Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

AIB Munster GAA Hurling Junior Club Championship Semi Final – Cappamore (Limerick) 3-10 Ballinameela (Waterford) 2-6

November 27, 2011 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cappamore’s early blitz enough to see off Ballinameela

Cappamore (Limerick) 3-10 Ballinameela (Waterford) 2-6

By John Redington for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A ROUSING second-half recovery wasn’t enough to rescue Waterford champions Ballinameela in yesterday’s Munster Club JHC semi-final in Cappamore as their hosts had already done the damage before the break. Showing no ill-effects from their two inconclusive Limerick championship outings in the previous eight days, Cappamore were much the sharper side during an opening quarter in which they ran up 1-5 without reply and, despite being caught by a goal from the blue, had built a sizeable lead before the Decies men finally found their stride with 20 minutes to go. Although Cappamore nerves wobbled as a barrage of 1-4 saw their advantage cut from 10 points to four, Andy Murphy’s second goal put the issue beyond doubt.

After three Tommie O’Donoghue points and another from Bill Creamer got the hosts off the mark, Murphy’s goal underlined their early superiority. Jim Curran, Ballinameela’s sole forward threat of the first-half, found the net to keep his side in contact. However, Conor Sheehan’s finish from Creamer’s pass left the Limerickmen leading 2-7 to 1-1 at the break. Two O’Donoghue frees had widened the gap before Brian Phelan pulled straight to the net from a throw-in on the 21. It roused Ballinameela for a run of points but the rally was running out of steam by the time Murphy killed off their dreams.

CAPPAMORE: T Ryan; D Shanahan, S Lane, J Campbell; M Treacy (0-1), B Coffey, J Ryan; S Ryan (0-1), Declan Deere; Bill Creamer (0-1), Eamon Gleeson (0-1), Darragh O’Dwyer; Andy Murphy (2-0), Conor Sheehan (1-0), Tommie O’Donoghue (0-6, 4f).

Subs: J O’Donnell for D O’Dwyer, J Hayes for B Creamer.

BALLINAMEELA: J Maher; K Phelan, Eamon Walsh, A Browne; J Harrington, C Walsh, R McCarthy; T Curran, Brian Phelan (1-0); A Ahearne, C Buckley (0-1), Eoghan Walsh; J McGrath, Brendan Phelan (0-1), J Curran (1-3, 2f).

Subs: D Phelan for E Walsh, D O’Brien (0-1) for J McGrath.

Referee: J O’Brien (Tipperary)


For the Record

Cappamore (Limerick) Ballinameela (Waterford)
Number of Munster Club Junior Hurling titles
(by County)
1 0
Last Munster Club
Junior Hurling Title
(by County)
(Blackrock (Limerick) 1-12 Fermoy (Cork) 0-14)
Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship Record since 2000 for each county’s representative Played – 12
Won – 5
Lost – 7
Drawn – 0
Played – 10
Won – 2
Lost –  8
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship involving participating county representatives The representatives of Limerick and Waterford have never met in this competition since its inception in 2003.


Munster GAA HURLING Club Junior Championship 2011


Sunday November 20th

@ Kenmare                                       Charleville (Cork) 1-13 Kenmare (Kerry) 0-5

Sunday November 27th (Replay date – Saturday December 3rd)

@ Charleville            Rockwell Rovers (Tipperary) v Charleville (Cork) 2:00pm
@ Cappamore                      Cappamore (Limerick) v   Ballinameela (Waterford) 2:00pm


Sunday December 11th (Replay date – Saturday December 17th)

2:00pm throw-in @ Mallow GAA Grounds

Odds and Ends

Cork clubs have won at least 1 match in each of the years of the competition since beginning in 2003.

Tipperary clubs have won at least 1 match in 5 of the last 6 years.

Waterford clubs have lost their last 5 matches in this competition dating back to 2006.

The Kerry Intermediate Hurling champions represent their county in the Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship.

Clare have not entered this competition since 2007 due to the fact that the majority of teams in the Clare Junior Hurling Championship are 2nd teams and would not be able to represent their county.

Munster GAA Club HURLING Junior Championship Roll Of Honour

Cork (5) – 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010

Clare (1) – 2003

Tipperary (1) – 2007

Limerick (1) – 2009

Munster GAA Club HURLING Junior Championship – List of Winning Teams

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete list of each winning team since the competition began –

All Ireland GAA Club HURLING Junior Championship

In the Club Junior Hurling All Ireland Roll of Honour, Cork top the charts with 4 titles while Limerick have 1 title courtesy of Blackrock in 2009/2010.


November 27, 2011
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units