Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Club JFC Final – St. Mary’s (Kerry) 2-12 Bruree (Limerick) 0-4

December 12, 2010 @ 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

St. Mary’s (Kerry) defeated Bruree (Limerick) by 2-12 to 0-4 in the AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Football Championship Final on Sunday in Mallow. See below photos and match reports on the game.

Munster Council Chairman Sean Walsh presents the Junior Football Trophy to St Marys Cahirciveen Captain Gearoid O Driscoll after his sides victoty over Bruree in the Munster Junior Football Final at Mallow pic George Hatchell

St. Marys - Munster Club Junior Football Champions 2010

St Mary’s firepower too much for Bruree

St. Mary’s (Kerry) 2-12 Bruree (Limerick) 0-4

By Diarmuid O’Flynn for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Monday, December 13, 2010

THE final scoreline suggests a landslide, a one-sided game in which underdogs Bruree could barely keep the ball kicked out to St. Mary’s, but that would be too simplistic a description. In the possession stakes the Limerick champions were well able to match up with the men from the southern reaches of the mighty Kingdom; in former Limerick senior hurling captain James Vincent O’Brien they had a ball winner par excellence; in the likes of wing-backs Kieran O’Rourke and Vincent Stanton and wing-forwards Tommy O’Brien and James C O’Brien, Bruree they had ball carriers of pace and power. Unfortunately for them, however, when it came to most crucial skill of all — the ability to put the ball between the posts — they had no-one.

Well, maybe one in Gerard O’Brien, who managed two points from play, but that was about it. Some of their shooting was outrageously bad — shots from inside the 20m line and dead centre that went wide, so wide in one case that it didn’t even reach the end-line. A pity, because had they been able to convert their possession into scores, as admitted by star St. Mary’s midfielder Bryan Sheehan, it might have been something of a contest. “In these kind of games you don’t know much about the teams you’re meeting, you don’t know much about people, all you can do is look after yourself,” Sheehan insisted.

“We were concerned at half-time about the amount of possession they were winning, we spoke about how much ball they had. Maybe our ball-handling wasn’t up to scratch, we dropped a few balls in the square, where we shouldn’t have done. But we got off to a great start, the two early goals made a big difference — if they had got those, it might have been a different game. We hoped to get a good start, kill things off as soon as we could, and lucky enough we managed to do that.”

Inside the first minute St. Mary’s had their opening goal, wing-forward Austin Constable making no mistake with a second chance from point-blank range, and when corner-forward Daniel Daly pounced for their second major just six minutes later, it left Bruree with a mountain to climb. They never even made the foothills though. Every St. Mary’s forward scored from play, and Bryan Sheehan showed his inter-county credentials with a near impeccable display from placed balls, two points from outside the 45m line in his final tally of four. Not a great test for the champions, but not a true reflection of the footballing worth of Bruree either.

Scorers for St. Mary’s: A. Constable 1-2 (0-2 frees); D. Daly 1-1; B. Sheehan 0-4 (all frees); A. Walsh 0-2; R. Keane, P. O’Donoghue, W.A. O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Bruree: G. O’Brien 0-2; John O’Brien, P Kelly (free) 0-1 each.

ST. MARY’S: D. Horgan; B. Curran, S. Curran, G. O’Driscoll (c); D. O’Sullivan, N. O’Driscoll, K. Curran; J. Golden, B. Sheehan; A. Constable, R. Keane, A. Walsh; D. Daly, P. O’Donoghue, J.A. O’Sullivan.

Subs: I. Casey for N. O’Driscoll (inj. 30); C. Quirke for O’Donoghue (47); L. Sheehan for Keane (53); D. Walsh for Constable (53); D. Keating for J.A. O’Sullivan (54).

BRUREE: G. O’Dea; A. Sexton, A. O’Shea, C. Sexton; K. O’Rourke, D. Lenihan, V. Stanton; J.V. O’Brien, John O’Brien; T. O’Brien, J. O’Dea, J.C. O’Brien; B. O’Rourke, G. O’Brien, P. Kelly.

