Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

All-Ireland Minor Camogie Final – Clare v Kilkenny

August 8, 2009 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

KILKENNY’S five goals at Semple Stadium on Saturday helped them to an incredible four-in-a-row All Ireland minor camogie titles when they prevailed over Clare, 5-10 to 3-8. This was a repeat of the 2008 final, and while the Banner were stunned by the strength of the champions in the opening half when they struck for the five majors, the Clare girls fought back gamely.

The Cats led 5-5 to 1-4 at the break with ‘Player of the Match’ Denise Gaule the driving force as they went on to produce arguably their best performance of the season. They led 1-1 before Gaule rifled home a goal from a free that almost dashed Clare’s hopes there and then. However, Shónagh Enright cut the margin with a fine goal inside the first quarter. But, their joy was short lived as Kilkenny dominated once again.

Goals from Gaule (two), Claire Phelan (two) and Michelle Farrell put their side into an unassailable lead at the break, 5-5 to 1-4. The Black and Amber were storming along but Clare will take heart from their second 30 minutes when they held the Cats to just five points while adding 2-4 themselves – the brace of goals coming from the sticks of Róisín McMahon and Róisín O’Brien.

Kilkenny 5-10,D Gaule, C Phelan 2-4 each,M Farrell 1-1, A Farrell 0-1
Clare 3-8, S Enright 1-6, R Mc Mahon 1-1, R O’Brien 1-0, C Morey 0-1

Therese O’Callaghan
Camogie Association PR and Media

Match Preview

Davy Fitzgerald is facing Kilkenny twice this weekend. As coach to the Clare minor camogie team their game was brought forward 24 hours so that Davy could be in Semple Stadium. The Morey, Glynn and Duggan households are seeking doubles for Clare – Caimin, Eamonn and Cillian won their first Munster U21 hurling medals last week while Chloe, Christina and Orlaith are looking for a first minor title. Kilkenny though are on a march, they are seriously talented, as they search for an incredible fourth successive title.

Team News

Clare: A Considine; A M McMahon, C Morey, C O’Leary; C Kaiser, E Considine, C Glynn; R McMahon (Capt), L Woods; O Duggan, N Corry, A Hannon; S Enright, R O’Brien, K Cahill.


August 8, 2009
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,

GAA Units