Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Junior Football Championship Final – Brosna (Kerry) 0-8 John Mitchel’s (Lancashire) 0-5

February 14, 2015 @ 3:00 pm - 4:45 pm

Brosna (Kerry) defeated John Mitchel’s (Lancashire) by 0-8 to 0-5 in the AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Junior Football Championship Final on Saturday February 14th at Croke Park.


Brosna became the sixth Kerry outfit to lift the All-Ireland Junior Club Championship title on Saturday. They beat a game John Mitchels side from Liverpool in Lancashire following a tight game at Croke Park.

Mitchels became the first club from England to compete in a final at this grade in 2009, losing to Kerry opposition – Skellig Rangers – on that occasion too.

They came close in this contest, putting in a powerful second half performance after struggling to find their feet during the opening period. Big scores from substitute Conal McGlade and centre forward John McDermott got them back to within two points with just a few minutes left.

They drove towards the Brosna goal and created a number of chances, though they were unable to work the scores they needed. The Kerry men got the insurance point though Timmy Finnegan right on the stroke of the hour.

As proud captain Don McAuliffe proclaimed after receiving the cup on the steps of the Hogan Stand, “The future is bring, the future is Orange!”

Brosna were well on top in the first half, dominating possession, though they were unable to really drive home their advantage on the scoreboard.

Mitchels got their first score of the game with their first real shot after 20 minutes through Kieran Lynam. This was when the Kerry men were down to 14 players as they waited to get a replacement on for the black-carded Michéal Murphy.

Brosna did give themselves a little bit of breathing space when they put over two points in injury time at the end of the first half, the second a monster from Man of the Match midfielder Dave Curtin. Their lead at this stage, 0-5 to 0-1.

Mitchels started the second half at a hundred miles an hour and two quick points saw them back into this game and from here it was nip and tuck to the end.
Scorers for Brosna: A Barry 0-3, T Coldrick 0-2 (1f, 1 ’45’), M Finnegan, T Finnegan, D Curtin 0-1 each

Scorers for John Mitchels: K Lynam, F Cassidy, M Molloy, C McGlade, J McDermott 0-1 each

BROSNA: E Prenderville; S Fitzmaurice, M Murphy, A Cahill; T Fitzgerald, E Kiely, F McAuliffe; D Curtin, S Curtin; D McAuliffe, T McGoldrick, P Curtin; T FInnegan, M Finnegan, A Barry
Subs: P O’Keefe for Murphy (25, black card), J O’Donnell for Curtin (41), G Nash for D Curtin (59)

JOHN MITCHELS: M Deeney; A Mrray, P McGuirk, N McShane; C Owen, S Rice, M Carey; P Mulligan, D O’Neill; C Murphy, J McDermott, F Cassidy; M Molloy, E Jackson, K Lynam
Subs: C McGlade for McShane (HT), K Kane for Murphy (47), A Brown for Rice (52)
Report: Peter Sweeney for

Fixture Details

14.02.2015 (Sat)
AIB GAA Football All Ireland Junior Club Championship Final
Páirc an Chrócaigh 15:00
John Mitchel’s (Lancashire) v Brosna (Kerry)
Referee: Paddy Neilan (Ros Comáin)
(E.T. if Necessary)


February 14, 2015
3:00 pm - 4:45 pm

GAA Units