Subs: S. Mullane for C. Sexton (30); S. Kelly for B. O’Rourke (44); D. Deady for G. O’Brien (54); S. O’Halloran for A. Sexton (54); N. Broderick for Kelly (60).

Referee: R Hickey (Clare)

Mary’s turn on the style

From the Irish Independent newspaper

St Mary’s 2-12 Bruree 0-4


Monday December 13 2010

AN early scoring blitz saw Caherciveen’s St Mary’s run out convincing winners in this encounter at Mallow yesterday. The Kerrymen scored two goals in the opening six minutes through Austin Constable and Daniel Daly and Bruree were under the cosh from there on. Paddy Kelly pointed a free for the south Limerick side after four minutes. However, once John Golden and Kerry star Bryan Sheehan took control at midfield, there was always going to be only one result. Sheehan was deadly from frees while Bruree’s only other first-half score was a Gearoid O’Brien point. Mary’s led by 2-6 to 0-2 at the break and hit the game’s last six points in a decisive win.

Scorers — St Mary’s: A Constable 1-2 (0-1f, 0-1 sideline, D Daly 1-1, B Sheehan 0-4f, A Walsh 0-2, R Keane, P O’Donoghue, J A O’Sullivan 0-1 each. Bruree: G O’Brien 0-2, J O’Brien, P Kelly 0-1f each,

ST MARY’S — D Horgan; B Curran, S Curran, G O’Driscoll (capt); D O’Sullivan, N O’Driscoll, K Curran; J Golden, B Sheehan; A Constable, R Keane, A Walsh; D Daly, P O’Donoghue, J A O’Sullivan. Subs: I Casey for N O’Driscoll, C Quinn for P O’Donoghue, L Sheehan for R Keane, D Walsh for A Constable, D Keating for J A O’Sullivan.

BRUREE — G O’Dea; A Sexton, A O’Shea, C Sexton; K O’Rourke, D Lenihan, V Stanton; J O’Dea, J O’Brien; T O’Brien, J V O’Brien, G O’Brien; P Kelly, J C O’Brien, B O’Rourke. Subs C Mullane for A Sexton (blood), A Sexton for C Mullane, S Mullane for C Sexton, S Kelly for B O’Rourke, D Deady for G O’Brien, S O’Halloran for A Sexton, N Broderick for P Kelly.

Ref — R Hickey (Clare)

Paths to the Final



St. Mary’s (Kerry) 1-12

B. Sheehan 0-5: A. Walsh 1-0: P. O’Donoghue 0-2: C. Quirke 0-2: D. Daly 0-1: R. Keane 0-1: A. Constable 0-1

Cloyne (Cork) 2-4

K. O’Lomasney 1-2: D. O’Sullivan 1-0: C. O’Lomasney 0-1: D. O’Sullivan 0-1

Tallow (Waterford) 1-15

K. Geary 1-1: P. O’Brien 0-4: D. Mulcahy 0-4: J.P. Grey 0-3: W. Henley 0-3

Kilfenore (Clare) 2-8

K. Malone 1-1: J. Brady 1-0: M.J. Moloney 0-2: A. Kelly 0-3: J. Connole 0-1: K. Teasby 0-1


St. Mary’s (Kerry) 3-20

B. Sheehan 2-8: D. Daly 1-1: A. Constable 0-4: R. Keane 0-2: P. O’Donoghue 0-2: A. Walsh 0-1: S. Cournane 0-1: C. O’Shea 0-1

Nenagh Eire Og (Tipperary) 1-4

P. Breen 1-0: M. McKenna 0-1: P. Morris 0-1: R. Flannery 0-1: E. Tucker 0-1

Bruree (Limerick) 1-8

J. O’Brien 0-4: J.V. Breen 1-0: M. Lane 0-2: E. Sexton 0-2:

Tallow (Waterford) 0-6

J.P. Grey 0-5: S. Pratt 0-1


December 12, 2010
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

GAA Units