• GAA Museum - Club offer September & October 2019

Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers Round 1B – Carlow 0-17 Waterford 1-13

June 28, 2014 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Carlow defeated Waterford by 0-17 to 1-13 in Round 1B of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers on Saturday June 28th at Dr. Cullen Park Carlow.

Carlow dig deep to beat Waterford

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round IB: Carlow 0-17 Waterford 1-13

Report from the GAA.ie web site

Daniel St Ledger gave an exhibition of place-kicking as Carlow restored some pride to register their first qualifier win since 2005. Anthony Rainbow would surely have called for a battling performance from his men after the 28-point hammering by Meath that had Waterford the bookies’ favourites coming to Dr. Cullen Park. He got it in spades as they dominated the possession stakes by virtue of an excellent middle third effort, while the ability of his men to force turnovers was also significant.

They looked in trouble early in the second half when they trailed by five points but some stupendous dead ball kicking by centre-back Daniel St Ledger edged them ahead. The centre-back finished with four points, with one from a 45 and three frees. The last free from 60m in the 70th minute gave his side a vital two-point cushion that was needed, as Waterford’s top scorer, Paul Whyte brought his tally seven with a free before substitute referee, Pádraig O’Sullivan (in at half time for heel injury victim Cormac Reilly) called a halt to proceedings.

Waterford started strongly but Carlow settled into the game and dominated much of the opening half, only to spurn 13 scoring chances. Liam Ó Lonáin was the chief threat for the visitors, and was denied himself in the opening minute by an Andy O’Brien save before flashing a shot over the bar soon after.

It was the An Rinn man that goaled right at the interval to give his side a flattering 1-6 to 0-6 lead. He was also fouled for the two frees slotted by Whyte to put Waterford five clear early in the second half but Carlow retained their composure and scored six consecutive points to got two points clear.

Waterford did get it back level with just over three minutes left thanks to two pointed frees by Whyte but Carlow showed their resolve as points by Jack Kennedy, and that last mammoth effort by St Ledger pushed them clear once more.
CARLOW: A O’Brien, R Mahon, C Lawlor, BJ Molloy, K Nolan 0-1, D St Ledger 0-4(3fs, 1 45), B Kavanagh 0-2, E Ruth 0-1, H Gahan, M Meaney 0-1, C Moran, D Bambrick, D Foley 0-1, S Kinsella 0-3(2fs), C Coughlan 0-3(1f)
Subs: W Minchin for Gahan inj (28), G Power for Mahon (43), J Kennedy (0-1) for Moran BC (66), J Lowry for Kavanagh (69), M Ware for Foley BC (70+1).

WATERFORD: S Enright, D Crowley, T O’Gorman, Maurice O’Gorman, W Hutchinson, S Briggs 0-2, O Keevers, S Aherne, T Prendergast 0-1, D Grey, L Ó Lonáin 1-2, T Ó hUallacháin, B Wall, P Whyte 0-8(5FS), JJ Hutchinson
Subs: M Curry for Grey (43), D Allen for Wall inj (46), C O’Keeffe for W Hutchinson (53), Michael O’Gorman for Ó hUallacháin (65), N Walsh for Briggs inj (66).

REFEREE: C Reilly (Meath) / P O’Sulivan (Kerry)

Team News

The Waterford Senior Football team to play Carlow in Dr. Cullen Park at 2pm tomorrow Saturday has just been announced.

1. Stephen Enright – Ballinacourty
2. Dean Crowley – St. Saviours
3. Thomas O’Gorman – Nire
4. Maurice O’Gorman – Nire
5. Wayne Hutchinson – Gaultier
6. Shane Briggs – Ballinacourty
7. Oran Keevers – De La Salle
8. Shane Aherne – Stradbally
9. Tommy Prendergast – Kilrossanty
10. David Grey – Stradbally
11. Liam Ó Lonáin – An Rinn
12. Tadhg Ó hUallacháin – An Rinn
13. Brian Wall – Nire
14. Paul Whyte – Kilrossanty
15. – JJ. Hutchinson – Gaultier


June 28, 2014
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,

GAA Units