Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

AIB All Ireland Club JHC 2009/2010 Final – Blackrock (Limerick) 1-18 Naomh Colum Cille (Tír Eoghain) 0-9

February 13, 2010 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Limerick champions Blackrock claimed the AIB GAA Hurling All-Ireland Junior Club Championship title with a 1-18 to 0-9 defeat of Tyrone’s Naomh Colum Cille at Croke Park on Saturday evening. Ritchie McCarthy was the match winner for the ‘Rock with seven points of his side’s total, while Aidan Murphy hit the back of the net after just 13 minutes to give the Munster men the perfect start. McCarthy demonstrated his accuracy with two early scores before Murphy hit the back of the net, helping Blackrock to a comfortable 1-9 to 0-4 lead at the break.

Niall O’Neill did his best to get the Red Hand men back into the contest after the break with a flurry of points, but with McCarthy and Murphy in such fine form up front for the Treaty representatives, it always looked like being a bridge too far for the Ulster champions, who lost by 12 points in the end.

Report from the web site


McCarthy stars for ‘Rock

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Monday February 15 2010

Aidan Murphy’s magnificent goal sent Blackrock on their way to a comfortable triumph at Croke Park on Saturday. The Limerick side controlled the game throughout, after rifling over three points in the opening eight minutes. Blackrock grabbed the only goal of the contest after 13 minutes to take a commanding seven-point lead. Brian Moloney’s sweet sideline cut located Murphy, who smashed a blistering shot past Paul Maguire. Blackrock continued to inflict further damage and they went in at the break 1-9 to 0-4 ahead. Naomh Colum Cille required something special, but Blackrock, with Ritchie McCarthy outstanding, were not going to be denied. McCarthy was sharp from play and from frees, accumulating seven points as his side hurled with real conviction. Naomh Colum Cille kept plugging away admirably, but the Rockies were worthy winners.

Scorers — Blackrock: R McCarthy 0-7 (0-3fs), A Murphy 1-2, K Palmer, R O’Shaughnessy, R Murphy (0-2fs) 0-2 each, N Moloney, B Moloney, S Hennessy 0-1 each. Naomh Colum Cille: N O’Neill 0-4 (0-2fs, 1 ’65), J O’Neill, Ryan O’Neill, S McKiver, Rory O’Neill, S O’Hagan 0-1 each.

Blackrock — P Heffernan; N Hosford, T Ryan, T Clifford; R Murphy, D Moloney, N Moloney; B Moloney, S Hennessy; K Palmer, B Hennessy, R McCarthy; R O’Shaughnessy, P McGrath, A Murphy. Subs: B O’Shaughnessy for Hennessy (42), V Herbert for N Moloney (47), D Danaher for B Hennessy (51-54), K Douglas for A Murphy (54), D Danaher for Ryan (57), A Fitzgerald for Heffernan (57).

Naomh Colum Cille: P Maguire; Ryan O’Neill, R O’Neill (Mor), P Corr; D Murphy, W Lyons, A Taggart; S O’Neill, J O’Neill; Ryan O’Neill, N O’Neill, S McKiver; R O’Neill, S McKiver; Rory O’Neill, P O’Neill, S O’Hagan. Subs: T O’Hagan for Murphy (35), K Corrigan for R O’Neill (43), B Taggart for N O’Neill (48), S McKee for P O’Neill (56), E Kirwan for S O’Hagan (58).

Ref: G Duffy (Antrim)


February 13, 2010
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

GAA Units