. Waterford played with wind assistance for the first half hour. Shane Ahearne started the scoring before Michael O’Halloran sent over a glorious 40 metre effort. Patrick Hurney finished off a three man move in the ninth minute. Carlow countered with the first point from Ciaran Moran on 15 minutes.

Waterford struggled with their shooting and ended the opening period with a tally of ten wides. Ahearne sent over three frees and Mark Ferncombe was on target from play as they stretched the lead to six. Darragh O’Brien had the final say for Carlow as he tidied up a patient build-up (0-7 to 0-2).

Turlough O’Brien’s visitors responded in the best possible manner on the resumption with early white flags from Sean Gannon and Daniel St Ledger. Brian Murphy’s free reduced the damage to two (0-7 to 0-5). Ahearne settled the Déise with two dead balls.
The play became frantic with both teams desperate for the spoils. Carlow put together six points in a row late on, three from Brian Murphy, two from midfielder Sean Gannon and one by substitute John Murphy to upset the hosts.

Scorers for Waterford: S Ahearne 0-6 (5fs); P Hurney, M O’Halloran, M Ferncombe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carlow: Brian Murphy 0-4 (3fs); S Gannon 0-3; D O’Brien, D St Ledger, C Moran, J Murphy.

Waterford: S Enright; D Crowley, R Ó Ceallaigh, T O’Gorman; T Ó hUallacháin, M O’Gorman, C Phelan; S Ahearne, T Prendergast; M Curry, M O’Halloran, P Hurney; L Lawlor, J Veale, G Nugent.
Subs: T Grey for Phelan (21); L Lawlor for Nugent (H-T); L Ó Lonáin for Prendergast (52); L Ó Corraoin for Curry (57); O Keevers for Ó hUallacháin (62); JJ Hutchinson for Ó Ceallaigh (66).

Carlow: C Kearney; BJ Molloy, S Redmond, K Nolan; M Fitzgerald, D St Ledger, B Kavanagh; S Gannon, D Foley; E Finnegan, C Moran, D Bambrick; Brian Murphy, Brendan Murphy, D O’Brien.
Subs: H Gahan for Bambrick (43); D Hayden for Finnegan (53); E Ruth for Foley (55); J Murphy for Moran (58); E McCormack for O’Brien (67).
Referee: D O’Mahoney (Tipperary)

Fixture Details

28.02.2015 (Sat)
Allianz Football League Roinn 4 2015 Round 3
Fraher Field, Dungarvan @ 19:00
Port Láirge v Ceatharlach
Referee: Derek O’Mahoney (Tiobraid Árann)

Team News

Waterford Senior Football Team to play Carlow

1. Stephen Enright Ballinacourty
2. Dean Crowley St. Saviours
3. Ray Ó Ceallaigh An Rinn
4. Thomas O’Gorman (CAPT) Nire
5. Tadhg Ó hUallacháin An Rinn
6. Maurice O’Gorman Nire
7. Conor Phelan Brickey Rangers
8. Shane Aherne Stradbally
9. Tommy Prendergast Kilrossanty
10. Michael Curry Rathgormack
11. Patrick Hurney Ballinacourty
12. Michael O’Halloran Ballinacourty
13. Mark Ferncombe Ballinacourty
14. Gavin Nugent Rathgormack
15. Paul Whyte Kilrossanty


February 28, 2015
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units