Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

All-Ireland Colleges SHC A Hurling S-Final – Ardscoil Ris vs. Kilkenny CBS – Match Report

March 20, 2010 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Fitzgibbon strike triggers powerful Ardscoil finish

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Ardscoil Ris 3-13 Kilkenny CBS 2-11

All-Ireland colleges shc A

Monday March 22 2010

LIMERICK’S Ardscoil Ris are through to the final, but they needed a late comeback to see off Kilkenny CBS. The Munster champions were quickest out of the blocks and lorded it in the opening exchanges in Templemore on Saturday, their physically bigger side bustling their way into a massive first-half lead. Kevin Downes fired the sliotar to the net after nine minutes. Ardscoil Ris pressed on, adding impressive points through Downes, John Fitzgibbon, Declan Hannon and Jamie Shanahan to move nine clear by the 26th minute. Three Stephen Farrell frees had been the only contribution by the CBS until then, but they ended the half on a high, as Ollie Walsh rifled home to cut the lead to five by half-time (1-10 to 1-5).

Within nine minutes CBS were in front, Stephen Farrell’s 34th-minute goal helping them take a one-point lead with 20 minutes left to play. However Ardscoil fought back and John Fitzgibbon drilled home in the 54th minute to push them into a three-point lead. Adrian Breen then clinched it with a third goal two minutes from time.

Scorers — Ardscoil Ris: J Fitzgibbon 1-5 (0-3f), K Downes 1-3, A Breen 1-1, D Hannon 0-2 (0-1 ’65), J Shanahan, N Kennedy 0-1 each. Kilkenny CBS: S Farrell 1-6 (0-5f), O Walsh 1-1, C Kenny 0-3, C Kenny 0-1.

Ardscoil Ris — PJ Hall; M Carmody, E McCarthy, M Moroney; A Dempsey, S O’Brien, D Hannon; N Kennedy, M Ryan; B O’Connor, S Dowling, A Breen; J Shanahan, K Downes, J Fitzgibbon. Subs: K Keane for Ryan (19), C Keogh for Dowling (40), J Hannon for Keane (54).

Kilkenny CBS — E Burke; J Lynch, A Forristal, P Moore; O McGrath, R Doyle, G Gaule; O Walsh, M Holohan; Cathal Kenny, Conor Kenny, M Clifford; P Vickery, S Farrell, B Kennedy. Subs: S Glynn for Holohan (50).

Ref — T Ryan (Tipperary)


March 20, 2010
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

GAA Units